Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Purdue University Purdue Logo Purdue Libraries

HIST 395 Famines in History: Journal Article & Newspaper Databases

Will provide access to scholarly governmental and non-governmental resources for this class taught by Professor Doug Hurt during Spring 2020.

Journal Article & Newspaper Databases

Purdue Libraries have many scholarly journal article, documentary, and newspaper databases they provide insightful literature on the multiple aspects of famines.   Purdue users only for these databases.  Examples include:

Agricola (National Agricultural Library database covering agricultural literature from the 15th century to present) (Does not connect to Purdue Libraries holdings).
America:  History and Life (Scholarly historical literature database covering U.S. and Canadian History)

America's Historical Newspapers:  Early American Newspapers Series 6-7, 10  (215 newspapers from 27 states and Washington, DC covering 1741-1922)

British Newspapers 1600-1950 (Repository of newspapers and other resources across the British Isles from British Library collections)

Chatham House Online (Archived documents from British international relations association and research institute)

China and the Modern World 1817-1949 (Documents on Chinese History from a variety of governmental, non-governmental, and business resources)

Confidential Print:  North America 1824-1961  (British Foreign Office diplomatic reporting and correspondence on North America in this time period. Includes some coverage of the Caribbean, Central, and South America.

Foreign Office Files for China 1949-1956  and Middle East (1971-1981)  These commercial databases include documentary materials from the British Foreign Office which is the United Kingdom's equivalent to the U.S. Department of States.

Historic Maps-Perry-Castaneda Library University of Texas-Austin

Historical Abstracts Scholarly historical literature from 1450-present for countries outside the U.S. & Canada.

Measuring Worth (University of Illinois-Chicago resource calculating inflation and consumer price indexes for the U.S. dollar and British pound)

Medical Services and Warfare  (Compilation of governmental and non-governmental accounts of medical treatment in war which can be influenced by famine)

Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers (Articles from selected U.S. newspapers during this time period)

ProQuest Historical Newspapers (Contains articles from major U.S. newspapers encompassing the 19th-21st centuries),

Sunday Times Digital Archive 1822-2006 (Articles from London's Sunday Times)

Telegraph Historical Archive (Contains stories from this London newspaper between 1855-2000)

Times (London) Digital Archive (Covers 1785-1985)

Trove (Australian National Library newspaper database articles from the 19th-21st centuries).

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (Major database of scholarly political science journal articles)

1980's Popular Culture Responses to Ethiopian Famine

Band Aid Do They Know It's Christmas (1984 fundraising effort by British musicians)

U.S.A. for Africa We Are the World (1985 fundraising effort by American musicians)

Subject Specialist