Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Purdue University Purdue Logo Purdue Libraries

Library Guide for Education Graduate Students

Basic information on using Purdue Libraries for new Education graduate students.

Finding Literature Reviews

Recently published review articles (or literature reviews) can be a great starting point for finding scholarly literature related to your research topic. Article databases enable you to search for them with limiters or through keyword searching.

These tutorials explain the differences between review articles and research articles and give a quick example of how to find literature reviews using different databases.

Keyword Searching Tips

Constructing a Search Statement

Identifying the right terms and phrases for your topic is critical to successful searching. This worksheet may be helpful in organizing and recording your search terms and phrases:

 

Tricks of the Trade

There are 4 quick tricks that work in most databases for keyword searching. Learn how to do them by viewing and listening to the 10-minute video tutorial created by the former Education librarian Judy Nixon, "Tricks of the Trade," which covers:

  1. phrase searching
  2. truncation (word stem searching)
  3. Boolean logic (combining key words with AND and OR)
  4. Nesting (grouping ideas) 

A more recent video covering the "shotgun," "snowball," and "building blocks" approaches to searching is provided by Professor Heather Howard with Purdue's Parrish Library:

 

Database-Specific Tips

The University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (UIUC) Library has created a useful quick-guide for database searching according to vendors:

Citation Searching - An Overview

What is citation searching?

  • Basic citation searching involves tracking references that have cited, or listed in its bibliography, an article, book, or book chapter.
  • This guide will help you find WHO HAS CITED a given article, book, book chapter, or other publication or author - also known as cited reference searching.

Why do it?

  • To locate newer material related to a given publication or author.
  • To see who is citing one (or all) of your publications. 
  • To show the impact of your work by seeing who is citing you. To find other researchers in a field.

Where to do citation searching?

Many databases have a "cited by" link.

Top ones for Education field are: