Research Guides: HIST 395: Politics and Culture in Cold War America: The 1950s: Journal Article Databases

Journal Articles/Databases

The Libraries subscribe to numerous databases providing access to scholarly journal articles, documentary collections, and newspaper articles on subjects from this class' time period. These include:

America: History and Life
Index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Covers over 2,000 journals published worldwide. Strong English-language journal coverage is balanced by an international perspective on topics and events, including abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages.
Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
Electronic version of Historical Statistics of the United States: Earliest Times to Present; Millennial Edition presents thousands of annual time series of quantitative historical information covering virtually every quantifiable dimension of American history: population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, governance, and international relations. Chapters are preceded by essays that introduce the quantitative history of their subject, and provide a guide to the sources. Enables searching, combining, and downloading of data using Excel or CSV spreadsheets.
Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Humanities Full Text™ provides coverage of feature articles, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and book reviews, as well as reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, radio and television programs, plays, operas, and more.
NexisUni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis -- including US Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Newspaper digital archive offering full-text and full-image articles for newspapers like The New York Times and Wall Street Journal.
ProQuest Historical Annual Reports
Covers over 800 companies and contains digital reproductions for more than 43,000 reports. Key data include: financial information; Fortune 500 ranking; industry classification; key people; location; auditor; and related companies.

Coverage 1844-present.