Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Purdue University Purdue Logo Purdue Libraries

Computer Science: Home

A guide to Purdue library resources for research in Computer Science

Featured Resources

Lecture Notes in Computer Science (LNCS)

More than 6,500 volumes of collected conference proceedings, books, surveys, and tutorials representing scholarship in Computer Science since 1973.

IEEE Xplore

More than 2 million scholarly papers, standards, and abstracts representing all IEEE journal and conference publications. Full text is available online for all titles since 1998 and back to the first volume for selected titles.

ACM Portal

The ACM Digital Library and its companion Guide to Computing Literature include more than 300,000 full text articles representing all publications from the Association of Computing Machinery, including Communications of the ACM.

Safari Books Online

Thousands of popular and professional books from O'Reilly and other technology publishers available as e-books.

Foundations and Trends

Over 100 e-books that provide a foundation and current research in databases, information retreival, CGT, machine learning, signal processing, theoretical computer science, HCI, and web science.

More Computer Science resources!

Highlights

ACM and Purdue University have signed a three-year Open Access (OA) agreement under the ACM OPEN program in Feb. 2021.

Under this agreement, all new ACM research articles published by Purdue corresponding authors will be made OA in perpetuity in the ACM Digital Library (dl.acm.org) at no cost to authors, with default CC-BY author rights for article reuse.  Additionally, all accepted new ACM research articles from any Purdue author (corresponding or not) will be automatically deposited into Purdue’s institutional repository.

The agreement is in effect from January 1, 2021 through December 31, 2023. 

More information is available in the news post here and the libguide of Open Acess

Welcome

As the librarian for Computer Science, I collaborate and consult with Purdue faculty and students affiliated with the department. I teach classes and workshops and provide one-on-one research consultations in-person and via email. I also purchase new books, journals, multimedia, and other online research sources for the department as well as conduct my own research in digital libraries.

Browse this library guide to learn about library collections and other scholarly resources that are relevant for research in Computer Science. Contact me if you need help researching your particular topic.

Locating information

Library collections are available in print and electronically. Print collections relevant to Computer Science can be found in the Mathematical Sciences Library and the Siegesmund Engineering Library.

You can search for both print and electronic journals, conferences, and books by title using the catalog from the Libraries' main web page. Resulting records will provide a link or physical location for of holdings.

To search for articles within journals and papers within conference proceedings, you need to use a bibliographic search engine such as Google Scholar or DBLP for general use or an electronic resource like IEEE Xplore or ACM Portal that are the best tools for specialized, in-depth research.

Click the E-Resources tab at the top of this guide for suggested resources in Computer Science or you can browse our full list of electronic resources.

Access From Off-Campus

Our subscriptions to most electronic resources are limited to campus IP addresses. To access a resource from off-campus, be sure to use the links provided in our catalog, which are routed through a proxy server. After logging in with your career account and password, you should be able to access the resource.

We don't have it?

If we don't have access to the journal or book you need for your research, you can request it using Interlibrary Loan or email me to suggest that we purchase it. In most cases, you'll get it within a few days and without charge.

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Gang Shao
he/him/his
Data Science
Contact:
Stewart Center174C
(765) 49-61794
Website

Questions?