Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Aviation Technology Library
Library Guides from Parrish Management & Economics Library
Get A Grip (Graduation Student Orientation)
Is a starting point for all things basic and complex. There are links to multiple sources and short videos that undergraduates would find useful.
Do you want to look at common news and stats database? Try this one by opening it in a new tab.
Aviation Week Intelligence Network (AWIN)
Provides access to multiple aviation-related magazines including Aviation Week and Space Technology as well as World Aerospace Database which includes Fleet Data and lots more. WAD permits downloading into Excel spreadsheets.
Contained a collection of journal articles and conference papers back to the late 1890s in most engineering disciplines. YouTube videos are available from the Training link.
Aerospace Database Indexes aerospace journal articles, conference publications, and technical reports, including AIAA and NASA publications. It may not be as thorough for recent publications but has historical information back to the 1960s.
Technology Research Database (now ProQuest Technology Collection) Indexes journal articles, conference papers, and technical reports, including materials science, aerospace engineering, mechanical engineering, and civil engineering. It incorporates Aerospace and High Technology, Materials Research Database with METADEX, Engineering Research Database, and all of their subfiles.
ABI Inform Collection
Is the most comprehensive ABI/INFORM database, comprised of management and business topics related to global, trade and industry, dateline and its archive. ABI/Inform Complete features over 3,000 full-text journals, 25,000 Dissertations, 14,000 SSRN working papers, key newspapers.
Big Picture Databases
Web of Science
Provides access to the most cited journal articles and some conference papers. Also includes special analysis and citation reports.
Indexes peer reviewed journals from 5,000 international publishers. It supports research needs of many disciplines including engineering, science, technology, and medicine. This is a new source in 2012 and permits downloads of many records. It does not cover as many years as Web of Science.
Is a free service to many online journals and books. Since Purdue pays subscriptions to many online journals, setup your Library Links for Purdue University and Open World Cat - Library Search.
TRID: the TRIS and ITRD Database
Combines the records from Transportation Research Board's Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD's Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database. TRID provides access to over 900,000 records of transportation research worldwide.
Dissertations and Theses
For a more complete description of the topic, review this Purdue Library Guide on Dissertations.
This section below shows two indices that cover many subject areas. Some dissertations are full-text.
Dissertations and Theses
Indexes theses and dissertations from U.S. and international universities as early as 1862. There are more dissertations than master's theses.
NDLTD Union Catalog
Provides access to 4+ million electronic theses and dissertations. There are multiple search interfaces. Depending on your needs, start with the VTLS Thesis Search.