his collection of viewable hominin fossil 3D models was produced by the Smithsonian’s Human Origins Program by 3D scanning casts and other replicas which are now on display in the Hall of Human Origins at the National Museum of Natural History. The skulls are different colors because as they fossilized they absorbed minerals from the surrounding soil, and different minerals cause different colors. The black areas show where researchers reconstructed missing parts.
This collection of viewable prehistoric artifact 3D models was produced by the Smithsonian’s Human Origins Program by 3D scanning casts, other replicas, and some original objects which are now on display in the Hall of Human Origins at the National Museum of Natural History. The models are shown in approximate order of age, from oldest on the top left to youngest on the bottom right.
This site presents a large collection of primary sources in African studies, including images (more than 3,000 slides and 500 photographs) and sounds (more than 50 hours), as well as seven digitized texts, four of which are extremely rare works. It represents 50 years of work by the site’s creators.
Our posters represent a variety of social, political, and cultural issues, including public health, education, liberation and independence, political campaigns, the anti-apartheid movement, Biafra, Darfur, economics, art, publishing, and music. Through these collections, scholars and students can explore how institutions and organizations communicated with African populations from the mid 19th century through the present day.
The Afriterra Library embraces a non-profit mission to access, preserve, and apply the cartographic record of Africa, enabling broader interpretation and transformative education.
The needs of education are rooted in the principles of Focus and Visualization.
Our method is cartography, and our commitment stands on deep content and broad access.
This resource is achieved by cataloging, digitizing, and displaying more than 5,000 of the rarest historical maps focused on Africa. The content spans over 500 years, covering all regions and scales, in 8 different languages, by 3000 unique creators.
This platform efficiently delivers at once a thorough archive from multiple primary sources previously scattered and sequestered throughout the world.
At the core of this site is a searchable database of African art entitled the Stanley Collection. This collection of more than 500 images and objects focuses mainly on western Africa, and it is possible to search by country, ethnic group, type of artifact, material, function, style, or substyle (the final two links refer to geographic categories).
This site also includes a number of links to explanatory essays and other resources that serve as excellent general introductions to African history, culture, and art. It is part of the larger Art and Life in Africa Project, which offers links to resources for teachers, including DVDs for sale, a glossary and pronunciation guide, a teacher’s forum, and lesson suggestions. The focus here is also on West Africa, with additional special links to pages about Mali and Burkina Faso.
The Story of Africa tells the history of the continent from an African perspective.
Africa's top historians take a fresh look at the events and characters that have shaped the continent from the origins of humankind to the end of South African apartheid.
See the rise and fall of empires and kingdoms, experience the power of religion, the injustices of slavery, and chart the expansion of trade between Africa and other continents.
Hear what it was like to live under colonialism, follow the struggle against it, and celebrate the achievement of independence.
Africa is both the most clearly defined of continents - in its geography - and the hardest to pin down in historical terms. Human beings originated in Africa and, as a result, there is more diversity of human types and societies than anywhere else. It is not possible, in any non-ideological way, to claim any one of these peoples or societies as more essentially "African" than others; nor is it possible to exclude a given society as "not really African".
On this site historical sources on the history of human societies in the continent of Africa are presented, when available, without making prejudgements about what is "African".
One-stop resources covering a full range of topics in U.S. foreign policy. Containing 5 - 100+ documents, each briefing book features an introductory essay, individual document descriptions, related photo or video content, plus links for further reading.
hese in-depth collections bring together related Archive postings on given topics to make it easier for scholars, journalists, students, and others to explore selected issues in detail. Topics include the September 11 terrorist attacks, U.S. policy toward Saddam Hussein, and the 1983 War Scare.
The Humphrey Winterton Collection of East African Photographs: 1860-1960 documents the African colonial era to the dawn of independence.
The collection portrays both African life and European life in Africa in all its manifestations. It chronicles the daily experience of colonial residents: how they traveled, the lives they created for themselves, their social activities, and their early interaction with the rest of Africa. There are images of Europeans on hunting safaris, of African chiefs and royalty, and of the African landscape, revealing how it changed over time.
Zamani Project undertakes data collection and analysis, heritage communication, and training and capacity building for experts and the public so that they have access to high-quality spatial heritage data, and can learn from, conserve, and protect heritage. Click on the waypoint on the map to see 3D models, videos, panoramas, photos, maps, plans & sections of architectural sites.
