Parallel Histories: Spain, the United States, and the American Frontier is a bilingual, multi-format English-Spanish digital library site that explores the interactions between Spain and the United States in America from the fifteenth to the early nineteenth centuries. A cooperative effort between the National Library of Spain, the Biblioteca Colombina y Capitular of Seville and the Library of Congress, the project is part of the Library of Congress Global Gateway initiative to build digital library partnerships with national libraries around the world.
Through the presentation in digital form of books, maps, prints and photographs, manuscripts, and other documents from the collections of the partner libraries, this project illuminates five main themes related to the history of Spain and the parallel histories between the United States and Spain: Exploration and Early Settlement, Colonization and Settlement, Meeting of Cultures and Religious/Evangelical Activities, American Revolution, and Mutual Perceptions. Exploration and Early Settlement was launched in June 2005; the other sections are in process.
This site hosts a database of listings that provide links to open access digitized collections of primary sources that relate to Latin America and the Caribbean. Currently, the listings may be searched by country, genre/format, hosting institution, and collection title. Questions about the content of the listed collections or their links should be directed to the host library or archive. Please note that digital collections may be continuously added to. You are encouraged to revisit for updates and to revisit our site for newly added content to the database.
Digital humanities projects spanning the world in the Middle Ages. Projects range from the Black Death in Europe, to Chinese gazeteers, to primary texts about the Discovery of America, to mapping trade connections between east African towns and Asia.
Relevant geographical locations: Spain; Malaysia; China; Syria; the Artic; Ottoman empire; Byzantine empire; Mississippi River valley of North America; Mongolia; Jerusalem; East Africa; Latin America; sub-Saharan Africa.
"1914-1918-online. International Encyclopedia of the First World War” is an English-language virtual reference work on the First World War. The multi-perspective, open-access knowledge base is the result of an international collaborative project involving more than 1,000 authors, editors, and partners from over fifty countries. More than 1,500 articles will be gradually published. Innovative navigation schemes based on Semantic Media Wiki technology provide nonlinear access to the encyclopedia’s content.
This collection focuses on the decision to drop the atomic bomb. It includes 76 documents totaling 632 pages covering the years 1945 through 1964. Supporting materials include an online version of “Truman and the Bomb: A Documentary History,” edited by Robert H. Ferrell.
This archive of primary documents from World War One has been assembled by volunteers of the World War I Military History List (WWI-L). International in focus, the archive intends to present in one location primary documents concerning the Great War. Documents sorted by year and document type. Includes diaries, conventions , treaties and official papers, image archives,.
The digital collections of the Library of Congress contain a wide variety of material related to World War I, including posters, photographs, manuscripts, newspapers, films, sheet music, and sound recordings. This guide compiles links to World War I resources throughout the Library of Congress website. In addition, this guide provides links to external websites focusing on World War I and a bibliography containing selections for both general and younger readers.
Furthermore, as part of our commemoration of the 100th anniversary of the U.S. involvement in World War I, the Library of Congress has created a World War I portal to its extensive holdings on the subject of the war. This page also includes WWI-related content for teachers, blog postings, and details on lectures, programs, concerts and symposia related to the conflict.
Documents related to the dropping of the atomic bomb and the end of World War II, organized by topic: Background on the Atomic Project; Defining Targets; Debates on Alternatives to First Use and Unconditional Surrender; The Japanese Search for Soviet Mediation; The Trinity Test, the Potsdam Conference, and the Execution Order; The First Nuclear Strikes; Toward Surrender; and Confronting the Problem of Radiation Poisoning.
The content of HyperWar consists primarily of official documents produced by various agencies of the United States, United Kingdom and British Commonwealth governments. All documents produced by the U.S. government are "born" in the public domain (free of copyright restrictions). Documents produced by the U.K. and Commonwealth governments are protected by Crown Copyright, however, Her Majesty graciously permits reproduction 50 years after publication provided only that an acknowledgment of the Crown's copyright is included. Original (non-government) content, created by HyperWar or contributed from the public, are offered without restrictions for personal or educational uses. For commercial use of the material please contact us.
