Research Guides: Management Strategy Courses: Home

Industry & Market Research Databases

ABI/Inform Collection
An all-purpose, vast business database with thousands of full-text academic journals and mainstream publications, dissertations, and working papers, including sources like The Economist, Financial Times, and Wall Street Journal.
BCC Research
Market research reports: primarily STEM (science, technology, engineering, medicine) categories like advanced materials, chemicals, manufacturing, and pharmaceuticals.
Bizminer
Choose from two main categories. Industry Financial Profile offers financial ratios and data for industry segments with sales class filters. Industry Market Profile offers demographics, competitors, market volume, and more for the entire US, states, counties, zip codes, cities, and customizable market radius.
Business Market Research Collection
Conduct company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research with information from these sources: Hoover's Company Profiles - covering 40,000 global public and non-public companies including financials, competitors, officers, and more; OxResearch - succinct articles covering regional economic and political developments of significance; US and Worldwide Industry & Market Reports from Barnes Reports - covering global industries in depth; and Snapshots - market research overviews on 40+ industries and 40 countries.

Coverage: 1986 - current
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
An all-purpose, vast business database with thousands of full-text academic journals and mainstream publications. Also includes thousands of case studies, SWOT analyses, industry reports, and a selection of brief company profiles.
D&B Hoovers
Aggregates company profiles, business news, and industry reports.
Insider Intelligence This link opens in a new window
Market research reports and news articles: primarily advertising, marketing, financial services, and technology with particularly strong coverage of overlap topics like ecommerce, digital marketing, digital payments, mobile banking, etc.
Factiva
Full-text access to top national and international newspapers including the Wall Street Journal, newswires, business journals, and a limited number of market research reports. Updated daily.
Frost and Sullivan
Market research reports: a wide range of categories like aerospace and defense, automotive and transportation, consumer products, healthcare, energy and power systems, and measurement and instrumentation.
Gale Business: Entrepreneurship
A portal for entrepreneurs containing business plans, entrepreneurial articles, small business forms and related information. Includes small business encyclopedias.
IBISWorld Industry Reports
Data-driven reports on industries. Each report is approximately 30-40 pages in length, providing an authoritative overview of trends, competitive forces, statistics, top companies, and more.
Key Business Ratios (D&B)
Examine industry benchmarks compiled from D&B's database of public and private companies, featuring 14 key business ratios. Choose a one-year or three-year set of ratios for public and private companies in 800 lines of business.
MarketResearch.com Academic
Market research reports: a wide range of categories like food and beverage, technology and media, heavy industry, life science, consumer goods, and service industries.
Mergent Online
Company financial statements, ratios, and other quantitative data. Other information includes but is not limited to SEC filings, analyst reports, executive/board biographies and compensation details, and historical daily stock pricing back to 1925.
Mintel
Market research reports and consumer data: primarily B2C (business-to-consumer) categories like food and drinks, travel, beauty and personal care, pets, household goods, and retail and apparel.
MRI-Simmons Catalyst
Demographic, lifestyle, product and brand usage, and advertising media preferences reported by a sample of over 25,000 US consumers.
NexisUni This link opens in a new window
Features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis -- including US Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
PAIS International
Bibliographic index with abstracts covering issues in the public debate through selective coverage of a wide variety of international sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more.

Coverage 1972-present.
Passport
Aggregates industry reports, economic information, and consumer information by region and country with global coverage.
Plunkett Research
Aggregates industry reports, company profiles, and job-seeker resources.
PrivCo
A premier source for business and financial data on over 300,000 major, non-publicly traded corporations, including family owned, private equity owned, venture backed, and international unlisted companies.
Note: This resource requires you to create a user account.
Data Axle Reference Solutions
Basic directory data including 93 million US businesses, 379 million historical US businesses, and 261 million individual US consumers. Use it to build lists like these examples: all coffee shops in Indianapolis, all semiconductor machinery manufacturers in California and Indiana, or consumers in West Lafayette interested in cooking / wine with a household income between $125,000-$200,000.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications, incorporating 75 business news magazines, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
S&P Capital IQ This link opens in a new window
A top resource for company financials/valuations. Includes information on equities, credit ratings, competitors, transactions, and more. Explore pricing across markets including indices, commodities, and more. Use hundreds of data points to generate lists of companies, markets, or executives. Includes an optional Excel plug-in.
Note: This resource requires you to create a user account.
SimplyAnalytics
Web-based mapping, analytics and data visualization of demographic variables, psychographic variables, and business locations. Map any area down to the US census block level. Add map data data variables and create custom reports. Includes MRI-SimmonsLOCAL and EASI customer data.
ThomasNet: Thomas Register of American Manufacturers This link opens in a new window
From the dominant big green books of the Thomas Register to today, when the Thomas Network at Thomasnet.com is the go-to resource for product sourcing and supplier selection, our singular focus has been on helping to fuel the success of industry.
Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS)
Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) was developed by the Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania for data management and research. Provides single-point access to over 350 terabytes of data across multiple disciplines, including Finance, Marketing, and Economics.

Purdue's WRDS instance includes access to the following databases and datasets: Bank Regulatory BoardEx Academic Research Data; CBOE Indexes; Compustat Capital IQ; Contributed Data; CRSP; DMEF Academic Data; Dow Jones ; FactSet; FAMA French & Liquidity Factors; IBES; IRI; Macro Finance Society; MFLINKS; MSRB; Nastraq; OTC Markets; Penn World Tables; Peters & Taylor Total Q; PHLX; Research Quotient; SAS Visual Analytics; SEC Order Execution; TAQ; Thomoson Reuters; TRACE; Zacks

*Undergraduate access may be approved on a case by case basis, but cannot be guaranteed.

Note: This resource requires you to create a user account

Management Strategy Courses

Librarian

Librarian

Public, Third Party Patent Databases

Additional Resources

Related Guides

Industry & Market Research Databases

Industries/Market Research Ecosystem Concept Map