Research Guides: COM 602: Seminar In Global Strategic Communication: Home

Search Google Scholar

Use Google Scholar to find research articles, especially scholarly journal articles, from a wide variety of disciplines. If you're off-campus, click here for info on how to link to full-text (full articles) online through Purdue Libraries.

Creating an Effective Search Strategy

Check out this 3-minute video for some tips for better searching.

Search Tip: Accessing Full-Text Using the "Find It At Purdue" Links

Finding Journal Articles

Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Communication & Mass Media Complete provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource of unprecedented scope and depth encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline. CMMC offers cover-to-cover (“core”) indexing and abstracts for more than 570 journals, and selected (“priority”) coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of more than 770 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for over 450 journals.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An all-purpose, vast business database with thousands of full-text academic journals and mainstream publications. Also includes thousands of case studies, SWOT analyses, industry reports, and a selection of brief company profiles.
ABI/Inform Collection
- This link opens in a new window
An all-purpose, vast business database with thousands of full-text academic journals and mainstream publications, dissertations, and working papers, including sources like The Economist, Financial Times, and Wall Street Journal.

Finding News

PressReader
Provides instant online access to today's newspapers from around the world in full-color, full-page format. The ever-expanding collection currently includes more than 4,000 U.S. and international titles—from 100 countries in 60 languages.

Coverage: Current editions with up to a 60-day backfile
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database provides selected full text coverage for 245 newspapers, newswires and other sources. This collection includes cover-to-cover full text for The Christian Science Monitor and The Los Angeles Times as well as selected full text from hundreds of regional newspapers. International newspaper coverage includes cover-to-cover full text for The Times (London), The Toronto Star, The Australian, and more. Newswire coverage includes AP Online (Associated Press), Asia Pulse, Canadian Press Wire, World Stream Newswires and more.

AP Press Releases
Press releases from the Associated Press. 2011-2014 releases are available on the site.
Europa Press Release Database
"...all the Press Releases of the European Commission. It also contains press releases of some of the other European institutions including the Council of the European Union."

Finding Country & Region Profiles

CIA WorldFactbook
Information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
Global Edge - Country Insights
Provides access to a variety of country reports, statistics, and news articles. Site also offers Country comparisons.
Doing Business In...
Provides downloaded booklets, by country, designed to give general information to those contemplating doing business in other countries.
LexMundi - Guides to Doing Business In...
Provides downloadable overviews of the legal and business environments in more than 100 jurisdictions worldwide.
Doing Business (Measuring Business Regulations)
Provides objective measures of business regulations for local firms in 189 economies and selected cities at the subnational level.

Finding Company & Industry Reports

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An all-purpose, vast business database with thousands of full-text academic journals and mainstream publications. Also includes thousands of case studies, SWOT analyses, industry reports, and a selection of brief company profiles.

MarketLine Advantage
Provides company and industry information, statistical information on countries, and market data analytics.

Plunkett Research
- This link opens in a new window
Aggregates industry reports, company profiles, and job-seeker resources.

Writing & Citing Tips

APA FAQ
Answers to general and specific questions about APA style, from the APA website.
APA Style Guide
from Purdue's OWL.