PPHS World History Immersion

his collection of viewable hominin fossil 3D models was produced by the Smithsonian’s Human Origins Program by 3D scanning casts and other replicas which are now on display in the Hall of Human Origins at the National Museum of Natural History. The skulls are different colors because as they fossilized they absorbed minerals from the surrounding soil, and different minerals cause different colors. The black areas show where researchers reconstructed missing parts.

This collection of viewable prehistoric artifact 3D models was produced by the Smithsonian’s Human Origins Program by 3D scanning casts, other replicas, and some original objects which are now on display in the Hall of Human Origins at the National Museum of Natural History. The models are shown in approximate order of age, from oldest on the top left to youngest on the bottom right.

Clickable timeline showing the emergence of human species along with major human milestones.

Webliography of links on human origins and cultural and societal evolution.

Full text links to primary sources

Links to Maps, Timelines, texts, and images.

Links to websites, primary texts, maps, and images

The Mellon grant funded the conversion of ABZU from a collection of static html pages to a database delivery platform, the digitization of almost 200 volumes of core materials for the study of the Ancient Near East, and the development of the web portal.

Early on discussions began among the advisory panel of the need for an archival repository for archaeological data. It was with this need in mind that the ETANA partners sought and received a National Science Foundation grant in 2004, to develop software to create electronic mappings to allow searching across excavation sites. The prototype “Digbase” structure was designed at Virginia Tech by Professor Ed Fox and his students, with Professor James Flanagan and Joanne Eustis, University Librarian both of Case Western University, serving as the principal investigators of the grant.
Additional Core Texts were digitized as a part of USAID grant to assist Iraqi universities rebuild their archaeology programs and collections. Stony Brook University in New York State has digitized 181 cuneiform text publications and archaeological site reports, including dissertations relating to archaeology in Iraq. Prof. Elizabeth Stone was the Principal Investigator for this grant. Vanderbilt Divinity Library also digitized additional Core Texts for ETANA, using a grant from the Cooperative Digital Resources Initiative (CDRI). This small grant allowed for the addition of 30 additional volumes to the Core Texts corpus, which stands at 368 volumes as of Fall 2010.
Professor Jack Sasson of Vanderbilt University conceived of the eTACT database, based on discussions at the Muenster Rencontre in 2006, a collection of English language translations of Akkadian texts, which was added to the ETANA portal in 2007

The Duke Papyrus Archive provides electronic access to texts about and images of nearly 1400 papyri from ancient Egypt. The target audience includes: papyrologists, ancient historians, archaeologists, biblical scholars, classicists, Coptologists, Egyptologists, students of literature and religion and all others interested in ancient Egypt. The project of conserving, interpreting, cataloguing and imaging the largely unpublished Duke papyrus collection was supported by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities , and is part of the Advanced Papyrological Information System (APIS) Project. Project staff at Duke have included Steven L. Hensen, John F. Oates, Peter van Minnen, Suzanne D. Corr, Paolo Mangiafico, Joshua Sosin, and John Bauschatz.

An open forum journal with articles devoted to all aspects of the Ancient Greek and Roman worlds. Topics covered include: Ancient Religion, Greek Language, Greek Literature, History, Latin Language, Latin Literature, Material Culture, Philosophy, The Classical Tradition, and The Future of Classics.

Digitized maps for classical and medieval battles

Links to texts, images, plays.

Links to Maps, texts, images, novels, plays,

Links to images, inscriptions, texts.

Links to maps, documents, images.

Links to atlases, texts, dictionaries, charts, timelines, legal texts, etc.

Digitized Greek and Roman texts

English translations of classic Buddhist texts

Since its foundation, AWMC has been engaged in the creation of map content for use both in scholarly publication and in the classroom. As the technology that drives mapmaking continues to advance, AWMC now creates maps using means much different than those of a decade ago. The latest mapmaking application aimed at developing maps for classroom use is the Antiquity À-la-carte application that allows the user to create their own maps. AWMC encourages educators and all others interested in mapmaking to become part of the À-la-carte community.

On this page you will find hosted a series of freely available maps that, just as before, are available for free educational use (under the CC BY-NC 3.0 license) and also can be licensed for publication at nominal cost. These maps are organized according to rough geographic regions. Please do note that the map set designed to accompany The Romans: From Village to Empire second edition (2011) are presented as a distinct grouping.

