Research Guides: AGEC 431: Advanced Agri-Sales and Marketing: Home

Creating a Search Strategy

1: Articles

Suggested Starting Points

ABI/Inform Collection
- This link opens in a new window
An all-purpose, vast business database with thousands of full-text academic journals and mainstream publications, dissertations, and working papers, including sources like The Economist, Financial Times, and Wall Street Journal.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An all-purpose, vast business database with thousands of full-text academic journals and mainstream publications. Also includes thousands of case studies, SWOT analyses, industry reports, and a selection of brief company profiles.

Specialized Databases

AGRICOLA (Ovid interface)
- This link opens in a new window
AGRICOLA serves as the catalog and index to the collections of the National Agricultural Library, as well as a primary public source for world-wide access to agricultural information. The database covers materials in all formats and periods, including printed works from as far back as the 15th century. The records describe publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences.

Ag Econ Search
Free, open access repository of full-text scholarly literature in agricultural and applied economics, including working papers, conference papers, and journal articles

2: Market and Industry Research Reports

IBISWorld Industry Reports
- This link opens in a new window
Data-driven reports on industries. Each report is approximately 30-40 pages in length, providing an authoritative overview of trends, competitive forces, statistics, top companies, and more.
MarketResearch.com Academic
- This link opens in a new window
Market research reports: a wide range of categories like food and beverage, technology and media, heavy industry, life science, consumer goods, and service industries.
BCC Market Research
- This link opens in a new window
Market research reports: primarily STEM (science, technology, engineering, medicine) categories like advanced materials, chemicals, manufacturing, and pharmaceuticals.
Frost and Sullivan
- This link opens in a new window
Market research reports: a wide range of categories like aerospace and defense, automotive and transportation, consumer products, healthcare, energy and power systems, and measurement and instrumentation.
PitchBook This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A top resource for private market data -- startups, private equity and venture capital investors, angel investors, limited partners like foundations and sovereign wealth funds, plus deals, funding rounds, and more. Also provides information about public and private companies plus market research.
Note: This resource requires you to create a user account.

3: A New Approach: Use scite then search for articles accessible via Purdue

scite This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A smart citation index that displays the context of citations and classifies their intent using deep learning.

Searching for Articles (standard content box)

To begin your search for articles,

Visit the Libraries' website to access the online catalog.
Select Articles from the drop-down menu.
Use the search box to search by title or keyword.
Click the Search button to run the search.

From the results page, use the filters on the the left to tweak your results. For example, you can limit your search to show only Articles from Peer-reviewed Journals.