Companies - Pro Tips - Companies and Organizations - Research Guides at Purdue University Libraries

Read Me - Faculty / Graduate Students

Purdue faculty and graduate students can request additional access to the following databases not covered elsewhere on this guide. The links below contain information on how to request access.

LSEG Workspace: Datastream (add-on by request)
100+ years of historical financial data from the London Stock Exchange Group typically accessed via Excel Add-In by expert researchers using LSEG Workspace for desktop, although LSEG Workspace web access is also available. Full disclosure: Datastream historical time series can be difficult to locate in either interface; see linked guide for more details.
LSEG Workspace: SDC Platinum (add-on by request)
50+ years of joint venture data from the London Stock Exchange Group accessed via LSEG Workspace.
Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS)
- This link opens in a new window
Provides single-point access to over 350 terabytes of data across multiple disciplines, including Finance, Marketing, and Economics. Developed by the Wharton School of Business at the University of Pennsylvania for data management and research.

Bloomberg Terminal - typically used by faculty and graduate students but available to all
A dedicated computer for financial researchers who need real-time data, news and analytics to make smarter, faster, more informed business decisions.The Bloomberg terminal is located in the Parrish Library and can be used on a first-come, first-served basis during regular business hours unless a reservation has been made.

Analyst Reports

Investext
- This link opens in a new window
Analyst reports from investment banks, brokerage houses, and consulting firms. Topics include companies, industries, securities, mutual funds, and other instruments. Includes both current and historical reports Note: Investext is accessed through Mergent Online; the link above will take you directly to the analyst reports search function.

See this Business Research Tips video for detailed help
LSEG Workspace This link opens in a new window
Company, industry, and economic data and news from the London Stock Exchange Group including ESG, M&A, and robust charting. Note: This resource requires you to create a user account.

Search company name or ticker > Within a company, go to "News & Research > "Company Research"
S&P Capital IQ This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A top resource for company financials/valuations. Includes information on equities, credit ratings, competitors, transactions, and more. Explore pricing across markets including indices, commodities, and more. Use hundreds of data points to generate lists of companies, markets, or executives. Includes an optional Excel plug-in. Note: This resource requires you to create a user account.
"Companies" > "Investment Research" > "Research Reports" > search company name or ticker
- Modify "Date Range" as needed
- Be sure to check all results pages; they can be overlooked (lower-right screen)

Boards and Executives

Mergent Online
- This link opens in a new window
Company financial statements, ratios, and other quantitative data. Other information includes but is not limited to SEC filings, analyst reports, executive/board biographies and compensation details, and historical daily stock pricing back to 1925.

Search company name or ticker > Within a company, go to "Executives"
PitchBook This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A top resource for private market data -- startups, private equity and venture capital investors, angel investors, limited partners like foundations and sovereign wealth funds, plus deals, funding rounds, and more. Also provides information about public and private companies plus market research.
Note: This resource requires you to create a user account.

Search company name or ticker > Within a company, go to "Team" and "Board Members"
LSEG Workspace This link opens in a new window
Company, industry, and economic data and news from the London Stock Exchange Group including ESG, M&A, and robust charting. Note: This resource requires you to create a user account.

Search company name or ticker > Within a company, go to "ESG" > "Officers"
S&P Capital IQ This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A top resource for company financials/valuations. Includes information on equities, credit ratings, competitors, transactions, and more. Explore pricing across markets including indices, commodities, and more. Use hundreds of data points to generate lists of companies, markets, or executives. Includes an optional Excel plug-in. Note: This resource requires you to create a user account.

Search company name or ticker > Within a company, go to "People"

Capital Structure

PitchBook This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A top resource for private market data -- startups, private equity and venture capital investors, angel investors, limited partners like foundations and sovereign wealth funds, plus deals, funding rounds, and more. Also provides information about public and private companies plus market research.
Note: This resource requires you to create a user account.

Search company name or ticker > Within a company, go to "Capital Structure"
S&P Capital IQ This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A top resource for company financials/valuations. Includes information on equities, credit ratings, competitors, transactions, and more. Explore pricing across markets including indices, commodities, and more. Use hundreds of data points to generate lists of companies, markets, or executives. Includes an optional Excel plug-in. Note: This resource requires you to create a user account.

