Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Research Article Sources
Web of Science: All Databases
Easily search across all subscribed products simultaneously using a common set of search fields for the most comprehensive results Including: Web of Science Core Collection, BIOSIS Citation Index, BIOSIS Previews, CAB eBooks Archive, CABI, CAB Abstracts and Global Health, Current Contents Connect, Data Citation Index, Derwent Innovations Index, FSTA-the food science resource, KCI-Korean Journal Database, MEDLINE, SciELO Citation Index, and Zoological Record.
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed research literature. With over 19,000 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers, Scopus supports research needs in the scientific, technical, medical, social sciences, and the arts and humanities.
Searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. It includes a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
Subject-Specific Article Sources
ABI Inform Collection
Featuring over 3,000 full-text journals, 25,000 Dissertations, 14,000 SSRN working papers, key newspapers such as The Wall Street Journal and The Financial Times, as well as country-and industry-focused reports and data. Coverage is 1984 to current.
Business Source Complete
Indexes and abstracts articles in business and management, marketing, MIS, accounting, finance, international business, and related disciplines. Provides indexing to more than 3,800 publications, including nearly 1,600+ peer-reviewed journals in business fields. Full text of over 3,000 periodicals including 1,000+ peer-reviewed journals.
Produced by the American Economic Association, EconLit is the primary research tool in economics: economic development, forecasting, and history; fiscal and monetary theory; business and public finance; international, health care, regional and urban economics, and more. It provides bibliographic citations, with selected abstracts, of journal articles, books, dissertations and working papers, articles in collective works, conference proceedings, collected essay volumes and full text book reviews.
Additional Document Sources
National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) Working Papers
Private, non-profit organization conducting economic research and distributing findings of this research to academics, policymakers, and business professionals.
Dissertations and Theses
With more than 2 million entries, PQD&T is the single, central, authoritative resource for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses.
8/6/2020 NOTE: Database is currently returning error messages when searching in the main search box. ProQuest expects to have this problem fixed with an update near the end of the month. We do not have a specific date we can provide yet.
WORKAROUND AVAILABLE: You can work around this issue by searching each sub-database (local, global) separately.
Research Data Sources
Balance of Payment Statistics
The balance of payments is a statistical statement that summarizes transactions between residents and nonresidents during a period. It consists of the goods and services account, the primary income account, the secondary income account, the capital account, and the financial account.
Bank Regulatory Databases (Wharton)
The Bank Regulatory Databases provide accounting data for Bank Holding Companies, Commercial Banks, Savings Banks, and Savings and Loans Institutions. The source of the data comes from the required regulatory forms filled for supervising purposes.
The Bloomberg Professional® service is the most powerful and flexible platform for financial professionals who need real-time data, news and analytics to make smarter, faster, more informed business decisions.
CBOE VIX (Wharton)
The CBOE (Chicago Board Options Exchange) Volatility Index (VIX) is a key measure of market expectations of near-term volatility conveyed by S&P 500 stock index option prices. The VIX measures the market's expectation of 30-day volatility. The VIX is based on S&P 500 index option prices and incorporates information from the volatility skew by using a wider range of strike prices rather than just at-the-money series.
The Center for Research in Security Prices maintains the most comprehensive collection of security price, return, and volume data for the NYSE, AMEX and NADSAQ stock markets. Additional CRSP files provide stock indices, beta- and cap-based portfolio, treasury bond and risk-free rates, and mutual fund databases.
CRSP also provides CRSP/COMPUSTAT Merged Database, a database that simplifies matching COMPUSTAT financial data to the CRSP security price data.
Note: Must register for a WRDS account
Compustat Capital IQ
COMPUSTAT (from Standard & Poor\'s) provides more than 300 annual and 100 quarterly Income Statement, Balance Sheet, Statement of Cash Flows, and supplemental data items on more than 24,000 publicly held companies.
Note: Must register for a WRDS account.
Thomson Reuters Datastream Professional is a powerful tool that integrates economic research and strategy with cross asset analysis to seamlessly bring together top down and bottom up in one single, integrated application.
Direction of Trade Statistics
Statistical tables on the value of "imports from" and "exports to" over 150 countries.
