A general overview of resources for bioinformatics. The content is intended for students in the sciences and provides both introductory and some advanced resources.
Ensembl is a genome browser for vertebrate genomes that supports research in comparative genomics, evolution, sequence variation and transcriptional regulation.
InterMine is an open source data warehouse system for the integration and analysis of complex biological data. Websites for many model organisms are built using InterMine. This registry contains links to these sites.
The UCSC Genome Browser is a web-based tool serving as a multi-powered microscope that allows researchers to view all 23 chromosomes of the human genome at any scale from a full chromosome down to an individual nucleotide.
Repbase is a database of prototypic sequences representing repetitive DNA from different eukaryotic species. Repbase is used in genome sequencing projects as a reference collection for masking and annotation of repetitive DNA (e.g. by RepeatMasker or CENSOR).
The Genotype-Tissue Expression project is an ongoing effort to build a comprehensive public resource to study tissue-specific gene expression and regulation.
The HGNC is responsible for approving unique symbols and names for human loci, including protein coding genes, ncRNA genes and pseudogenes, to allow unambiguous scientific communication.
The Cancer Genome Atlas (TCGA), a landmark cancer genomics program, molecularly characterized over 20,000 primary cancer and matched normal samples spanning 33 cancer types.
COSMIC, the Catalogue Of Somatic Mutations In Cancer, is the world's largest and most comprehensive resource for exploring the impact of somatic mutations in human cancer.
The goal of the Dependency Map (DepMap) portal is to empower the research community to make discoveries related to cancer vulnerabilities by providing open access to key cancer dependencies analytical and visualization tools.
The GDC Data Portal is a robust data-driven platform that allows cancer researchers and bioinformaticians to search and download cancer data for analysis.
InterMine is an open source data warehouse system for the integration and analysis of complex biological data. Websites for many model organisms are built using InterMine. This registry contains links to these sites.
MGI is the international database resource for the laboratory mouse, providing integrated genetic, genomic, and biological data to facilitate the study of human health and disease.
The Saccharomyces Genome Database (SGD) provides comprehensive integrated biological information for the budding yeast Saccharomyces cerevisiae along with search and analysis tools to explore these data, enabling the discovery of functional relationships between sequence and gene products in fungi and higher organisms.
WormBase is an international consortium of biologists and computer scientists providing the research community with accurate, current, accessible information concerning the genetics, genomics and biology of C. elegans and related nematodes.
The Database for Annotation, Visualization and Integrated Discovery (DAVID) provides a comprehensive set of functional annotation tools for investigators to understand the biological meaning behind large lists of genes.
The mission of the GO Consortium is to develop a comprehensive, computational model of biological systems, ranging from the molecular to the organism level, across the multiplicity of species in the tree of life.
REACTOME is an open-source, open access, manually curated and peer-reviewed pathway database. Our goal is to provide intuitive bioinformatics tools for the visualization, interpretation and analysis of pathway knowledge to support basic and clinical research, genome analysis, modeling, systems biology and education.
A collection of 20,005 Pathway/Genome Databases (PGDBs) for model eukaryotes and for thousands of microbes, plus software tools for exploring them. BioCyc is an encyclopedic reference that contains curated data from 130,000 publications.
genetic and molecular biology data for the model higher plant Arabidopsis thaliana . Data available from TAIR includes the complete genome sequence along with gene structure, gene product information, gene expression, DNA and seed stocks, genome maps, genetic and physical markers, publications, and information about the Arabidopsis research community. Gene product function data is updated every week from the latest published research literature and community data submissions.
TAIR also provides extensive linkouts to other Arabidopsis resources.
Phytozome is the Plant Comparative Genomics portal of the Department of Energy's Joint Genome Institute. It provides the plant science community a hub for accessing, visualizing and analyzing JGI-sequenced plant genomes, as well as selected genomes and datasets that have been sequenced elsewhere.
Our mission is to provide a comprehensive, high-quality resource of plant transcription factors (TFs), regulatory elements and interactions between them, advancing the understanding of plant transcriptional regulatory system.
ThaleMine enables you to analyze Arabidopsis thaliana genes, proteins, gene expression, protein-protein interactions, orthologs, and more. This site is similar to TAIR but uses a different interface.