Search company name or ticker > Within a company, go to "Financials/Valuations" > "Capital Structure Summary" and "Capital Structure Details"

Credit Ratings

S&P Capital IQ This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A top resource for company financials/valuations. Includes information on equities, credit ratings, competitors, transactions, and more. Explore pricing across markets including indices, commodities, and more. Use hundreds of data points to generate lists of companies, markets, or executives. Includes an optional Excel plug-in. Note: This resource requires you to create a user account.

Search company name or ticker > Within a company, go to "Fixed Income" > "Credit Ratings"
LSEG Workspace This link opens in a new window
Company, industry, and economic data and news from the London Stock Exchange Group including ESG, M&A, and robust charting. Note: This resource requires you to create a user account.

Search company name or ticker > Within a company, go to "Debt & Credit" > "Issuer Ratings"

ESG Data

LSEG Workspace This link opens in a new window
Company, industry, and economic data and news from the London Stock Exchange Group including ESG, M&A, and robust charting. Note: This resource requires you to create a user account.

Search company name or ticker > Within a company, go to "ESG"
PitchBook This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A top resource for private market data -- startups, private equity and venture capital investors, angel investors, limited partners like foundations and sovereign wealth funds, plus deals, funding rounds, and more. Also provides information about public and private companies plus market research.
Note: This resource requires you to create a user account.

Search company name or ticker > Within a company, go to "Sustainability"

Earnings Call Transcripts

LSEG Workspace This link opens in a new window
Company, industry, and economic data and news from the London Stock Exchange Group including ESG, M&A, and robust charting. Note: This resource requires you to create a user account.

Search company name or ticker > Within a company, go to "Events" > "Corporate Events" > "Content Type" = "Transcript" (left-side menu)> add filters as needed like “Events Date” (left-side menu)(includes audio recordings and sentiments outline, too)
S&P Capital IQ This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A top resource for company financials/valuations. Includes information on equities, credit ratings, competitors, transactions, and more. Explore pricing across markets including indices, commodities, and more. Use hundreds of data points to generate lists of companies, markets, or executives. Includes an optional Excel plug-in. Note: This resource requires you to create a user account.

Search company name or ticker > Within a company, go to "News, Events & Filings" > "Transcripts" (includes audio recordings, too)
PitchBook This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A top resource for private market data -- startups, private equity and venture capital investors, angel investors, limited partners like foundations and sovereign wealth funds, plus deals, funding rounds, and more. Also provides information about public and private companies plus market research.
Note: This resource requires you to create a user account.

Search company name or ticker > Within a company, go to "Transcripts"

Equity Pricing

Mergent Online
- This link opens in a new window
Company financial statements, ratios, and other quantitative data. Other information includes but is not limited to SEC filings, analyst reports, executive/board biographies and compensation details, and historical daily stock pricing back to 1925.

Search company name or ticker > Within a company, go to "Equity pricing"
LSEG Workspace This link opens in a new window
Company, industry, and economic data and news from the London Stock Exchange Group including ESG, M&A, and robust charting. Note: This resource requires you to create a user account.

Search company name or ticker > Within a company, go to "Price & Charts"
S&P Capital IQ This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A top resource for company financials/valuations. Includes information on equities, credit ratings, competitors, transactions, and more. Explore pricing across markets including indices, commodities, and more. Use hundreds of data points to generate lists of companies, markets, or executives. Includes an optional Excel plug-in. Note: This resource requires you to create a user account.

Search company name or ticker > Within a company, go to "Charting"

Filings

Mergent Online
- This link opens in a new window
Company financial statements, ratios, and other quantitative data. Other information includes but is not limited to SEC filings, analyst reports, executive/board biographies and compensation details, and historical daily stock pricing back to 1925.

Search company name or ticker > Within a company, go to "Filings" or "Annual reports"
LSEG Workspace This link opens in a new window
Company, industry, and economic data and news from the London Stock Exchange Group including ESG, M&A, and robust charting. Note: This resource requires you to create a user account.

Search company name or ticker > Within a company, go to "Filings"
S&P Capital IQ This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A top resource for company financials/valuations. Includes information on equities, credit ratings, competitors, transactions, and more. Explore pricing across markets including indices, commodities, and more. Use hundreds of data points to generate lists of companies, markets, or executives. Includes an optional Excel plug-in. Note: This resource requires you to create a user account.

