Proquest Statistical InsightThis database includes statistical information produced by U.S. Federal agencies, States, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations.
ScopusScopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed research literature. With over 19,000 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers, Scopus supports research needs in the scientific, technical, medical, social sciences, and the arts and humanities.
This link opens in a new window
Web of Science: All DatabasesThis database allows you to search across multiple databases simultaneously using a common set of search fields for the most comprehensive results, including: Web of Science Core Collection, BIOSIS Citation Index, BIOSIS Previews, CABI: CAB Abstracts and Global Health, Current Contents Connect, Data Citation Index, Derwent Innovations Index, FSTA-the food science resource, KCI-Korean Journal Database, MEDLINE, SciELO Citation Index, and Zoological Record.
Strategies for Empirical Research in Writing by Mary Sue MacNealy
Call Number: 808.042072 M233s 1999
Publication Date: 1998-06-01
Strategies for Empirical Research in Writing is a particularly accessible approach to both qualitative and quantitative empirical research methods, helping novices appreciate the value of empirical research in writing while easing their fears about the research process. This comprehensive book covers research methods ranging from traditional experiments to newer practices such as focus groups, using graphics and real-life examples to clarify concepts. Readers do not need a scientific background to understand the issues involved, and they will find this book non-threatening. Though Strategies is friendly and even humorous in tone, it takes research in writing seriously, advocating rigorous design and implementation of empirical research projects to establish credible findings. This book introduces readers to methods and strategies for research and provides them with enough knowledge to become discerning, confident consumers of research in writing. Topics covered include: library research, empirical methodology, quantitative research, experimental research, surveys, focus groups, ethnographies, and much more. Anyone (novice or guru) who needs to perform statistically valid research.
* Designed for students who will be writing research proposals, reports, theses, and dissertations. * The 15 chapters cover 191 guidelines for effective scientific writing. The guidelines are fully illustrated with easy-to-follow examples. * The guidelines describe the types of information that should be included, how this information should be expressed, and where various types of information should be placed within a research report. * End-of-chapter questions help students master the writing process.