ANTH 336: Human Variation

Over 170 African American newspapers and magazines published in the U.S. from 1825-1995, from slavery during the Antebellum Period to the struggles and triumphs of the modern era. Publications include African Repository (1825-92), Black Panther (1967-75), Black Worker (1929-68), and Soul (1966-76). Search full-text by any or all of these periods: Slavery and Antebellum Era (1825 to 1860), U.S. Civil War (1861 to 1865), Reconstruction and Post War South (1866 to 1895), Segregation and the Rise of Black Protest Thought (1896 to 1920), African American Culture in the New Era (1921 to 1945), Civil Rights Era (1946-1960), The Second Reconstruction (1961-1972), Modern / Contemporary Era (1973-1998). The collection is based upon James P. Danky's African-American Newspapers and Periodicals: A National Bibliography (Harvard, 1998) and drawn from holdings of the Wisconsin Historical Society.

From the Library Company of Philadelphia's Afro-Americana Collection, this still-growing resource provides researchers with full-text searchable, digital facsimiles of more than 12,000 printed works. These books, pamphlets and broadsides, including many lesser-known imprints, span nearly 400 years, from the early 16th to the early 20th century. Afro-Americana Imprints can be searched along with Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans (1639-1800).

A collection of periodicals from the colonial period through to the twentieth century focused on American concerns and predominantly published in the United States or Canada, though some were published overseas by Americans living abroad. The collection offers multiple perspectives on the thought, culture, and society of North America through the eyes of citizens from all walks of life.

Presents unique materials from the Edward E. Ayer Collection archival collections on American Indian history and culture at The Newberry Library, Chicago. Explore manuscripts, artwork and rare printed books dating from the earliest contact with European settlers right up to photographs and newspapers from the mid-twentieth century. Browse through a wide range of rare and original documents from treaties, speeches and diaries, to historic maps and travel journals.

NOTE: Off-campus access is unavailable. We are working to resolve the issue - 1/30/2024

Archives Unbound presents topically-focused digital collections of historical documents that support the research and study needs of scholars and students at the university level.

Collections included:
American Indian Movement and Native American Radicalism
Black Economic Empowerment: The National Negro Business League
Chinese Civil War and U.S.-China Relations: Records of the U.S. State Department’s Office of Chinese Affairs, 1945-1955
Civil Rights and Social Activism in the South - James A. Dombrowski and the Southern Conference Educational Fund
Conditions and Politics in Occupied Western Europe, 1940-1945
Country Intelligence Reports on China
Country Intelligence Reports on Japan
Country Intelligence Reports on Korea
County and Regional Histories and Atlases: Indiana
Economy and War in the Third Reich, 1933-1944
Electing the President: Proceedings of the Democratic National Conventions, 1832-1988
Electing the President: Proceedings of the Republican National Conventions, 1856-1988
International Women's Periodicals, 1786-1933: Social and Political Issues
Middle East Online: Iraq, 1914-1974
Overland Journeys: Travels in the West, 1800-1880
Post-War Europe: Refugees, Exile and Resettlement, 1945-1950
Ralph J. Bunche Oral Histories Collection on the Civil Rights Movement
SUR, 1931-1992
U.S. Military Activities and Civil Rights: The Military Response to the March on Washington, 1963
We Were Prepared for the Possibility of Death: Freedom Riders in the South, 1961
Women’s Issues and Their Advocacy Within the White House, 1974-1977
Women, War and Society, 1914-1918

Kanopy offers one of the largest collections of films in the world with 50,000+ films from thousands of leading producers. These films are all genres - from documentaries to movies and training videos.

This database provides selected full text coverage for 245 newspapers, newswires and other sources. This collection includes cover-to-cover full text for The Christian Science Monitor and The Los Angeles Times as well as selected full text from hundreds of regional newspapers. International newspaper coverage includes cover-to-cover full text for The Times (London), The Toronto Star, The Australian, and more. Newswire coverage includes AP Online (Associated Press), Asia Pulse, Canadian Press Wire, World Stream Newswires and more.

An online collection of British magazines, journals and specialty newspapers, 19th Century UK Periodicals provides an in-depth view of British life in the Victorian age. Series One: New Readerships: Women's, Children's, Humor and Leisure/Sport charts the rapid rise of publishing in a reading culture expanding through a rise in literacy and leisure and an explosion of sports and hobbies. Series Two: Empire: Travel and Anthropology, Economics, Missionary and Colonial, covers the expansion of the Empire, addressing the economic as well as the non-mercantile aspects of British expansionism.

This database provides access to approximately 500 U.S. newspapers, published between 1800 and 1900. Newspapers selected on their immediate value to researchers on the press and on the century in general. Papers selected cover a broad spectrum, with a comprehensive geographical and chronological range.

Newspaper digital archive offering full-text and full-image articles for the following newspapers:

Atlanta Daily World (1931-2010)
Baltimore Afro-American (1893-2010)
Chicago Defender (1910-2010)
Chicago Tribune (1849-2013)
Cleveland Call and Post (1934-1991)
Indianapolis Star (1903-1922)
Jerusalem Post (1932-2008)
Korea Times (1950-2016)
Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005)
Louisville Defender (1951-2010)
New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993)
New York Times (1851-2018)
Norfolk Journal and Guide (1916-2003)
Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2010)
Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2010)
South China Morning Post (1903-2001)
Times of India (1838-2010)
Wall Street Journal (1889-2011)