Searching the Literature (journal articles, patents, proceedings, etc.)
Chemical Abstracts (SciFinder)SciFinder Scholar is a means of accessing the Chemical Abstracts database using a powerful and intuitive search engine to find references to articles easily. Search for chemical data using a molecular formula, chemical name, chemical structure, reaction components, author name, or topic of interest.
Science Citation Index ExpandedProvides bibliographic and citation information needed to find research data, analyze trends and journals, and share findings. Data from over 8,500 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals across 150 disciplines.
ScopusScopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed research literature. With over 19,000 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers, Scopus supports research needs in the scientific, technical, medical, social sciences, and the arts and humanities.
Chemical Property/Physical Data and Materials Selection
ASM Materials Information OnlineASM Materials Information consists of four main content areas: * ASM Handbooks Online, featuring the complete content of twenty ASM Handbook volumes plus two ASM Desk Editions. * ASM Alloy Center Online, featuring ASM property data, performance charts, and processing guidelines for specific metals and alloys. * ASM Micrograph Center Online, with over 2500 micrographs for industrially important alloys. * ASM Failure Analysis Center Online, with over 1000 case histories and authoritative handbook information on failure mechanisms and analysis methods.
CES EduPackCES EduPack provides a comprehensive database of materials and process information, powerful materials software tools, and a range of supporting textbooks, lectures, projects, and exercises.
KnovelKnovel provides numerical and tabular data from leading engineering and science resources, including handbooks and encyclopedias. Some tables are interactively searchable.
Note: Until December 2020, Purdue users have access to the Engineering Management & Leadership collection in Knovel, which includes books and other resources on professional ethics, fundamentals of business finance and accounting, techniques for business analysis, development of leadership skills, personnel management, and tips on written and spoken presentations that get results. This collection is only available until December 2020.
ASM Alloy Phase Diagrams Center OnlineThe ASM Alloy Phase Diagrams Center allows users to explore, search and view more than 11,000 binary and ternary phase diagrams and associated phase data for more than 2400 systems from their Web browsers.
Encyclopedia of Nanoscience and NanotechnologyThis reference identifies current challenges and development paths sure to influence fields ranging from materials and surface science, chemistry, and biomedicine to computer technology, information processing, and mechanical, optical, and electrical engineering examining the design, application, and utilization of devices, techniques, and technologies critical to research at atomic, molecular, and macromolecular levels ranging from 1100 nanometers.