Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Purdue University Purdue Logo Purdue Libraries

HIST 302 Arab-Israeli Conflict: Commercial Databases

Taught during fall 2017 by Professor Stacy Holden.

Commercial and Other Academic Databases

Numerous commercial databases and multiple archival sources can be used to find information on Middle East history and culture which are available through Purdue Libraries website.  Examples include:

Aga Khan Documentation Center (Courtesy:  MIT Libraries)

Access UN  (Provides access to publications from various United Nations agencies)

America:  History and Life (Scholarly articles and other historical iterature from U.S. and Canadian History publications)

Gertrude Bell Papers:  This New Castle University (UK) resource features papers and photographs from Gertrude Bell (1868-1926) documenting her travels and influence in various Middle Eastern countries.

Historical Abstracts (Scholarly articles and other historical literature covering global regions outside the U.S. and Canada)

Humanities Full Text (Scholarly literature on multiple humanities topics on an international scale)

King-Crane Commission Digital Collection:  Oberlin College Archives:  During Summer 1919, this commission led by Oberlin College President Henry Churchill King and Chicago businessman Charles R. Crane travelled to areas within former Ottoman Territories to gain information about the future political aspirations of this area's population as the regional future was being determined at the Paris Peace Conference.
 

Measuring Worth (University of Illinois-Chicago resource documenting the purchasing power of the U.S. dollar)

Military Balance (Annnual database on military forces from the British International Institute of Strategic Studies 1961-Present)

Norwich University Libraries  HI 433 Late Ottoman Empire & Early Turkish Republic Primary Sources research guide

World War I in Palestine and the Sinai (Library of Congress photo archive)

American Colony in Jerusalem 1870-2006 (Library of Congress photo archive)

Sources for Historical Photographs of the Middle East (Library of Congress compiled resource linking to various international repositories.)

NexisUni (Articles from major U.S. and international newspapers including Jerusalem Post and Washington Post)

ProQuest Historical Newspapers (Articles from major U.S. newspapers e.g. New  York Times, Wall Street Journal

London Daily Telegraph Archive (Major British Newspaper with articles from 1855-2000)

Times of London Digital Archive  (Major British Newspaper with articles from 1785-1985)

Subject Specialist

Profile Photo
Bert Chapman
Contact:
(765) 494-2837

Fax: (765) 494-9007