Research Guides: HTM 499 (Spring 2024): Business Development in Hospitality and Tourism: Home

Databases Covered in Class

IBISWorld Industry Reports
Data-driven reports on industries. Each report is approximately 30-40 pages in length, providing an authoritative overview of trends, competitive forces, statistics, top companies, and more.
MarketResearch.com Academic
Market research reports: a wide range of categories like food and beverage, technology and media, heavy industry, life science, consumer goods, and service industries.
Mintel
Market research reports and consumer data: primarily B2C (business-to-consumer) categories like food and drinks, travel, beauty and personal care, pets, household goods, and retail and apparel.
Data Axle Reference Solutions
Basic directory data including 93 million US businesses, 379 million historical US businesses, and 261 million individual US consumers. Use it to build lists like these examples: all coffee shops in Indianapolis, all semiconductor machinery manufacturers in California and Indiana, or consumers in West Lafayette interested in cooking / wine with a household income between $125,000-$200,000.
PitchBook This link opens in a new window
A top resource for private market data -- startups, private equity and venture capital investors, angel investors, limited partners like foundations and sovereign wealth funds, plus deals, funding rounds, and more. Also provides information about public and private companies plus market research.
Note: This resource requires you to create a user account.

Hospitality and Tourism Complete
Scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. Contains more than 828,000 records, with coverage dating as far back as 1965. There is full text for more than 490 publications, including periodicals, company & country reports, and books.
Gale OneFile: Hospitality and Tourism This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and trade publications that cover topics including the cultural and economic aspects of travel and tourism, the historical and current state of affairs in the hospitality and tourism industries, and guidance for travelers such as information on state parks, planning a vacation, and full-text travel guides from Fodor's.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications, incorporating 75 business news magazines, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry
Trade and industry-specific publications that cover trends, product launches, and other key contexts. Can also be searched as part of the larger ABI/INFORM Collection.

SimplyAnalytics
Web-based mapping, analytics and data visualization of demographic variables, psychographic variables, and business locations. Map any area down to the US census block level. Add map data data variables and create custom reports. Includes MRI-SimmonsLOCAL and EASI customer data.
Sage Data
A vast, multidisciplinary repository of standardized statistical datasets from more than 550 sources with over 2 billion data points including US and international government providers. For business research, includes consumer data from Claritas, Data Axle, and EASI plus Woods and Poole demographic and economic data projections through 2060.