Research Guides: Psychological Sciences: Major Research Sources: Finding Books & Journals

Finding Books

Searching Books & Media

To find books available from the Purdue Libraries, visit the Purdue Libraries home page at http://www.lib.purdue.edu/.

Select "Books & Media" from the drop down.

Search Tips

If you would like more search options such as pull-down menus, click on the "Advanced Search" link located under the "Search" button.
If you are looking for books, make sure that the "Search Scope" menu is set to "Books, Media..."
After searching, results may be sorted by using options on the left border of the page.

Once you have results for your search, select "Find in Print" or "Find Online." "Find in Print" will display physical location and call number so that you can retrieve the book. Most of the Psychology books are housed in the Humanities, Social Science and Education Library (HSSE) in Stewart Center. E-books are available in full text using the "Find Online" option.

Finding Specific Journals

Searching for Journals

To find a specific electronic journal, click on the Online Journals link from the Purdue Libraries home page and type in the title of the journal.

Search Tips

To find the print version of a journal, use the "Books and Media" tab on the main Libraries webpage, search for the title of the journal, and then, if necessary, use the left-margin "Refine my Results" options to view only the items that are journals.

Any journal article that we do not have in print or electronic format may be requested through ILL (Interlibrary Loan).

CogNet (MIT) : E-Books and More

CogNet (MIT)
MIT CogNet provides an electronic collection of books, journals, and conference proceedings covering brain and cognitive science research, and provides searchable access to ten major reference works published by the MIT Press as well as 530 MIT Press books in full-text PDF (also the full text of six MIT Press journals and abstracts from more than 25 journals from other publishers).