Digitized maps for classical and medieval battles

Links to texts, codices, images of historical evidence, art,

Links to texts, atlases.

Full text primary documents

Full text of primary sources

This page highlights Artstor content related to the Early Christian, Byzantine, Carolingian, Ottonian, Romanesque, and Gothic periods in Europe, which include images of mosaics, stained glass, tapestries, illuminated manuscripts, ivories, churches, and cathedrals.

Primary sources on warfare in the middle ages

Primary Documents from Antiquity to the 1600s.

Primary source text illustrative of medieval urban life, translated into English.

Digital humanities projects spanning the world in the Middle Ages. Projects range from the Black Death in Europe, to Chinese gazeteers, to primary texts about the Discovery of America, to mapping trade connections between east African towns and Asia.

Famous artwork, indexed by chronological period. 1280 - late 1900s. Primary European, but also includes Japanese art from prehistory - present.

Digital texts of Middle English, Renaissance, 16th and 17th century literature, plus an encyclopedia of notable people from those time periods.

Digitized copy of one of a kind illuminated manuscript. he manuscript, written and illuminated in England around 1200, is of added interest since it contains notes, sketches and other evidence of the way it was designed and executed. Its text and appearance are closely related to the Ashmole Bestiary, Oxford, Bodleian Library, MS Ashmole 1511 which provides further insights into workshop practice.

The Labyrinth provides free, organized access to resources in medieval studies. The Labyrinth’s easy-to-use links provide connections to databases, services, texts, and images around the world. Each user will be able to find an Ariadne’s thread through the maze of information on the Web.

This project involves the creation of a hypertext archive of narratives, medical consilia, governmental records, religious and spiritual writings and images documenting the arrival, impact and response to the problem of epidemic disease in Western Europe between 1348 and 1530. When completed researchers will be able to follow themes and issues geographically across Europe in any given time period or chronologically from the first cases of bubonic plague in 1348 to the early sixteenth century.

Full text of primary sources

Full text of primary sources

This page highlights Artstor content related to the art and architecture of Renaissance Europe, including prints, drawings, paintings, sculptures, buildings, fresco cycles, and other forms of architectural decoration.

Maps of American wars from 1740-1759

Digitized maps of battles from the late 1400s to 1757, primarily in Europe.

118 documents related to slavery and the European colonialist powers.

Digitization of primary source documents, plays, novels.

Famous artwork, indexed by chronological period. 1280 - late 1900s. Primary European, but also includes Japanese art from prehistory - present.

Links to primary sources, digitized texts and documents, letters

The Medici Archive Project (MAP) was founded by Edward Goldberg and Hester Diamond in the early 1990s to foster the study of the Mediceo del Principato, the epistolary collection of the Medici Grand Dukes, dating from 1537 to 1743. The Medici were the most famous and influential family in Renaissance and early modern Italy. For two centuries they ruled Tuscany as sovereign grand dukes, and their activity is the focus of intense interest of historians, especially of scholars in the history of art, music, theater, literature, diplomacy, natural science, material culture, medicine, wine and gastronomy as well as gender studies and Jewish studies. The Mediceo del Principato has survived virtually intact, offering the most complete record of any princely regime of the period. Comprising more than four million letters, and occupying a mile of shelf space at the Archivio di Stato in Florence, the Mediceo del Principato should be considered a global, local, and personal archive. Penned by an extensive network of Medici diplomats and informants, circa three million letters chronicle the political and cultural developments in Europe, Asia, Africa, and the Americas. Part of this diplomatic corpus are the avvisi, which were usually sent with the letters of Florentine ambassadors stationed in major Northern European, Mediterranean and Near Eastern urban centers. Aside from recording the world outside of Tuscany, the letters also document the mechanisms that connected the Medici court with its administrative capillaries, including the legislative, judicial, financial, and public health branches of government. At the same time, the Mediceo del Principato also records the vicissitudes of the Medici themselves and events at their court. We learn of their passions and ambitions, their education and scholarship, their patronage and taste, their physical maladies and religious observance, and their everyday interactions with each other and with the world inside and outside their palaces and villas.

