Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
International Encyclopedia of Statistical Science
The International Encyclopedia of Statistical Science contains over 600 entries dealing with probability and statistics. Most entries are around two pages long. The Encyclopedia also has a search feature.
Encyclopedia of Statistical Sciences
The Encyclopedia of Statistical Sciences is a comprehensive 12 volume encyclopedia with fairly lengthy entries. It is located on the Reference Shelves in the Mathematics Library. Call number: 519.5 En19
The Princeton Companion to Mathematics
The Princeton Companion to Mathematics gives brief but thorough definitions for many basic concepts in mathematics and statistics.
Eric Weisstein's World of Mathematics
The beauty of Weisstein’s World of Mathematics is the action graphics used to illustrate mathematical and statistical concepts. See for instance the changes in the graph for a finite state discrete time markov chain as the clock ticks.
Complete Dictionary of Scientific Biography
The Complete Dictionary of Scientific Biography gives biographical information on important scientists from antiquity to the present. It also gives bibliographical references to more extensive treatments for these scientists.
Handbooks and Texts
CRCnetBase provides access to around 60 CRC handbooks in statistics. One obtains a list of these by clicking on the “statistics” tab.
Wiley Online Library (Mathematics)
The Wiley Online Library provides access to many e-texts in statistics. There is a list on the right of the webpage which breaks the texts into about 35 subfields. Only those titles showing an icon of an open padlock are available to the reader.
Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM) e-books
Full-text of over 400 e-books. Although most of the books deal with applied mathematics, books on applied probability and statistics are also listed. The web site can be confusing. When you click on a title and chapter, you get only an excerpt for that chapter. To get the full e-text it is necessary to click on the PDF symbol.