Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Aviation Technology Library
Ask a Librarian
Have a question? Contact a Purdue University Libraries staff member. Email and chat programs are available.
Library of Engineering and Science Information Desk
Have a question? Do you want to talk to a Library of Engineering and Science staff member? Phone: 765-494-0831
Specifications and Standards
Provides assistance for identifying national and international standards. Purdue subscribes to many full-text standards, including those from ASTM, AASHTO, ASHRAE, ASME, ICAO, ICC, and NFPA. Later this year, ASTM stanards will only be available directly from the society's Digitial Library
ASTM Compass (formerly ASTM Digital Library)
A vast collection of industry-leading standards and technical engineering information. The Library covers a broad range of engineering disciplines, including aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering. Provides access to active standards, as well as historical standards (2000-present).
**Please click on 'Yes, I Agree With the License' to access database**
Aerospace Related Standards
FAA Regulations & Policies
Provides regulations of the Federal Aviation Agency in the U.S. There are multiple series of regulations. This link provides links to a broad level of regulations, etc.
SAE Mobilus (was SAE Digital Library)
Contains the society's standards and technical papers. Standards include the following: Aerospace Materials Specifications (AMS), Aerospace Standards (AS), Aerospace Information Reports (AIR), Aerospace Recommended Practices (AIR), and Ground Vehicle Standards (J).
Standards at Purdue University
Guide to Standards at Purdue University Libraries
This handy guide leads you to many online and print standards. It details standards from organizations in many disciplines and is especially useful for Purdue clients who have access to libraries' subscription services. Without it, you may be wasting time and money trying to locate and purchase standards that are available to you for free.
Purdue University Standards Database
Standards in this locally prepared database have been purchased individually or as part of the Engineering Library's American National Standards Institute (ANSI) subscription. The database contains thousands of print standards which are shelved in the Standards Collection in the library basement. Examples: ANSI, SAE, AIAA, UL