Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Purdue University Purdue Logo Purdue Libraries

SCLA 102: Utopia, Heterotopia, Dystopia

Guide to help students find resources on historical American utopian communities

Article Databases--An Overview

The Purdue Library Catalog can be helpful in browsing books in the Purdue collection. The catalog also allows you to search for whole journal issues by performing a "Journal Search" and searching the journal title.

However, Article Databases are tools that enable library users to perform more sophisticated searches for scholarly literature. These databases are usually designed according to subject and can either simply index an article (or book chapter) or provide the article in full-text.

Tool Features

  • Subject-specific limiters to refine search results (e.g. education level, publication audience)
  • Peer-reviewed article limiter option
  • Controlled vocabulary determined by field experts to classify articles
  • Records providing bibliographic information for sources both within and outside Purdue
  • Folder creation capabilities for account holders

 

For guidance on different approaches to searching watch the following short video provided by Professor Heather Howard with Purdue's Parrish Library:

Relevant Article Databases

  • America: History and LifeIndex of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Covers over 2,000 journals published worldwide. Strong English-language journal coverage is balanced by an international perspective on topics and events, including abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages.

  • JSTORFull-text digital archive of over 2600 scholarly journals, especially strong in Social Sciences, Humanities, Economics, and Mathematics.

  • Academic Search CompleteAcademic Search Complete is a general academic index that indexes more than 8,200 magazines and journals from every academic discipline and provides the full-text of more than 4,600. In addition, Academic Search Complete offers access to more than 75,000 videos from the Associated Press. Videos relevant to the search terms will appear in a carousel in the result list.

Journals on Communal Societies