One-stop resources covering a full range of topics in U.S. foreign policy. Containing 5 - 100+ documents, each briefing book features an introductory essay, individual document descriptions, related photo or video content, plus links for further reading.
hese in-depth collections bring together related Archive postings on given topics to make it easier for scholars, journalists, students, and others to explore selected issues in detail. Topics include the September 11 terrorist attacks, U.S. policy toward Saddam Hussein, and the 1983 War Scare.
World War II (1939-1945) was the largest international event of the twentieth century and one of the major turning points in U.S. and world history. In the six years between the invasion of Poland and the bombing of Hiroshima and Nagasaki, the world was caught up in the most destructive war in history. Armed forces of more than seventeen million fought on the land, in the air, and on the sea. The digital collections of the Library of Congress contain a wide and diverse selection of materials relating to this period.
This guide gathers in one place links to World War II related resources throughout the Library of Congress Web site.
The Lumholtz Collection consists of more than 2500 photographs taken in the course of four expeditions sponsored by the museum to the northwest of Mexico from 1890 to 1898 led by the Norwegian explorer, naturalist and ethnographer Carl S. Lumholtz.
The first printing press in the New World is established in Mexico City in 1539. Because printing was conceived by the Spaniards as a tool for missionaries in the Christianization of Indian populations, these early imprints consisted primarily of grammars and vocabularies of native Indian languages, as well as instructional religious tracts. Mexican Incunabula at the Latin American Library (1559-1600) provides digital copies in pdf format of some of the earliest products of Mexican printing presses (1539-1600). In addition to making available some of the earliest imprints produced in the New World, this collection provides important and rare sources for the study of the first phases of the Spanish enterprise in the New World, as well as initial forms of encounter between Native Americans and Europeans. These works also provide valuable insights into native languages and cultures during the first decades of contact. Early Mexican imprints are quite rare. Of the 220 identified titles, only 136 are known to reside in institutions around the world. The Latin American Library houses nine of these unique titles. The total number of pages is approximately 2,600. The texts are in Spanish, Purépecha and Nahuatl.
The late James McKegney, Professor of Spanish at the University of Waterloo for more than thirty years, passed away in 1981 and left to his heirs one of the most important research collections pertaining to the independence movement in Mexico, 1789-1828. The research materials, compiled between 1965 and 1980, consist of a bibliographic database of more than 11,000 citations and over 1,150 photocopies of pamphlets listed in the database. This database and the accompanying documents are one of the most important archival sources in the world for the study of the political, social and cultural aspects of the independence movement in Mexico.
The Dupee Collection offers nearly 200 broadsides published after the Mexican republic secured its independence in 1821. Chronicled within the broadsides are Mexican partisan politics, religious and anti-clerical debates, popular literature and drama, domestic revolutions and armed conflict with the United States. Most are Spanish-language sources written by Mexican citizens and published in Mexico.
This website, maintained by the Royal Library of Denmark, contains the digital version of a manuscript completed in 1615 by a native Andean, Felipe Guaman Poma de Ayala. He wrote his Nueva corónica y buen gobierno or New Chronicle and Good Government to provide the Spanish king with an Andean perspective on colonial Peru. Guaman Poma wrote about pre-conquest Andean history and also described what he saw as the damaging effects of Spanish colonization on native society. This website has images of the manuscript’s 1200 pages, including 398 drawings. The introduction to the site includes a two-paragraph description of the manuscript and a picture of the binding of the original edition, a glossary-index of Quechua terms and concepts (in Spanish), an onomastic index (in Spanish), and an ethnological index of topics related to indigenous people (in Spanish).
The documents posted today record the U.S. government knowledge of the plotters, their preparations for the coup, and their potential plans for what State Department officials described as “military rule for an extended duration and of unprecedented severity.” They show that the U.S. “discreetly” advised the military more than a month before the actual coup that Washington would recognize the new regime, and that then CIA director George H.W. Bush briefed President Gerald Ford on a "possible" coup in Argentina almost two weeks before the military deposed Isabel Peron.
This collection provides access to the pre-1930 Canadian pamphlet and broadside holdings of the Thomas Fisher Rare Book Library by supplying both page images in full colour, and full searchability of the contents of each item. To date the site consists of 597 broadsides (single sheets, printed on one or both sides) and 2,062 pamphlet titles which amounts to 71,508 page images. The collection includes items printed in Canada, by Canadian authors, or about Canadian subjects, mainly of a non-literary nature.