Search company name or ticker > Within a company, go to "News, Events & Filings"
PitchBook This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A top resource for private market data -- startups, private equity and venture capital investors, angel investors, limited partners like foundations and sovereign wealth funds, plus deals, funding rounds, and more. Also provides information about public and private companies plus market research.
Note: This resource requires you to create a user account.

Search company name or ticker > Within a company, go to "Filings"

Financials - Details, Ratios, Competitors

Mergent Online
- This link opens in a new window
Company financial statements, ratios, and other quantitative data. Other information includes but is not limited to SEC filings, analyst reports, executive/board biographies and compensation details, and historical daily stock pricing back to 1925.
Search company name or ticker
- Within a company, go to "Company financials" to analyze details and ratios
- Within a company, go to "Competitors" to analyze competitors
PitchBook This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A top resource for private market data -- startups, private equity and venture capital investors, angel investors, limited partners like foundations and sovereign wealth funds, plus deals, funding rounds, and more. Also provides information about public and private companies plus market research.
Note: This resource requires you to create a user account.
Search company name or ticker
- Within a company, go to "Financials" to analyze details and ratios
- Within a company, go to both "Comps Analysis" and "Similar Companies" to analyze competitors
LSEG Workspace This link opens in a new window
Company, industry, and economic data and news from the London Stock Exchange Group including ESG, M&A, and robust charting. Note: This resource requires you to create a user account.
Search company name or ticker
- Within a company, go to "Financials" to analyze details and ratios
- Within a company, go to "Peers & Valuation" to analyze competitors
S&P Capital IQ This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A top resource for company financials/valuations. Includes information on equities, credit ratings, competitors, transactions, and more. Explore pricing across markets including indices, commodities, and more. Use hundreds of data points to generate lists of companies, markets, or executives. Includes an optional Excel plug-in. Note: This resource requires you to create a user account.
Search company name or ticker
- Within a company, go to "Financials/Valuation" to analyze details and ratios
- Within a company, go to "Peer Analysis" > "Quick Comps" to analyze competitors

Mergers and Acquisitions

PitchBook This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A top resource for private market data -- startups, private equity and venture capital investors, angel investors, limited partners like foundations and sovereign wealth funds, plus deals, funding rounds, and more. Also provides information about public and private companies plus market research.
Note: This resource requires you to create a user account.
There are robust screening options including these examples:
- Use the "Data" sub-menu on the left sidebar > "Deals"
  Use pre-built screens like “M&As” and “Recent VC Exits”
  Build custom screens with filters like “Deal Date” and “Deal Size”
S&P Capital IQ This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A top resource for company financials/valuations. Includes information on equities, credit ratings, competitors, transactions, and more. Explore pricing across markets including indices, commodities, and more. Use hundreds of data points to generate lists of companies, markets, or executives. Includes an optional Excel plug-in. Note: This resource requires you to create a user account.
There are robust screening options including these examples:
- "Screening" > "Transactions" > "M&A Details > select from options like "Deal Conditions"
- "Screening" > "Transactions" > "General Transaction Details" > "Types" = "Merger/Acquisition" > add filters as needed
PrivCo
- This link opens in a new window
A premier source for business and financial data on over 300,000 major, non-publicly traded corporations, including family owned, private equity owned, venture backed, and international unlisted companies. Note: This resource requires you to create a user account.

"Search" > "Deal" to find information about acquisitions, etc. > add filters as needed like "Date Range"
LSEG Workspace This link opens in a new window
Company, industry, and economic data and news from the London Stock Exchange Group including ESG, M&A, and robust charting. Note: This resource requires you to create a user account.

"DSCREEN" > M&A is pre-selected as Asset Class > add filters as needed like "Date Announced" or "Deal Status"
LSEG Workspace: SDC Platinum (add-on by request)
50+ years of joint venture data from the London Stock Exchange Group accessed via LSEG Workspace.

Subsidiaries and Corporate Tree

Mergent Online
- This link opens in a new window
Company financial statements, ratios, and other quantitative data. Other information includes but is not limited to SEC filings, analyst reports, executive/board biographies and compensation details, and historical daily stock pricing back to 1925.

