Research Guides: ANTH 336: Human Variation: Media Coverage of Scholarly Research

Media Coverage of Scholarly Research

Scholarly vs. Popular Sources

Purdue Libraries Guide to Scholarly vs. Popular Sources

Science journalism and public engagement with science

AAAS Tips from Science Journalists

Searching for scholarly media and research articles

'Free web'
- A source may be 'free' if you knowingly or unknowingly agree to view advertising or provide access to personal data in exchange for access to the resource. Can be found via common search engines.
Open Access
- A source available online that is sponsored for instance by a government, foundation and/or non-profit organizations and/or the copyright owner has waived some aspect of copyright that allows for distribution, copying and re-use. Can be found via common search engines and Directory of Open Access Journals (for open access scholarly journals).
Closed or mediated access
- A source that is behind a paywall or requires other registration or identity authentication. Available via institutional subscription or individual payment or other agreement. Purdue University Libraries provides access to journal, archival and newspaper databases and individual journals via an institutional subscription. If you are off campus you must log-in to the libraries proxy

Scholarly Journal Databases (recommended)

Purdue University Libraries Databases

Anthropology Plus
Brings together two resources: Anthropological Literature from Harvard University, and the Anthropological Index from the Royal Anthropological Institute in the UK. Provides worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. Offers coverage of all core periodicals in the field in addition to local and lesser-known journals.
AnthroSource
Current and back issues of journals published by the American Anthropological Association, including American Anthropologist, American Ethnologist, Anthropology & Education Quarterly, Anthropology of Work Review, Archeological Papers of the American Anthropological Association, Culture & Agriculture, Journal of Latin American Anthropology, Journal of Linguistic Anthropology, Medical Anthropology Quarterly, PoLAR: Political and Legal Anthropology Review, Society of Lesbian and Gay Anthropologists Newsletter, Visual Anthropology Review, Voices, and more.
JSTOR
Full-text digital archive of over 2600 scholarly journals, especially strong in Social Sciences, Humanities, Economics, and Mathematics.
Proquest Research Library
This database provides one-stop access to more than 4,000 periodicals from one of the broadest, most inclusive general reference databases ProQuest has to offer. Search from a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications and magazines covering over 150 academic disciplines.
ERIC (EBSCO interface)
- This link opens in a new window
Recommended version for Purdue users.

Bibliographic database sponsored by the US Department of Education, is the premier source for education-related research, documents, and journal articles. Access via the EBSCO interface will link to full-text articles.
Scopus
- This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed research literature. With over 19,000 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers, Scopus supports research needs in the scientific, technical, medical, social sciences, and the arts and humanities.
Web of Science: All Databases
- This link opens in a new window
Easily search across all subscribed products simultaneously using a common set of search fields for the most comprehensive results Including: Web of Science Core Collection, BIOSIS Citation Index, BIOSIS Previews, CAB eBooks Archive, CABI, CAB Abstracts and Global Health, Current Contents Connect, Data Citation Index, Derwent Innovations Index, FSTA-the food science resource, KCI-Korean Journal Database, MEDLINE, Preprint Citation Index, SciELO Citation Index, and Zoological Record.
PubMed
PubMed provides access to citations from biomedical literature. LinkOut provides access to full-text articles at journal Web sites and other related Web resources. PubMed also provides access and links to the other Entrez molecular biology resources.
Google Scholar
Searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. It includes a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.

Newspaper Databases

Newspaper Source Plus
- This link opens in a new window
This database provides selected full text coverage for 245 newspapers, newswires and other sources. This collection includes cover-to-cover full text for The Christian Science Monitor and The Los Angeles Times as well as selected full text from hundreds of regional newspapers. International newspaper coverage includes cover-to-cover full text for The Times (London), The Toronto Star, The Australian, and more. Newswire coverage includes AP Online (Associated Press), Asia Pulse, Canadian Press Wire, World Stream Newswires and more.
Newswires This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
EBSCO's Newswires provides near real-time access to top world-wide news from Associated Press, United Press International, PR Newswire, Xinhua, CNN Wire, and Business Wire on a continuous basis. This content is monitored by EBSCO and relevant results are provided when users enter searches in EBSCOhost. This collection includes AP Financial News, AP Top News, AP WorldStream, AP U.S. Politics & Government, AP 50 State Reports, UPI Security Industry, UPI Emerging Threats, UPI Business, UPI Entertainment, UPI Sports, UPI Top News, Arabia 2000, and more. End users can immediately access the full text of the web content, by following the link in the record. The index to the full text content in EBSCO Newswires is held for a rolling 30-day archive by EBSCO.
NexisUni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis -- including US Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Newspaper digital archive offering full-text and full-image articles for the Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003), The Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988), Chicago Defender (1910-1975), Chicago Tribune‎ (1849 - 1993), Cleveland Call and Post (1934-1991), Indianapolis Star (1903-1922), Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005), New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), The New York Times (1851-2010), The Norfolk Journal and Guide (1916-2003), The Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2001), Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002), and The Wall Street Journal (1889-1996).
ProQuest Newsstream (was ProQuest Newsstand)
Full text of 1,300+ newspapers from the U.S., U.K., and around the world, including Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, The Times [London], El Pais [Madrid], Le Monde [Paris], The South China Morning Post [Hong Kong], and many others.

Coverage: Current, with backfiles from 1980s to 2010, depending on title
Proquest Research Library
This database provides one-stop access to more than 4,000 periodicals from one of the broadest, most inclusive general reference databases ProQuest has to offer. Search from a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications and magazines covering over 150 academic disciplines.

Radio and TV Archives/Databases

Public Radio and Television Archives/Databases:

Television News Databases:

Internet Archive TV News Archive
Welcome to Internet Archive TV News! This research library service enables you to: Search more than 2027000 U.S. broadcasts using closed captioning.
Vanderbilt Television News Archive
The Vanderbilt Television News Archive is the world's most extensive and complete archive of television news. We have been recording, preserving and providing access to television news broadcasts of the national networks since August 5, 1968. The core collection includes evening news from ABC, CBS, and NBC (since 1968), an hour per day of CNN (since 1995) and Fox News (since 2004).