Research Guides: Library Guide for Education Graduate Students: Find Journal Articles

Article Databases - An Overview

The Purdue Library Catalog can be helpful in browsing books in the Purdue collection. The catalog also allows you to search for whole journal issues by performing a "Journal Search" and searching the journal title.

However, Article Databases are tools that enable library users to perform more sophisticated searches for scholarly literature. These databases are usually designed according to subject and can either simply index an article (or book chapter) or provide the article in full-text.

Tool Features

Subject-specific limiters to refine search results (e.g. education level, publication audience)
Peer-reviewed article limiter option
Controlled vocabulary determined by field experts to classify articles
Records providing bibliographic information for sources both within and without Purdue
Folder creation capabilities for account holders

Tip

Users can use the thesauri of subject-specific databases to perform more targeted searches. For more information on using this feature of EBSCO databases--including Education Source, ERIC, and PsycINFO--see EBSCO's help entry on Browsing EBSCO Databases Using the Thesaurus.

Evaluating Journals

While the quality or impact of journals can be tricky to determine, below are tools that provide some relevant metrics.

Scimago Journal & Country Rank
Tool that draws on data gathered in SCOPUS, Elsevier's abstract and citation database; explore journal ranks and limit search by Subject.

Journal Citation Reports: Science Edition
Comprehensive resource for evaluating and comparing journals using citation data drawn from over 11,000 scholarly and technical journals from more than 3,300 publishers in over 80 countries. JCR Science Edition contains data from over 7,300 journals in science and technology.
Journal Citation Reports: Social Science Edition
Comprehensive resource for evaluating and comparing journals using citation data drawn from over 11,000 scholarly and technical journals from more than 3,300 publishers in over 80 countries. JCR Social Sciences Edition contains data from over 2,200 journals in the social sciences.

The University of Wisconsin-Madison's Library Guide on Bibliometrics and Citation Analysis points to helpful, critical discussions on measuring the research impact of journals, articles, and authors.

Subject Databases

Purdue Libraries provides access to many databases in Education and other related disciplines. A full list of databases is available at the A-Z Databases home page.

To see databases of particular interest to Education research, choose "Education" from the subject drop-down menu
To search by keyword, use the search box in the upper-right corner of the guide

Key Education Databases

This list includes some of the most frequently-used databases in Education research.

Looking for the full text of articles in these databases? If an article does not have a direct HTML full-text or PDF link, look for the FIND IT @ Purdue Libraries icon or search for the article from the Purdue Libraries catalog to see if full-text access is provided through another source.

Education Source
The most complete collection of full-text education journals, monographs, yearbooks and more, covering scholarly research and information to meet the needs of education students, professionals, and policy makers. It covers all levels of education—from early childhood to higher education—as well as all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education and testing

ERIC (EBSCO interface)
- This link opens in a new window
Recommended version for Purdue users.

Bibliographic database sponsored by the US Department of Education, is the premier source for education-related research, documents, and journal articles. Access via the EBSCO interface will link to full-text articles.

Education Full Text
This full-text source of education scholarship provides coverage for a wide range of topics, including adult education, continuing education, literacy standards, multicultural/ethnic education, secondary education, teaching methods and much more.
Educational Administration Abstracts
Provides bibliographic records and many full-text articles covering areas related to educational administration, including educational leadership, educational management, educational research, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
Professional Development Collection
- This link opens in a new window
A specialized collection of electronic information sources compiled especially for professional educators, including information on topics ranging from children's health and development to pedagogical theory and practice. The Collection contains nearly 550 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. Also contains more than 200 educational reports. In addition to full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for more than 700 journals.

Teacher Reference Center (TRC)
Free database. Indexes 260+ titles: popular teacher and administrator trade journals, periodicals, and books. Provides coverage on topics such as Assessment, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, Science & Mathematics, and more for K-12 Teachers & Librarians.
ERIC from US Gov't
Use this version ONLY if you are not a Purdue student or faculty member.
more...less...
https://eric.ed.gov

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

Interlibrary Loan enables current Purdue West Lafayette students, faculty, and staff to obtain research materials not owned by Purdue Libraries. This includes books, as well as other materials like articles, book chapters, DVDs, microfilm, sheet music, etc.

Article Express

Article Express is an enhanced Interlibrary Loan service that provides almost immediate (within 2 hours) email delivery of articles from eligible journal content that you can request straight from Library Search. Eligible journal content currently includes all non-subscribed Elsevier journal titles and a few non-subscribed journal titles from other publishers (e.g. Mary Ann Liebert and Nature). Each PDF requested through Article Express will be paid for by the Libraries at an average cost of $25 per article. This service is available for currently affiliated users at the West Lafayette campus.

Questions about this service may be directed to ill@purdue.edu.