Research Guides: Chemical Engineering (ChE): Background Information

Places to start

We have access to two major encyclopedias related to chemical engineering. Start here for concepts you are unfamiliar with, then move on to the handbooks below. Both of these resources are excellent for finding general process or flow diagrams for major chemicals and commodities - petroleum, chocolate, polymers, etc.

Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
This Encyclopedia presents a wide scope of articles on chemical substances—including their properties, manufacturing, and uses. It also focuses on industrial processes and unit operations in chemical engineering, as well as covering fundamentals and scientific subjects related to the field. Additionally, environmental and health issues concerning chemical technology are also addressed.
Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry
Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry is a full-text, state-of-the-art reference work detailing the science and technology in all areas of industrial chemistry. Fully international in scope and coverage and published in the English language, the work has been compiled under the supervision of a renowned global Editorial Advisory Board.

Other places to search/consult

While not as comprehensive or robust as Kirk-Othmer or Ullmann's, these sources can also be used for obtaining additional information on processes, commodities, flow diagrams, etc. This list is also by no means comprehensive, but is meant to show you the variety of sources available to you. Still cannot find what you need? Please contact the Libraries.

Catalysis from A to Z: A Concise Encyclopedia (4th ed.)

Encyclopedia of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology
This reference identifies current challenges and development paths sure to influence fields ranging from materials and surface science, chemistry, and biomedicine to computer technology, information processing, and mechanical, optical, and electrical engineering examining the design, application, and utilization of devices, techniques, and technologies critical to research at atomic, molecular, and macromolecular levels ranging from 1100 nanometers.