Search company name or ticker > Within a company, go to "Company details" > "Subsidiaries"
LSEG Workspace This link opens in a new window
Company, industry, and economic data and news from the London Stock Exchange Group including ESG, M&A, and robust charting. Note: This resource requires you to create a user account.

Search company name or ticker > Within a company, go to "Overview" > "Company Tree Structure"
S&P Capital IQ This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A top resource for company financials/valuations. Includes information on equities, credit ratings, competitors, transactions, and more. Explore pricing across markets including indices, commodities, and more. Use hundreds of data points to generate lists of companies, markets, or executives. Includes an optional Excel plug-in. Note: This resource requires you to create a user account.

Search company name or ticker > Within a company, go to "Investments" > "Corporate Tree"
PitchBook This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A top resource for private market data -- startups, private equity and venture capital investors, angel investors, limited partners like foundations and sovereign wealth funds, plus deals, funding rounds, and more. Also provides information about public and private companies plus market research.
Note: This resource requires you to create a user account.

Search company name or ticker > Within a company, go to "Affiliates"

Supply Chains

LSEG Workspace This link opens in a new window
Company, industry, and economic data and news from the London Stock Exchange Group including ESG, M&A, and robust charting. Note: This resource requires you to create a user account.

Search company name or ticker > Within a company, go to "Peers & Valuation" > "Value Chains"
S&P Capital IQ This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A top resource for company financials/valuations. Includes information on equities, credit ratings, competitors, transactions, and more. Explore pricing across markets including indices, commodities, and more. Use hundreds of data points to generate lists of companies, markets, or executives. Includes an optional Excel plug-in. Note: This resource requires you to create a user account.

Search company name or ticker > Within a company, go to "Business Relationships" > "Customers" and/or "Suppliers"

SWOT Analyses

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An all-purpose, vast business database.

"Advanced Search" > Search company name or ticker > "Publication Type" = "SWOT Analysis"
D&B Hoovers
- This link opens in a new window
Aggregates company profiles, business news, and industry reports.

Search company name or ticker > Within a company, go to "SWOT"
Business Insights: Global This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides detailed global company and industry profiles including SWOT reports, market share reports, and financial reports. Contains thousands of company histories and industry essays, case studies, scholarly journals, and business news for deep research coverage of global economies.

Search company name or ticker > Within a company, go to "SWOT Analysis"

Venture Capital and Private Equity

PitchBook This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A top resource for private market data -- startups, private equity and venture capital investors, angel investors, limited partners like foundations and sovereign wealth funds, plus deals, funding rounds, and more. Also provides information about public and private companies plus market research.
Note: This resource requires you to create a user account.
There are robust screening options including these examples:
- Use the "Data" sub-menu on the left sidebar > "Investors" or "Funds"
  Use pre-built screens like “Top Seed Investors” and “PE Investors”
  Build custom screens with filters like “Investor Locations” and “Fund Size”
- Use the "Data" sub-menu on the left sidebar > "Companies" or "Deals"
  Use pre-built screens like “Recent VC Exits” and “PE-Backed Companies”
  Build custom screens with filters like “Deal Date” and “Deal Size”
PrivCo
- This link opens in a new window
A premier source for business and financial data on over 300,000 major, non-publicly traded corporations, including family owned, private equity owned, venture backed, and international unlisted companies. Note: This resource requires you to create a user account.
- "Search" > "Investor" to find PE and VC funds, firms, etc. > add filters as needed like "Types and Stages"
- "Search" > "Funding" to find recipients of PE and VC investments > add filters as needed like "Total Funding Amount"
- "Search" > "Deal" to find information about acquisitions, etc. > add filters as needed like "Date Range"
S&P Capital IQ This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A top resource for company financials/valuations. Includes information on equities, credit ratings, competitors, transactions, and more. Explore pricing across markets including indices, commodities, and more. Use hundreds of data points to generate lists of companies, markets, or executives. Includes an optional Excel plug-in. Note: This resource requires you to create a user account.
There are robust screening options including these examples:
- "Screening" > "Companies" > "Investment/Advisory Firms" = "Investment Style Managed" > select from options like "Venture Capital" AND/OR "Private Equity/Buyouts" > "Company Status" = "Operating" OR "Operating Subsidiary"
- "Screening" > "Targeting" > "Find Buyers or Investors" > add filters as needed like "Industries"
- "Screening" > "Idea Generation" > "PE/VC"