Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts: This index provides access to citations and abstracts of books and book chapters, dissertations, and articles culled from over 1300 scholarly journals in the fields of linguistic research, language research, and research in the areas of speech, hearing, and language pathology. Coverage is 1973 to present.
- Anthropological Index Online: An index to the journal holdings of the Royal Anthropological Institute; the world's longest-established scholarly association dedicated to the furtherance of anthropology.
- FRANCIS (International Humanities and Social Studies): This database covers a wide range of multilingual, multidisciplinary information in the humanities, social sciences, including languages and literatures. Indexed within the database is a wide range of materials found in European journals. Updated monthly, 1984 to the present.
- HRAF~ eHRAF Collection of Ethnography: This database published annually by Human Relations Area Files (HRAF), is a full-text, fully-indexed cultural database. It focuses on mostly pre-industrial cultures from around the world, and on North American immigrant groups. eHRAF differs from and other databases because the documents (e.g. books, journal articles, dissertations) are indexed at the paragraph-level with over 700 subject codes from the Outline of Cultural Materials (OCM).
- MEDLINE: This database covers the international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care. Indexes over 3,700 journals.
- MLA International Bibliography: International coverage of the modern languages and literatures, including film and folklore. Indexes jounal articles, and book chapters in all languages, and N. American dissertations. Coverage 1963 to Present.
- OmniFile Full Text Mega: (Combines Social Sciences Abstracts and Humanities Abstracts with other databases) This database provides cover-to-cover indexing for 492 key international English language periodicals in the Social Sciences and 500 English language periodicals in the Humanities. Material include articles, review articles, scholarly replies to the literature, interviews, obituaries, and biographies in the fields of anthropology, economics, geography, international relations, political science, psychology, sociology, archaeology and classical studies, art and photography, folklore, history, journalism and communications, language and literature, literary and political criticism, music and performing arts, philosophy, and religion and theology. It is updated weekly with coverage from 1983 to the present. Abstracting begins with material in 1994.
- PsycINFO: This database covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, neuroscience, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas. Coverage is worldwide, and includes references and abstracts to dissertations and journals (1,300 ).
- Web of Science: Web of Science includes Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index Expanded, and Social Sciences Citation Index. Collectively, these indexes cover 8,700 scholarly and technical journals completely and 13,300 selectively, in more than 230 disciplines. The Web of Science gateway allows searching the indexes singly or in combination. Features include cited reference searching, access to records related to a particular article, and number of times an article has been cited. Coverage extends back to 1977.
- AncientScripts.com: Created and maintained by Lawrence K. Lo, this is a large complex site that discusses the origin of writing around the world.
- Ethnologue: SIL International, this site offers a listing of 6,800 main languages only. For 41,000 alternate names and dialects use the site search. Ethnologue.com is a place where you can conveniently find many resources to help you with your research of the world's languages. Ethnologue.com is owned by SIL International, a service organization that works with people who speak the world's lesser-known languages. The language data you will find on this site came from the Ethnologue database.
- Community Language Collection: The University of North Carolina, Charlotte, this collection includes audio and text clips, graphics and full transcripts from 40 speakers of American dialects from New York to Georgia, with most from North Carolina. You may search by narrative theme or by birth date, ranging from 1885-1915.
- Greek Grammar on the Web: From the Katholieke Universiteit Leuven Department of Classical Studies. This site is a gateway for the study of the ancient Greek language.
- LACITO Archive Project: The goals of the Archive Project are to archive linguistic documents associating transcription and recorded speech in a format which guarantees their conservation and their availability for research and disseminate the material to the academic community. The archived materials are mainly recordings of speech in unwritten languages, with associated annotation (transcriptions, interlinear glosses, translations, etc.), including synchronization data linking the annotation segment by segment to the recordings. At present, the publicly-accessible part of the Archive contains some 63 documents in languages of Nepal, Tanzania, Comoros, French Guiana and New Caledonia. The Archive is an ongoing project of the research group "Oral Tradition: languages and civilizations" of the French National Center for Scientific Research.
- Language Museum: The Language Museum is a linguistic website which offers the samples of 2000 languages in the world. Most languages are living, and a few languages are extinct. Each sample includes 4 parts - (1) an image sample, (2) an English translation, (3) the statistics of speaking countries and populations, (4) the linguistic classification consisting of the language's family and branch. The Language Museum is constructed and maintained by Zhang Hong, a network engineer and amateur linguist in Beijing, China.
- Language Varieties: From the School of Languages, Cultures and Linguistics at the University of New England, is about forms of language that differ from the standard that is normally used in the media and taught in the schools. These forms include pidgins, creoles, regional dialects, minority dialects and indigenized varieties.
- Lexicon of Linguistics: From Utrecht institute of Linguistics, Utrecht University, comes this dictionary of linguistics terminology.
- Library Research in Anthropology: Purdue University Libraries: A library research guide containing electronic database links, traditional paper resources and internet resources created and maintained by David M. Hovde and intended for Purdue students.
- Linguistics Resources on the Internet: Links from the SIL International (formerly known as the Summer Institute of Linguistics).
- Modern Language Association Language Map: Based on data from the 2000 United States Census, this web site helps define the linguistic and cultural composition of the United States.
- Omniglot: a guide to writing systems: According to the author, Simon Ager, this website provides a guide to over 200 different alphabets, syllabaries and other writing systems, including a few you will find nowhere else. It also contains details of many of the languages written with those writing systems and links to a wide range of language-related resources, such as fonts, online dictionaries and online language courses.
- Rosetta Project: A growing collection of descriptions, texts, analytic materials and audio files for 1,000 languages from the Stanford University Library. The Rosetta Project is a global collaboration of language specialists and native speakers working to develop a contemporary version of the historic Rosetta Stone.
- Speech Accent Archive: examines the accented speech of speakers from many different language backgrounds reading the same sample paragraph. Currently, we have obtained 264 speech samples.
- Where Do Languages Come From?: An issue of the online magazine Exporatorium, this site offers information on the origin of languages. The magazine is a publication of San Francisco's Exploratorium: the museum of science, art and human perception.
- Yamada Language Guides: are the definitive guide to language resources on the World Wide Web. In this site you will find pointers to a font archive, inks to annotated list of language-related news groups, and inks to language-related mailing lists. It also contains information on over 140 languages and 112 for 40 languages. The site is maintained by the Yamada Language Center of the University of Oregon.
- Your Dictionary.com: This site offers more than 1800 dictionaries from more than 250 languages.