Research Guides: Civics Literacy Study &amp; Resource Guide: Civic Life, Politics, and Government

Civic Life, Politics, and Government

Definitions

Before jumping into the foundations and roles of American democracy, it may be useful to make sure you know the following definitions:

Private Life: Relates to a citizen's right to privacy and the pursuit of private and personal interests.
Civic Life: The public life of the citizen concerned with the affairs of the community and nation.
Limited Government:The government has only the powers granted to it in the Constitution, and it can only conduct actions permitted by the Constitution. In other words, there are established and respected restraints on government power.
Rule of Law: An essential component of limited government. The central notion of a rule of law is that society is governed according to widely known and accepted rules followed not only by the governed but also by those in authority.
Checks and Balances:The Constitutionally granted power for one branch of government to block action by an equal branch of government. The Constitution specifies instances in which one of the three branches can stop action by another. Historical precedents have established others.
Separation of Powers:The Constitution keeps the three branches of government (executive, legislative, and judicial) separate. The powers and responsibilities of each is described in a separate Article. Separation makes each Branch the equal of the others.

Source: Reviewing the Constitution's Big Ideas with Primary Sources (National Archives) & the Center for Civic Education

eReference Sources

Reference Works and Encyclopedias

Reference works and encyclopedias are a good starting point to get introduced to broad and complex concepts about political science, government, and law. These resources may provide useful definitions, context, and background on topics that you will continue to pursue throughout the Civic Literacy Proficiency Program.

American Political Culture by Michael Shally-Jensen, et al.
Publication Date: 2015
This all-encompassing encyclopedia provides a broad perspective on U.S. politics, culture, and society, but also goes beyond the facts to consider the myths, ideals, and values that help shape and define the nation.
Encyclopedia of American Government and Civics by Michael A. Genovese; Lori Cox Han
Publication Date: 2019
Articles herein address not only basic subjects covered in the study of American government -- from the Bill of Rights through voting processes--but also a wide range of contemporary issues such as abortion, capital punishment, and Social Security.
Gale Encyclopedia of Everyday Law by Donna Batten (Editor)
Publication Date: 2016
The Gale Encyclopedia of Everyday Law provides information and resources to help users answer their legal questions, and outlines their rights and recourses, as well as consequences, under the law. It also provides a general background and explanation of legal issues and educates the user on federal and state/local laws, statutes, cases, and regulations and Constitutional protections.
Gale Encyclopedia of U.S. History: Government and Politics by Gale
Publication Date: 2008
Gale Encyclopedia of U.S. History: Government and Politics provides a concise history of the U.S. government and political scene throughout American history, with a particular emphasis on how government and politics effects---and is affected by---social change.
The Princeton Encyclopedia of American Political History. by Michael Kazin, et al.
Publication Date: 2009
A comprehensive and authoritative encyclopedia of U.S. political history An essential resource for anyone interested in U.S. history and politics, this two-volume encyclopedia covers the major forces that have shaped American politics from the founding to today.

<< Back to Introduction

Civics Literacy Study & Resource Guide

Other Relevant Guides

Civic Life, Politics, and Government

Definitions

eReference Sources

Reference Works and Encyclopedias