Full text of primary sources

Full text of primary sources

Maps of Battles and Campaigns during the American Civil War, 1861-1864

Atlas of Battles in the American Revolutionary War, 1775 - 1781

Maps of battles during the Mexican War, 1846-1847

Maps of Battles across Europe from 1796 - 1815

Maps of battles fought during the War of 1812, United States of America, 1812-1815

Do you need documents for a paper? Or images to illustrate greater understanding of critical decisions? Would you like a general introduction to the exciting events of the French Revolution? Or are you looking for inspiration? You can find any of these and so much more because this site includes 250 images, 350 text documents, 13 songs, 13 maps, a timeline, and a glossary as well as 12 topical essays.

MIA contains the writings of around 850 authors representing a complete spectrum of political, philosophical, and scientific thought, generally spanning the past 200 years. MIA contains these writings in 80 different languages, comprising a total size of over 180,000 documents and 288 GB of data, all created through the work of volunteers around the world.

The Newberry Library's French Pamphlet Collection primarily consists of material published between 1780 and 1810 from the French Revolution Collection (FRC), the Louis XVI Trial and Execution Collection, and several smaller collections of French Revolution era material. It charts the political, social, and religious history of the French Revolution. The material represents the opinions of all the factions that opposed and defended the monarchy during the turbulent period from 1789 to 1799 and chronicles the events—both dramatic and quotidian—of the First Republic. The FRC collection was acquired by the Newberry between 1957 and 1961 from Michel Bernstein, a book dealer in Paris. There are complete runs of well-known journals ( portion provided here), as well as many rare and unknown publications. While the majority of the pamphlets were printed in Paris by the Imprimerie nationale, there are also significant numbers of provincial publishers and fictitious imprints.
This collection also includes about 3,000 French political pamphlets published between 1560 to 1653 that document a period of religious wars and the establishment of the absolute monarchy. The bulk of the collection was purchased in the late 1940s from New York book dealer H.P. Kraus.

Famous artwork, indexed by chronological period. 1280 - late 1900s. Primary European, but also includes Japanese art from prehistory - present.

The Victorian Web, which became a 501(3)(c) charitable organization in February 2020, originated in hypermedia environments (Intermedia, Storyspace) that existed long before the World Wide Web. One of the oldest academic and scholarly websites, it entered the Internet in 1994. The Victorian Web takes an approach that differs markedly from many Internet projects. Today the Internet offers many excellent resources — and we use them often! — such as Project Gutenberg, the Hathi Trust Digital Library, the Internet Archive, the Library of Congress, and British Listed Buildings. These sites take the form of archives that quite properly preserve their information in the form of separate images or entire books accessible via search tools. The Victorian Web, in contrast, presents its images and documents, including entire books, as nodes in a network of complex connections. In other words, it emphasizes the link rather than the search tool (though it has one) and presents information linked to other information rather than atomized and isolated. 115,611 documents and images as of 23 December 2020, and it grows every day. Approximately 3,700 documents are Spanish translations of the sections on literature and religion created by a team based at the University of Computense Madrid and initially funded by the Spanish government. 1700 documents about Ruskin and gender matters exist in French translation, too.

Full text of primary sources

"1914-1918-online. International Encyclopedia of the First World War” is an English-language virtual reference work on the First World War. The multi-perspective, open-access knowledge base is the result of an international collaborative project involving more than 1,000 authors, editors, and partners from over fifty countries. More than 1,500 articles will be gradually published. Innovative navigation schemes based on Semantic Media Wiki technology provide nonlinear access to the encyclopedia’s content.

Maps of campaigns and battles of WWI. 1914 - 1919

Atlas of campaigns and battles of the Asia-Pacific Theater of WWII. 1920- 1945

Maps of campaigns and battles in the European Theater, WWII. 1936-1945

Maps, propaganda posters, vintage audio and video, vintage photographs

Gulag: Many Days, Many Lives presents an in-depth look at life in the Gulag through exhibits featuring original documentaries and prisoner voices; an archive filled with documents and images; and teaching and bibliographic resources that encourage further study. Visitors also are encouraged to reflect and share their thoughts about the Gulag system.

This collection focuses on the decision to drop the atomic bomb. It includes 76 documents totaling 632 pages covering the years 1945 through 1964. Supporting materials include an online version of “Truman and the Bomb: A Documentary History,” edited by Robert H. Ferrell.

These primary sources are drawn from the emergence of resistance movements in the 1980s, the events of 1989, and the immediate aftermath in Eastern Europe.

Films, photographs, posters, and maps

Photos, artwork, maps, posters, timelines, musical pieces.

