Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Brazil: a global studies handbook by
Call Number: HSSE Stacks Level 2 / 981 Ed98b 2008
Publication Date: 2008
This book is a captivating and authoritative introduction to Brazil_its history, the evolution of its society and culture, and the staggering variety of peoples and landscapes within its borders. Brazil: A Global Studies Handbook provides an easy-to-access, multifaceted introduction to the world's fifth largest nation_a staggeringly diverse region, socially and geographically, that remains relatively unknown even as it becomes increasingly important on the world stage. Brazil offers an expert chronological narrative summary of over five centuries of South America's largest country_from the days of early Portuguese exploration to President Luiz Inácio Lula da Silva's reelection. In addition, it provides a richly informative section of alphabetically organized entries covering important Brazilian people, places, and events. For readers both new to Brazil or researching specific aspects of its unique history, complex politics, heavyweight economy, and vibrant culture, this is the volume with which to begin.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2015
Ideal for high school and undergraduate students, this one-stop reference explores everything that makes up modern Brazil, including its geography, politics, pop culture, social media, daily life, and much more. Home to the 2014 FIFA World Cup and the 2016 Summer Olympic Games--and one of the world's fastest-growing economies--Brazil is quickly becoming a prominent player on the international stage. This book captures the essence of the nation and its people in a unique, topically organized volume. Narrative chapters written by expert contributors examine geography, history, government and politics, economics, society, culture, and contemporary issues, making Brazil an ideal one-stop reference for high school and undergraduate students. Coverage on religion, ethnicity, marriage and sexuality, education, literature and drama, art and architecture, music and dance, food, leisure and sport, and media provides a comprehensive look at this giant South American country--the largest nation in Latin America as well as the fifth largest nation in the world. Students will be engaged by up-to-the-minute coverage of topics such as daily life, social media, and pop culture in Brazil. Sidebars and photos highlight interesting facts and people, while a glossary, a chart of holidays, and an annotated bibliography round out the work.
Mapping Diaspora: African American Roots Tourism in Brazil by
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2018
Brazil, like some countries in Africa, has become a major destination for African American tourists seeking the cultural roots of the black Atlantic diaspora. Drawing on over a decade of ethnographic research as well as textual, visual, and archival sources, Patricia de Santana Pinho investigates African American roots tourism, a complex, poignant kind of travel that provides profound personal and collective meaning for those searching for black identity and heritage. It also provides, as Pinho's interviews with Brazilian tour guides, state officials, and Afro-Brazilian activists reveal, economic and political rewards that support a structured industry. Pinho traces the origins of roots tourism to the late 1970s, when groups of black intellectuals, artists, and activists found themselves drawn especially to Bahia, the state that in previous centuries had absorbed the largest number of enslaved Africans. African Americans have become frequent travelers across what Pinho calls the "map of Africanness" that connects diasporic communities and stimulates transnational solidarities while simultaneously exposing the unevenness of the black diaspora. Roots tourism, Pinho finds, is a fertile site to examine the tensions between racial and national identities as well as the gendered dimensions of travel, particularly when women are the major roots-seekers.
Africa, Brazil, and the Construction of Trans-Atlantic Black Identities by
Call Number: Black Cultural Center / DT16.5 .A323 2008
Publication Date: 2007
The flow of ideas about race, anti-racism and black or African identity across the Atlantic is the focus of this volume of essays drawn from a very special international South-South workshop held on the island of Goree, Senegal. The 13 contributors to the book write from very different positions and perspectives, but all hold firm that, especially in the making and deconstructing of notions of race and different races, little is as local as often celebrated.
African Diaspora in the Cultures of Latin America, the Caribbean, and the United States by
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2014
Scholars of the African Americas are sometimes segregated from one another by region or period, by language, or by discipline. Bringing together essays on fashion, the visual arts, film, literature, and history, this volume shows how our understanding of the African diaspora in the Americas can be enriched by crossing disciplinary boundaries to recontextualize images, words, and thoughts as part of a much greater whole. Diaspora describes dispersion, but also the seeding, sowing, or scattering of spores that take root and grow, maturing and adapting within new environments. The examples of diasporic cultural production explored in this volume reflect on loss and dispersal, but they also constitute expansive and dynamic intellectual and artistic production, neither wholly African nor wholly American (in the hemispheric sense), whose resonance deeply inflects all of the Americas. African Diaspora in the Cultures of Latin America, the Caribbean, and the United States represents a call for multidisciplinary, collaborative, and complex approaches to the subject of the African diaspora.
