EDCI 63800 - Spring 2022 Doctoral Seminar

In an era of curricular changes, experiments, and high-stakes testing, educational measurement and evaluation are more important than ever. In addition to expected entries covering the basics of traditional theories and methods, The SAGE Encyclopedia of Educational Research, Measurement, and Evaluation also covers important sociopolitical issues and trends influencing the future of that research and practice. Textbooks, handbooks, monographs, and other publications focus on various aspects of educational research, measurement, and evaluation, but to date, there exists no major reference guide for students new to the field. This comprehensive work fills that gap, covering traditional areas while pointing the way to future developments. Key Features: Nearly 700 signed entries are contained in an authoritative work spanning four volumes and available in electronic and/or print formats. Although organized A-to-Z, front matter includes a Reader's Guide grouping entries thematically to help students interested in a specific aspect of education research, measurement, and evaluation to more easily locate directly related entries. Back matter includes a Chronology of the development of the field; a Resource Guide to classic books, journals, and associations; and a detailed Index. Entries conclude with Further Readings and cross-references to related entries. The Index, Reader's Guide themes, and cross-references combine to provide a robust search-and-browse in the electronic version.

This textbook presents an integrative approach to thinking about research methods for social justice. In today's education landscape, there is a growing interest in scholar-activism and ways of doing research that advances educational equity. This text provides a foundational overview of important theoretical and philosophical issues specific to this kind of work in Section I. In Section II, readers engage with various ways of thinking about, collecting, and analyzing data, including qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods approaches. Finally, in Section III, through case studies and research narratives, readers will learn about real scholars and their work. This book takes a wide-ranging approach to ways that various modalities and practices of research can contribute to an equity mission.

Practical Research Methods in Education is a hands-on guide which critically explores and scrutinizes research methods used in educational enquiry. Drawing on the research, practical experience and reflections of active researchers, each chapter offers explanations, examples, tasks for students to undertake and suggestions for further reading, all of which are designed to strengthen understanding of practical methods of data collection in educational and social-science research.

This thoroughly updated and extended eighth edition of the long-running bestseller Research Methods in Education covers the whole range of methods employed by educational research at all stages. Its five main parts cover: the context of educational research; research design; methodologies for educational research; methods of data collection; and data analysis and reporting. It continues to be the go-to text for students, academics and researchers who are undertaking, understanding and using educational research, and has been translated into several languages. It offers plentiful and rich practical advice, underpinned by clear theoretical foundations, research evidence and up-to-date references, and it raises key issues and questions for researchers planning, conducting, reporting and evaluating research.

Assembles and assesses the extant research available on teacher education and provides clear guidelines on future directions. It addresses an important need in a collection that will be of value for teachers, teacher educators, policymakers and politicians.

This handbook focuses on the often neglected dimension of interpretation in educational research. It argues that all educational research is in some sense 'interpretive', and that understanding this issue belies some usual dualisms of thought and practice, such as the sharp dichotomy between 'qualitative' and 'quantitative' research. Interpretation extends from the very framing of the research task, through the sources which constitute the data, the process of their recording, representation and analysis, to the way in which the research is finally or provisionally presented.

In the second edition of Doing Educational Research, we explore a variety of critical issues and methodologies. Authors include some of the most influential voices selected from across the spectrum of career disciplines. The scholars provide detailed insights into dimensions of the research process that engage both students and experienced researchers with key concepts and recent innovations in the art of doing research. The contributors adopt a stance that is practical as it introduces beginning scholars to social inquiry, and innovative as it transforms the boundaries of conversations about educational research.

This handbook serves as a reference for educational researchers and practitioners who desire to acquire knowledge and skills in quantitative methods for data analysis or to obtain deeper insights from published works. Written by experienced researchers and educators, each chapter in this handbook covers a methodological topic with attention paid to the theory, procedures, and the challenges on the use of that particular methodology.

This volume offers a unique commentary on the diverse ways that educational inquiry is conceived, designed and critiqued. An international team of scholars examines cross-cutting themes of how research in education is conceptualised, characterised, contextualised, legitimated and represented. Contributions include specially commissioned essays, critical commentaries, vignettes, dialogues and cases.

Published for the American Educational Research Association by Routledge. The Handbook of Complementary Methods in Education Research is a successor volume to AERA's earlier and highly acclaimed editions of Complementary Methods for Research in Education. More than any book to date (including its predecessors), this new volume brings together the wide range of research methods used to study education and makes the logic of inquiry for each method clear and accessible. Each method is described in detail, including its history, its research design, the questions that it addresses, ways of using the method, and ways of analyzing and reporting outcomes.

Now in its third edition, the Handbook of Research on Teaching the English Language Arts--sponsored by the International Reading Association and the National Council of Teachers of English--offers an integrated perspective on the teaching of the English language arts and a comprehensive overview of research in the field. Prominent scholars, researchers, and professional leaders provide historical and theoretical perspectives about teaching the language arts.

This third edition of the Handbook of International Research in Mathematics Education provides a comprehensive overview of the most recent theoretical and practical developments in the field of mathematics education. Authored by an array of internationally recognized scholars and edited by Lyn English and David Kirshner, this collection brings together overviews and advances in mathematics education research spanning established and emerging topics, diverse workplace and school environments, and globally representative research priorities.

This Handbook presents an international collection of essays examining history education past and present. Framing recent curriculum reforms in Canada and in the United States in light of a century-long debate between the relationship between theory and practice, this collection contextualizes the debate by exploring the evolution of history and social studies education within their state or national contexts.

This Handbook outlines the current state of research in social studies education - a complex, dynamic, challenging field with competing perspectives about appropriate goals, and on-going conflict over the content of the curriculum.

What comes after the reconceptualization of curriculum studies? What is the contribution of the next wave of curriculum scholars? This Handbook speaks to these questions and extends the conversation on present and future directions in curriculum studies through the work of twenty-four newer scholars who explore, each in their own unique ways, the present moment in curriculum studies.

The Wiley Handbook of Learning Technology is an authoritative and up-to-date survey of the fast-growing field of learning technology, from its foundational theories and practices to its challenges, trends, and future developments. Offers an examination of learning technology that is equal parts theoretical and practical, covering both the technology of learning and the use of technology in learning Individual chapters tackle timely and controversial subjects, such as gaming and simulation, security, lifelong learning, distance education, learning across educational settings, and the research agenda.

Education in today's technologically advanced environments makes complex cognitive demands on students pre-learning, during, and post-learning. Not surprisingly, these analytical learning processes--metacognitive processes--have become an important focus of study as new learning technologies are assessed for effectiveness in this area.Rich in theoretical models and empirical data, the International Handbook of Metacognition and Learning Technologies synthesizes current research on this critical topic. This interdisciplinary reference delves deeply into component processes of self-regulated learning (SRL), examining theories and models of metacognition, empirical issues in the study of SRL, and the expanding role of educational technologies in helping students learn.

The Handbook of Bilingual and Multilingual Education presents the first comprehensive international reference work of the latest policies, practices, and theories related to the dynamic interdisciplinary field of bilingual and multilingual education.

This book comprises a wide range of scholarly essays introducing readers to key topics and issues in science education.