Research Guides: Civil Engineering: Finding Articles

Find Specific Online Journals

Looking for a specific journal? We probably have it in digital format. Best method is to use the Online Journals list.

Pay attention to the date coverage information –

some are only for a certain period of time,
some journals are NOT available (or EMBARGOED) for the first 6 to 12 months.

Alternately use the Library catalog to search for journals (both print and ejournals) owned by the Purdue Libraries

Print journals are located at different LIBRARIES on campus according to their subject area.
Many older issues are located in the Hicks Repository.
Look for the name of the LIBRARY or HICKS before the call number under the "Find Print" button.

If the Library doesn't own the journal article, request it via Interlibrary Loan.

Databases for Civil Engineering

The following databases are particularly useful to Civil Engineers. For a complete list of all Engineering database holdings, visit the A-Z List of Databases and filter by Engineering & Technology using the Subject drop-down. The full text databases have in-depth information from one publication source but don't have the same breadth in terms of coverage or data range.

Engineering Village (Compendex & INSPEC Combined)
Engineering Village is the information discovery platform to search across both Compendex and INSPEC databases.
Note: The following standards collections are indexed in Compendex: ACI, AIAA, ASCE, ASTM, AWS, AWWA, BSI/ISO, IEEE, IET, SAE, SMPTE, TAPPI (as of 6/2/2021).
Web of Science: All Databases
- This link opens in a new window
Easily search across all subscribed products simultaneously using a common set of search fields for the most comprehensive results Including: Web of Science Core Collection, BIOSIS Citation Index, BIOSIS Previews, CAB eBooks Archive, CABI, CAB Abstracts and Global Health, Current Contents Connect, Data Citation Index, Derwent Innovations Index, FSTA-the food science resource, KCI-Korean Journal Database, MEDLINE, Preprint Citation Index, SciELO Citation Index, and Zoological Record.
ASCE Research Library
- This link opens in a new window
ASCE Research Library is a comprehensive online tool for locating articles and conference papers published by the American Society of Civil Engineers in all disciplines of civil engineering. It provides access to more than 33,000 full-text papers from Journals (1993 - present), Proceedings (1996 - present), and Standards (1983 - present).
ASTM Compass
A vast collection of industry-leading standards and technical engineering information. The Library covers a broad range of engineering disciplines, including aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering. Provides access to active standards, as well as historical standards (2000-present).
Civil Engineering Abstracts
CSA / ASCE Civil Engineering Abstracts provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the serials literature in civil engineering and its complementary fields, including forensic engineering, management and marketing of engineering services, engineering education, theoretical mechanics and dynamics, and mathematics and computation.
Earthquake Engineering Abstracts
Earthquake Engineering Abstracts (EEA) provides comprehensive, authoritative coverage of earthquake engineering and earthquake hazard mitigation, since 1971. Contents include selected technical reports, conference papers, monographs, and journal articles.
Engineering Village (Compendex & INSPEC Combined)
Engineering Village is the information discovery platform to search across both Compendex and INSPEC databases.
Note: The following standards collections are indexed in Compendex: ACI, AIAA, ASCE, ASTM, AWS, AWWA, BSI/ISO, IEEE, IET, SAE, SMPTE, TAPPI (as of 6/2/2021).
Environmental Engineering Abstracts
This database is a comprehensive index to world literature on all technological and engineering aspects of air, water and soil quality, environmental safety, sustainability and energy production.
TRID
TRID is an integrated database that combines the records from TRB’s Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD’s Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database. TRID provides access to more than one million records of transportation research worldwide.