Research Guides: Drug Information: Natural Medicine Resources

Natural Medicines

Natural Medicines This link opens in a new window
Provides information about dietary supplements, natural medicines, and complementary alternative and integrative therapies.

Review of Natural Products

UpToDate Lexidrug contains Natural Products Index

UpToDate Lexidrug
Provides full text access to point-of-care information from 13 clinical databases and 4 clinical applications. Databases include Lexi-Drugs, Pediatric Lexi-Drugs, and Geriatric Lexi-Drugs as well as Clinician's Guides to Diagnosis, Internal Medicine and Laboratory Medicine. Clinical Applications include drug interactions, tablet & capsule identification, medical calculations and patient advisory leaflets.

National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NCCIH)

National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NCCIH)
The National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NCCIH) is the Federal Government’s lead agency for scientific research on the diverse medical and health care systems, practices, and products that are not generally considered part of conventional medicine.

Herbal Reference Books at Purdue

The Library of Engineering & Science has a core collection of herbal reference works, listed below.

Search terms for Purdue Catalog - Herbal Medicine

Search terms include:

Herbs, therapeutic use
Medicine, herbal
Plants, medicinal

and individual substances such as:

Echinacea
Ginseng
Tea

Search the Books and Media category of the Purdue Libraries catalog for the book titles above or for other titles using the search terms in this box.

MeSH terms for herbal medicine in PubMed

PubMed is an important access point for primary literature about herbal medicines. Use the MeSH headings below as a starting point for a PubMed search.

MeSH terms for herbal medicines include:

Complementary therapies
Drugs, Chinese herbal
Herbal medicines
Herb-drug interactions
Pharmacognosy

and individual substance names such as:

Black cohosh
Echinacea
Garlic
Gingko biloba
Green Tea
Melatonin
St. John's wort

You can access PubMed from the database list on the Purdue Libraries' home page, or click on the link below. Either path will give you access to full text articles from Purdue's collection as well as free articles available on PubMed.

PubMed PubMed provides access to citations from biomedical literature. LinkOut provides access to full-text articles at journal Web sites and other related Web resources. PubMed also provides access and links to the other Entrez molecular biology resources.