Direct Marketing Educational Foundation: Four individual data sets, each containing customer buying history for about 100,000 customers of nationally known catalog and non-profit database marketing businesses are available through DMEF to approved academic researchers for use within academic situations.
Dow Jones (Wharton)
The Dow Jones Averages are comprised of The Daily and Monthly Dow Jones Composite (DJA), The Dow Jones Industrial (DJI), The Dow Jones Transportation (DJT), The Dow Jones Utility (DJU), the Dow 10, and The Dow 5
Economic data sets
FactSet Ownership (Wharton)
FactSet Ownership: Considered the market standard, FactSet Ownership provides global institutional, mutual fund, stakeholder, and float-related share ownership information. The FactSet Ownership database extends the Lionshares Ownership database which was acquired by FactSet in 2000.
FAMA French (Wharton)
The Fama-French Portfolios are constructed from the intersections of two portfolios formed on size, as measured by market equity (ME), and three portfolios using, as proxy for value, the ratio of book equity to market equity (BE/ME). Returns from these portfolios are used to construct the Fama-French Factors.
This is a multilingual (English, French and Spanish) database currently containing over one million time-series records covering international statistics in areas including production, trade, land use, fertilizer and irrigation, fisheries and population. The time coverage of the data series sometimes varies, but is predominantly 40-50 years old. Data is downloadable. Primary Use: Searching and downloading time series data of international food and commodity information.
Federal Reserve Bank Reports (Wharton)
The Federal Reserve Bank Reports contains three databases collected from Federal Reserve Banks. Two of them (Foreign Exchanges and Interest Rates) come from reports published for the Federal Reserve Board (H.10 and H.15 reports). The other one contains the Coincident State Indexes from the Federal Reserve Bank of Philadelphia.
Global Development Finance
International capital flows
Google Public Data Explorer
A lot of data we subscribe to elsewhere- just prettier
IRI-Point of Sale Data (Wharton)
Information Resources, Inc. (IRI) is the leader in providing point-of-sale information from more than 11,300 grocery stores, as well as some 7,500 drug stores.
Mergers and Acquisitions - (Formerly SDC Platinum, Now Thomson One - IE only)
Mergers & Acquisitions Data is avalable by mousing over Screening & Analytics at the top of the screen then selecting Data and League Tables then selecting M&A then Quick Search or Advanced Search.
Must be used with Internet Explorer only.
The NASDAQ Trade And Quote database provides intraday trades and quotes for all NASDAQ stocks. Includes 1999-2005.
National Agricultural Statistics Service (NASS)
Reports covering virtually every aspect of U.S. agriculture. Production and supplies of food and fiber, prices paid and received by farmers, farm labor and wages, farm finances, chemical use, and changes in the demographics of U.S. producers, etc.
Penn World Tables (Wharton)
The Penn World Tables provides national income accounts-type of variables converted to international prices. The homogenization of national accounts to a common numeraire allows valid comparisons of income among countries.
Pew Internet Survey- Datasets
Pew Research Center research internet use, especially among younger Americans.
Includes reports on online data. mobile shopping, health, etc
Proquest Statistical Insight
Provides access to statistical information produced by U.S. Federal agencies, state governments, private organizations, and major international governmental organizations. Search between approximately 200,000 to 500,000 tables with advanced Search Tables functionality.
Coverage includes over 50 years.
S&P Capital IQ (login required)
Elements of S&P including Global Credit Portal and MarketScope Advisor, enterprise solutions such as S&P Securities Evaluations and Compustat, research offerings including Leveraged Commentary & Data, Global Markets Intelligence, and company and fund research.
TAQ (Trade and Quote) (Wharton)
Trade and Quote: Contains intraday transactions data (trades and quotes) for all securities listed on the New York Stock Exchange (NYSE), American Stock Exchange (AMEX), as well as Nasdaq National Market System (NMS) and SmallCap issues.
TRACE consolidates transaction data for all eligible corporate bonds - investment grade, high yield and convertible debt. As a result, individual investors and market professionals can access information on 100 percent of OTC activity representing over 99 percent of total U.S. corporate bond market activity in over 30,000 securities.