Infectious Rhythm by
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2013
The essays in this book examine both the vital and violent ways in which recent associations have been made between the AIDS pandemic and African diasporic cultural practices, including religious worship, music, dance, sculpture, painting, orature, literature and film. While pointing to the lengthy and complex history of the metaphor of African contagion, Browning argues that in its politicized, life-affirming embodiment, the figure might actually teach us to respond to epidemia humanely.
Slavery and Identity: ethnicity, gender, and race in Salvador, Brazil, 1808-1888 by
Call Number: Full Text through Hathi Trust
Publication Date: 2003
Slavery and Identity narrates a peculiar sort of history of the "peculiar institution." Not about slavery per se, it looks at urban slavery in an Atlantic port city from the vantage point of enslaved Africans and their descendants, examining their self-perceptions and self-identities in a variety of situations. The book offers a new window on slave life in 19th-century Salvador, Brazil, and illustrates the difficulty of generalizing about New World slave societies. In Salvador, slaves owned slaves and even participated in the transatlantic slave trade. Africans who were removed from Africa as slaves sometimes managed to purchase their freedom, and a few entered the commerce of trade in their fellow humans. Nishida explains that though African-born people found themselves at the bottom of the social ladder, they somehow were never entirely excluded from society or even from power at a certain level.
From Africa to Brazil: culture, identity, and an Atlantic slave trade, 1600-1830 by
Call Number: HSSE - 2nd floor LC HT1129.A426 H39 2010
Publication Date: 2010
From Africa to Brazil traces the flows of enslaved Africans from identifiable points in the broad region of Africa called Upper Guinea to Amazonia, Brazil. These two regions, though separated by an ocean, were made one by a slave route. Walter Hawthorne considers why planters in Amazonia wanted African slaves, why and how those sent to Amazonia were enslaved, and what their Middle Passage experience was like. The book is also concerned with how Africans in diaspora shaped labor regimes, determined the nature of their family lives, and crafted religious beliefs that were similar to those they had known before enslavement. This study makes several broad contributions. It presents the only book-length examination of African slavery in Amazonia and identifies with precision the locations in Africa from where members of a large diaspora in the Americas hailed.
Brazilian-African Diaspora in Ghana: The Tabom, Slavery, Dissonance of Memory, Identity, and Locating Home by
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2016
Brazilian-African Diaspora in Ghana is a fresh approach, challenging both pre-existing and established notions of the African Diaspora by engaging new regions, conceptualizations, and articulations that move the field forward. This book examines the untold story of freed slaves from Brazil who thrived socially, culturally, and economically despite the challenges they encountered after they settled in Ghana. Kwame Essien goes beyond the one-dimensional approach that only focuses on British abolitionists' funding of freed slaves' resettlements in Africa. The new interpretation of reverse migrations examines the paradox of freedom in discussing how emancipated Brazilian-Africans came under threat from British colonial officials who introduced stringent land ordinances that deprived the freed Brazilian- Africans from owning land, particularly "Brazilian land." Essien considers anew contention between the returnees and other entities that were simultaneously vying for control over social, political, commercial, and religious spaces in Accra and tackles the fluidity of memory and how it continues to shape Ghana's history. The ongoing search for lost connections with the support of the Brazilian government--inspiring multiple generations of Tabom (offspring of the returnees) to travel across the Atlantic and back, especially in the last decade--illustrates the unending nature of the transatlantic diaspora journey and its impacts.
Recreating Africa: Culture, Kinship, and Religion in the African-Portuguese World, 1441-1770 by
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2003
Exploring the cultural lives of African slaves in the early colonial Portuguese world, with an emphasis on the more than one million Central Africans who survived the journey to Brazil, James Sweet lifts a curtain on their lives as Africans rather than as incipient Brazilians. Focusing first on the cultures of Central Africa from which the slaves came--Ndembu, Imbangala, Kongo, and others--Sweet identifies specific cultural rites and beliefs that survived their transplantation to the African-Portuguese diaspora, arguing that they did not give way to immediate creolization in the New World but remained distinctly African for some time. Slaves transferred many cultural practices from their homelands to Brazil, including kinship structures, divination rituals, judicial ordeals, ritual burials, dietary restrictions, and secret societies.