This collection features digital copies of 113 antique maps of Africa and accompanying text dating from the mid-16th Century to the early 20th Century. All scanned maps are authentic and originally collected by the Melville J. Herskovits Library of African Studies. Melville J. Herskovits established Northwestern University's Program of African Studies in 1948 (the first of its kind at a major research university in the United States). The Herskovits Library, formally created as a separate library in 1954, has since its inception collected maps that describe Africa from their earliest appearance to the most current. Map area coverage includes the continent, regions (particularly North Africa and Algeria), islands (particularly Madagascar), and a few city plans. All of these maps are loose items, though many have been excised from published atlases. Some of the highlights of the digital collection are: a series of Ptolemic maps of North Africa by Ruscelli, ca. 1565; Forlani: Africa , 1562; Mercator: Africa, 1595; Blaeu: Æthiopia ca. 1650 (a Prester John map); Carey: Africa, 1795 (first map of Africa published in the United States), Arrowsmith: Africa, 1802 (notable for its large dimensions, 124 x 145 cm.), a series of Algerian maps published by the French government in the mid-1800's, and maps by other notable cartographers, such as Hondius, Jansson, de Jode, de L'Isle, Ortelius, Sanson, and de Wit. The original maps are kept and maintained in the map collection in the Government & Geographic Information Collection. We welcome questions, comments, and suggestions concerning any aspect of this digital collection, particularly with regards to provenance. Other antique maps from the Herskovits Library which were not included in this digital collection are either duplicate copies or other editions, such as French government sets covering Algeria.
Explore incredible photographs spanning over 100 years of African history, from the 1860s onwards, taken from the Foreign and Commonwealth Office photographic collection (CO 1069). The full collection can be seen on Flickr, where you can add comments and tags.
AODL provides free universal access to cultural heritage materials from and about African countries and communities. It brings together tens of thousands of digitized photographs, videos, archival documents, maps, interviews and oral histories in numerous African languages, many of which are contained in curated thematic galleries and teaching resources.
Welcome to the James J. Ross Archive of African Images presenting approximately 5000 pictures of African art published before 1921. RAAI is the result of an eight year collaboration between James J. Ross and Susan Vogel, the project's co-directors, assisted by an editor, researchers, a software developer and others. The Archive aspires to include all the figurative African objects in books, periodicals, catalogues, newspapers, and other publications appearing in 1920 and earlier - the oldest dates to 1591. The Archive does not include postcards or pamphlets of limited distribution, and focuses exclusively on figurative art. It is based mainly on the James J. Ross library augmented by publications from the libraries of Yale University and a few other institutions.
These images of African daily life date from the mid-20th century. Photographs come from the following countries and territories: Basutoland, Belgian Congo, Dahomey, French Equatorial Africa, French Guinea, French Togoland, Ghana, Ivory Coast, Kenya, Liberia, Mauritania, Niger (French), Nigeria, Northern Rhodesia, Ruanda-Urundi, Senegal, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Southern Rhodesia, Southwest Africa, Tanganyika, and Tunisia.
AH_digITal Document Portal project will curate electronic and digitized copies of historical documents and field research materials, archives, and other sources of information that scholars & researchers of Africa have collected over many years of their work. These resources will include copies of field notes, manuscripts, rare books, magazines, pamphlets, pictures and images, and transcripts of interviews, songs, and other audio and visual documents covering periods from before colonization of Africa up until the recent past.
Frankfurt University Library digitized some of the books and journals originally collected by the German Colonial Society (Deutsche Kolonialgesellschaft). The journals Deutsche Kolonialzeitung, Amtlicher Anzeiger für Deutsch-Ostafrika, Amtsblatt für das Schutzgebiet Deutsch-Südwestafrika, Amtsblatt für das Schutzgebiet Kamerun, Amtsblatt für das Schutzgebiet Togo and several books including even a colonial cook-book are available online.
This site presents the notes, photographs, maps, and drawings of one natural history expedition, sponsored by the American Museum of Natural History. Herbert Lang, a mammologist, led the expedition from 1909 to 1915 with his assistant, Columbia University student James Chapin. The site also contains 2,000 scanned images of specimens and art collected by Lang and Chapin; more than a dozen publications that place their discoveries, ethnographies, and diaries in historical context; and a few links to additional resources on the Congo.
DISA is a freely accessible online scholarly resource focusing on the socio-political history of South Africa, particularly the struggle for freedom during the period from 1950 to the first democratic elections in 1994, providing a wealth of material on this fascinating period of the country’s history. Much time, creative thought and debate goes into the selection of the content, and participation and input from interested persons, scholars and institutions in South Africa and overseas is encouraged.
The Duke Papyrus Archive provides electronic access to texts about and images of nearly 1400 papyri from ancient Egypt. The target audience includes: papyrologists, ancient historians, archaeologists, biblical scholars, classicists, Coptologists, Egyptologists, students of literature and religion and all others interested in ancient Egypt. The project of conserving, interpreting, cataloguing and imaging the largely unpublished Duke papyrus collection was supported by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities , and is part of the Advanced Papyrological Information System (APIS) Project. Project staff at Duke have included Steven L. Hensen, John F. Oates, Peter van Minnen, Suzanne D. Corr, Paolo Mangiafico, Joshua Sosin, and John Bauschatz.
Here you will find our digital collection of items related to the 1994 Genocide against the Tutsi in Rwanda, pre-genocide history and post-genocide reconstruction processes. Our materials are also preserved and accessible at our physical archive which is located at the Kigali Genocide Memorial.
The Rwanda Documents Project was started by Professor Peter Erlinder of William Mitchell College of Law in St. Paul, Minnesota as a result of his work as a defense attorney at the International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda. The goal of the Project is to collect and make available primary source materials from international and national agencies, governments, and courts that relate to the political and social history of Rwanda from 1990 to the present.