Research Guides: HIST 302: Aerospace History: U.S. Govt. & Military Resources

U.S. Govt. & Military Resources

Numerous historic and current resources provide information on the U.S. Government and military's involvement in aviation history and policy. Examples include:

Air University Press
Publishing arm of Air University which is the U.S. Air Force's professional military educational institution.
Air Force Historical Research Agency
Repository for Air Force historical documents.
Central Intelligence Agency Freedom of Information Act Reading Room
Electronic reading room providing access to historic declassified CIA documents on a global scale.
National Museum of the U.S. Air Force
The National Museum of the United States Air Force collects, researches, conserves, interprets and presents the Air Force's history, heritage and traditions.
National Transportation Safety Board (NTSB)
Independent agency responsible for investigating all civil aviation accidents and significant accidents in other transporation sectors and issuing recommendations to enhance transportation safety.
Smithsonian National Air & Space Museum
The Smithsonian's National Air and Space Museum maintains the world's largest and most significant collection of aviation and space artifacts, encompassing all aspects of human flight, as well as related works of art and archival materials.
Federal Aviation Administration (FAA)
U.S. Dept. of Transportation agency responsible for regulating the civilian U.S. aviation sector.
American Memory Project
Library of Congress and other institutional collections. Provides free and open access to America's history.
Marine Corps History Division
The primary task of the Marine Corps History Division is to research and write the Marine Corps' official history.
National Reconnaissance Office Center for the Study of National Reconnaissance
The Center for the Study of National Reconnaissance supports NRO leadership and the Intelligence Community by offering insights based on history, analytical studies, and outreach programs; and works to advance the public’s understanding of the discipline of national reconnaissance.
NASA History Division
Documents history of NASA programs and facilities.
NASA Technical Reports Server
Contains many full-text reports and conference papers from National Aeronautics and Space Administration. A significant collection of microfiche reports is available at Purdue. Ask for assistance.
Naval History & Heritage Command
The Naval History & Heritage Command is responsible for the preservation, analysis, an dissemination of U.S. naval history and heritage located at the historic Washington Navy Yard.
Smithsonian Institution Libraries Digital Library: History and Culture
Digital collections from the Smithsonian Library related to history and culture.

Statistical Abstract of the U.S.
Annual compendium of statistics from government and nongovernmental sources produced by the Census Bureau from 1878-2012 and ProQuest from 2013-present.

Civil Aeronautics Board Reports
Reports from the United States Civil Aeronautics Board from HathiTrust.
U.S. Patent & Trademark Office
Federal agency for granting U.S. patents and registering trademarks. In doing this, the USPTO fulfills the mandate of Article I, Section 8, Clause 8, of the Constitution that the legislative branch "promote the Progress of Science and useful Arts, by securing for limited Times to Authors and Inventors the exclusive Right to their respective Writings and Discoveries.

ProQuest Congressional Publications
Provides access to historic and recent U.S. Government publications from 1789-1969 on including U.S. Congressional Serial Set documents, federal agency reports, congressional committee publications including reports on legislation, statistics, maps, and congressional debates.
Coverage includes Congressional Record and predecessor publication debates from 1789-1997 and Executive branch agency publications not included in the U.S. Congressional Serial Set from 1789-1932.

Biographical Directory of the United States Congress
Biographical information on members of Congress from 1774-present.
House Armed Services Committee
Conducts oversight of Department of Defense programs, military branches, and Energy Department defense nuclear programs.
U.S. Congress House Committee on Military Affairs
Responsible for U.S. Army until 1947.
U.S. Congress House Committee on Naval Affairs
Responsible for Marine Corps & Navy until 1947.
House Science, Space, & Technology Committee
The Committee on Science, Space, and Technology is a committee of the United States House of Representatives. It has jurisdiction over non-defense federal scientific research and development. More specifically, the committee has complete jurisdiction over the following federal agencies: NASA, NSF, NIST, and the OSTP.
House Committee on Transportation & Infrastructure
This committee has jurisdiction over all modes of transportation, wastewater infrastructure, the Nation’s emergency preparedness and response programs, public buildings and federal real estate management, federal economic development agencies, and one of America’s five Armed Forces: the U.S. Coast Guard.
Government Accountability Office (GAO)
This agency evaluates the management performance of government programs for Congress.
Senate Armed Services Committee
Oversees the Defense Department, armed forces, military promotions, national defense research, and defense nuclear energy programs. Historical records may be found under Senate Committee on Military Affairs or Senate Committee on Naval Affairs.
Senate Commerce, Science, & Transportation Committee (HathiTrust)
Committee reports from HathiTrust.
Senate Committee on Aeronautical & Space Sciences
Existed from 1958-1977
Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports
The Library of Congress' Congressional Research Service (CRS) presents unbiased reports on various public policy issues for members of Congress, their staff, and the American public.

HIST 302: Aerospace History

Subject Specialist

Related Guides

U.S. Govt. & Military Resources