Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Purdue University Purdue Logo Purdue Libraries

Media Collection

This is a quick guide to the media collection available at the Purdue Libraries.

Media Contact

Profile Photo
Ann O'Donnell
Contact:
Humanities, Social Science, and Education (HSSE) Library
765-494-9844
Social: Twitter Page

Physical Media Collection

The Purdue Libraries physical media collection is located in the Humanities, Social Science, and Education Library (HSSE) on the second floor. It houses over 8,000 items of DVDs, VHS tapes, CD ROMs, and other items. To see a location map, click the grey  HSSE Library Viewing Areas on the left side this page. 

To discover how to search for media in the Libraries' catalog, click the grey "Finding Media" tab.

Media Viewing Spaces in HSSE

In addition to the ITaP computers on the first floor of the HSSE Library (all of which can play DVDs), we have several locations on the second floor for individuals and groups to view media items.

First and second floor media viewing spaces:

  • Group Study room 236 - contains a media cart with a region free DVD player and VHS player, fits groups of up to eight people, available by reservation: http://calendar.lib.purdue.edu/
  • Group Study room 237- contains a media cart with a region free DVD player and VHS player; fits groups of up to five people
  • Media Viewing Carrel 3- located right outside of room 242; a double sided carrel desk; each side contains a monitor with an embedded DVD player; for individual use
  • Media Viewing Carrel 4- located right outside of room 242; a double sided carrel desk; each side contains a monitor with an embedded DVD player; for individual use

 

Be on the lookout for updates regarding increases to our media viewing space.  

Digital Streaming Collections

Purdue Libraries provides digital streaming collections, including  Kanopy and Ambrose Digital. Follow the link below for more information and access to searchable catalogs of digital streaming titles.

Displaying Media in Classes--Technical Concerns

If you are planning to show a video in the classroom, there are several possible complications that can arise due to the copyright protection software some manufacturers and service providers use.  The best way to help avoid possible complications is to test all media in the classroom before using it. 

For more information, please click on the link below:

If you need further assistance, please contact itap@purdue.edu or call 49-44000.