Skip to main content
Purdue University Purdue Logo Purdue Libraries

2020 Election Resources: Indiana Politics and Government

Resources on 2020 election campaign

Indiana Politics and Government

2020 Congressional Campaign Resources




1st District - Covers northwest Indiana plus Newton and Benton counties. Peter Visclosky (Democrat)(Incumbent)(Retiring in 2020)

Mark Leyva (Republican)

Frank  Mrvan (Democrat)


2nd District - Covers south/southwest from the South Bend area including Carroll County.
Jackie Walorski (Republican)(Incumbent)(Re-elected Nov. 6, 2018)

Patricia Hackett (Democrat)


3rd District - Covers northeastern Indiana including Fort Wayne

  Jim Banks (Incumbent Republican)(Elected Nov. 6, 2018)

Either Chip Coldiron or Thomas  Marcano, Jr (Democrat)To close  to be determined-June 3, 2020

 4th District - Purdue University is in this district which also includes White, Montgomery, Hendricks, and some southern Indiana counties)
Jim Baird (Republican)-Elected Nov. 6, 2018

Joe Mackey (Democrat)

5th District - Covers north suburban Indianapolis, Hamilton County, Tipton, Howard, Grant, Wabash, and adjacent counties.

 Susan Brooks (Republican)(Incumbent)(Re-elected Nov. 6, 2018)Retiring  in  2020.

Victoria Spartz (Republican)

Kristina Hale (Democrat)
6th District - Covers East and Central Indiana including Delaware, Rush, and Wayne counties.

Greg Pence (R)(Vice-President Pence's brother)-Elected Nov. 6, 2018
Jeannine Lake (Democrat)
 7th District - Covers Central Indianapolis and a majority of Marion County
Andre Carson(Democrat)(Incumbent)(Re-elected Nov. 6, 2018)

Susan Smith (Republican)

8th District - Covers southwestern Indiana including Evansville and extending northward to include Terre Haute and Vermilion and most of Warren County.
Larry Bucshon (Republican)(Incumbent)(Re-elected Nov. 8, 2016)

E. Thomasini Marsili (Democrat)

9th District (Covers south central and southeastern Indiana including cities such as Bloomington, Jeffersonville, and Madison and adjacent counties.
Trey Hollingsworth (Incumbent Republican)(Re-Elected Nov. 6, 2018)

Andy Ruff (Democrat)

Indiana Election Campaign Resources

Indiana Secretary of State Election Division-Indiana state agency responsible for regulating campaigns for Indiana
state and local offices. Features campaign contribution information through Indiana Campaign Finance Database.

Indiana Election Laws and Regulations
Indiana Code HSSE REF 348.772 In25c (Title 3)-Broken into 36 Titles, or subjects, this has the complete text of Indiana State Laws.
Indiana Administrative Code-(Title 18)-Broken into several hundred titles, or subjects, this is the complete text of regulations used to enforce Indiana State Laws.
Indiana General Assembly-Go here and click on the "Bills and Resolutions" link to search for state legislation on bills and other topics.
General Assembly Committees-Provides links to the House Elections and Apportionment Committee, Senate Elections and Redistricting Subcommittee, and Senate Local Government and Elections Committee which are responsible for reviewing proposed legislation and the Indiana Secretary of State Election Division.

Indiana Governor and Lt. Governor Campaign Resources

Eric Holcombe & Suzanne Crouch(R)(Republican Gov. & Lt. Gov. candidates)(Elected Nov. 8, 2016)

Woody Myers &  Linda  Lawson Democrat)
Indiana Republican Party
Indiana Democratic Party

Indiana Libertarian Party

Indiana General Assembly Candidates

House District 26

Chris Campbell (D)-Elected Nov. 6, 2018

House District 27

Sheila Klinker (D)Incumbent(Re-elected Nov. 6, 2018)

James Haas (Republican)Facebook

Local Election Information
Tippecanoe County Board of Election and Registration-Features voter registration information, forms, and voting locations.

Prosecutor Pat Harrington (Incumbent-Republican)
Circuit Court Clerk

Julie Roush (R)

Vicky Woeste (D)


Robert Plantenga (Incumbent Republican)


Shannon Withers (R)



Bob Goldsmith (D)

Prepared by Professor Bert Chapman-Government Information, History,&  Political Science, & Librarian. Send updated information to  me at the email below:
HSSE Library 258 Phone:

Subject Specialist