Library and Archives Canada's (LAC) Truth and Reconciliation Commission Web Archive provides access to archival copies of the websites of organizations connected with the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada (TRC), either as active partners at national events or through initiatives to support commemoration. The collection was curated in collaboration with the University of Winnipeg Library, the University of Manitoba Libraries, and the National Centre for Truth and Reconciliation (NCTR). It contains English- and French-language content that records the effect of the TRC on Canadian society.
This collection brings together resources that address the TRC directly, and its impact on the work of truth and reconciliation in Canadian society more generally.
In collaboration with the University of Manitoba Libraries, the National Centre of Truth and Reconciliation, and the Library and Archives of Canada, the University of Winnipeg Library has curated and captured a selection of webpages, blogs, news coverage, and PDF files that pertain to Manitoba's ongoing involvement with the Truth and Reconciliation Commission. This growing collection covers a diverse range of topics, which include survivors’ stories, apologies, responses, cultural events, and more. This is an ongoing web-archiving project that will continue to grow as we witness new ways that reconciliation and healing take place in our province. We gratefully acknowledge the financial assistance of Manitoba Tourism, Culture, Heritage, Sport and Consumer Protection, and the Government of Canada in the creation of this collection.
In collaboration with the University of Winnipeg Library, the National Centre of Truth and Reconciliation, and the Library and Archives of Canada, the University of Manitoba Libraries has curated and captured a selection of webpages, blogs, news coverage, and PDF files that pertain to Manitoba's ongoing involvement with the Truth and Reconciliation Commission. This growing collection covers a diverse range of topics, which include issues on education, politics, legislation, mental health resources, and more. This is an ongoing web-archiving project that will continue to grow as we witness new ways that reconciliation and healing take place in our province.
The Latin American Materials Project (LAMP) at the Center for Research Libraries (CRL) has digitized executive branch serial documents issued by Brazil’s national government between 1821 and 1993, and by its provincial governments from the earliest available for each province to the end of the first Republic in 1930. Additional information about this project is available from the LAMP webpages.
The Caribbean Newspaper Digital Collection is within the Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC), a cooperative digital library for newspapers resources from the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. dLOC provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean newspapers, gazettes, and other research materials on newsprint currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections. dLOC continues to add historical and current newspapers through ongoing digitization and born-digital curation, expanding the geographic, temporal, political and linguistic variety of the newspapers.
The documents within each issue contain the French original, a brief historical introduction, and the translation.
Issue 1.0: First installment of twelve translated and curated pamphlets detailing the grain shortage of 1789, focused mainly on the rapport between the Deputies of Saint-Domingue with French officials in France or Saint-Domingue.
Issue 2.0: Second installment of six translated and curated pamphlets that provide a larger, transnational context for the issues surrounding 1789 Saint-Domingue.
Issue 3.0: The six pamphlets that make up the third installment “bring to the fore of this project a number of pressing concerns about the kind of knowledge about life under slavery that can be gleaned from the colonial archive.”
Kreyòl: Under the direction of Dr. Laurence Jay-Rayon Ibrahim Aibo, student translators Daphney Vastey and Pierre Malbranche are translating the pamphlets from Issue 1.0 into Kreyòl and recording audio versions. With these translations, our project has grown in an important direction, towards reaching students of Kreyòl in Haiti and in the diaspora.
Hosts about 41,000 titles with more than 4,000,000 pages of content. Newspapers, archives of Caribbean leaders and governments, official documents, maps, oral histories, travel accounts, and artifacts.
The Archive of Haitian Religion and Culture: Collaborative Research and Scholarship on Haiti and the Haitian Diaspora contains rich primary materials of a central Haitian and Haitian-American spiritual tradition in order to promote discovery and educate a broad public. This collection provides content online for scholars and the public in the form of: Audiovisual content available as sound, photographic or video footage that is transcribed, translated, subtitled and explicated; Textual content available as facsimile, updated modernizations and translations; and, Critical syntheses such as commentary, exegesis, etymology, etc., available in English.