Digital images of letters, completed surveys, news clippings, photographs, and postcards from 31 women association with Illinois State Normal University who served in some capacity during World War I - as nurses, reconstruction aides or Red Cross workers, even as Navy typists in Washington, D. C. , with about half seeing service in Europe. Presented by Illinois State University and the Office of the Illinois Secretary of State.

Oral history, photos, diaries, correspondence, and memoirs of all US wars since WWI

Famous artwork, indexed by chronological period. 1280 - late 1900s. Primary European, but also includes Japanese art from prehistory - present.

This archive of primary documents from World War One has been assembled by volunteers of the World War I Military History List (WWI-L). International in focus, the archive intends to present in one location primary documents concerning the Great War. Documents sorted by year and document type. Includes diaries, conventions , treaties and official papers, image archives,.

The digital collections of the Library of Congress contain a wide variety of material related to World War I, including posters, photographs, manuscripts, newspapers, films, sheet music, and sound recordings. This guide compiles links to World War I resources throughout the Library of Congress website. In addition, this guide provides links to external websites focusing on World War I and a bibliography containing selections for both general and younger readers.

Furthermore, as part of our commemoration of the 100th anniversary of the U.S. involvement in World War I, the Library of Congress has created a World War I portal to its extensive holdings on the subject of the war. This page also includes WWI-related content for teachers, blog postings, and details on lectures, programs, concerts and symposia related to the conflict.

Contains full-text primary and secondary sources

Full text of primary sources

Maps of battles and campaigns in the Arab-Israeli war, 1948 - 1973

Maps of the campaigns and battles of the Korean War, 1950 - 1953

Maps of the battles and campaigns of the War in Iraq, 1991-2003

Maps showing conflicts in Lebanon, Iran, Iraq, Kuwait, Somalia, Dominican Republic, Falklands, Grenada, and Panama

Maps of the battles and campaigns of the Vietnam War, 1954-1975

Maps showing the campaigns of the War in Afghanistan

Documents related to the dropping of the atomic bomb and the end of World War II, organized by topic: Background on the Atomic Project; Defining Targets; Debates on Alternatives to First Use and Unconditional Surrender; The Japanese Search for Soviet Mediation; The Trinity Test, the Potsdam Conference, and the Execution Order; The First Nuclear Strikes; Toward Surrender; and Confronting the Problem of Radiation Poisoning.

Documents related to the planning, execution, and aftermath of the atomic bombings of Hiroshima and Nagasaki in August, 1945, and an eyewitness account from Father John A. Siemes, professor of modern philosophy at Tokyo's Catholic University; from the Avalon Project at Yale Law School.

The content of HyperWar consists primarily of official documents produced by various agencies of the United States, United Kingdom and British Commonwealth governments. All documents produced by the U.S. government are "born" in the public domain (free of copyright restrictions). Documents produced by the U.K. and Commonwealth governments are protected by Crown Copyright, however, Her Majesty graciously permits reproduction 50 years after publication provided only that an acknowledgment of the Crown's copyright is included. Original (non-government) content, created by HyperWar or contributed from the public, are offered without restrictions for personal or educational uses. For commercial use of the material please contact us.

One-stop resources covering a full range of topics in U.S. foreign policy. Containing 5 - 100+ documents, each briefing book features an introductory essay, individual document descriptions, related photo or video content, plus links for further reading.

hese in-depth collections bring together related Archive postings on given topics to make it easier for scholars, journalists, students, and others to explore selected issues in detail. Topics include the September 11 terrorist attacks, U.S. policy toward Saddam Hussein, and the 1983 War Scare.

Famous artwork, indexed by chronological period. 1280 - late 1900s. Primary European, but also includes Japanese art from prehistory - present.

Full text of law and diplomacy documents from the WWII era

World War II (1939-1945) was the largest international event of the twentieth century and one of the major turning points in U.S. and world history. In the six years between the invasion of Poland and the bombing of Hiroshima and Nagasaki, the world was caught up in the most destructive war in history. Armed forces of more than seventeen million fought on the land, in the air, and on the sea. The digital collections of the Library of Congress contain a wide and diverse selection of materials relating to this period.

This guide gathers in one place links to World War II related resources throughout the Library of Congress Web site.

Collections of documents detailing diplomatic and political changes throughout the latter 1900s.