Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Current Index to Statistics
The Current Index to Statistics indexes the statistical literature found in 160 "core journals" . In addition the CIS indexes selected articles from around 1,200 related journals and from around 11,000 books. It covers the years 1975 to the present. Once you have logged into the CIS webpage, click on “institutional server” in order to submit a query.
MathSciNet is an electronic publication offering access to a database of reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature. Here one can find references to articles on probability, stochastic processes, combinatorics, etc. It contains over 2 million items and over 1 million direct links to original articles. It is an electronic version of Mathematical Reviews which began publication in 1940. It uses the Mathematics Subject Classification to categorize materials by subject. The database can be searched by author, title, MSC subject category, review text, etc. To find published sources on a topic, one can either use the MSC subject categories or search key words in the title and review text. The review is a paragraph summary of the source, but not all sources have reviews or summaries.
Compendex is a database for the engineering sciences. It is an extremely large database and offers many options for controlling and narrowing the search for bibliographic information. It is particularly useful for applied mathematics and statistics.which were published in engineering journals.
ACM Guide to Online Computing Literature
The ACM Guide is a point of access to the computer science literature. It includes full text for all Association of Computing Machinery [ACM] Publications. Computing Reviews is also accessed through this portal. CR gives access to other journals and books.
ERIC (EBSCO interface) ERIC is the database giving access to literature in the field of education. This database should be used for statistics and mathematics education. Many of the journal articles and Eric Documents accessed in ERIC cannot be found in Current Index to Statistics.
Literature on Applications
Preprints and Technical Reports
Front for the Mathematics ArXiv
The Front for the Mathematics ArXiv has preprints not only for mathematics, but also includes statistics, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, behavioral science, etc.
Virtual Technical Reports Center
This is an excellent source for technical reports. It provides links to hundreds of agencies, both in the United States and abroad, which produce in-house technical literature. One good example would be the CERN archives.