Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Purdue University Purdue Logo Purdue Libraries

SCLA 102: Utopia, Heterotopia, Dystopia

Guide to help students find resources on historical American utopian communities

Digital Source Collections

  • America's Historical Newspapers (Early American Newspapers, Series, 6, 7 & 10) - Fully searchable runs of 215 newspapers from 27 states and the District of Columbia from 1741-1922. Highlights of Series 6 include the Detroit Plaindealer; The Colored American, Detroit's first successful black newspaper; and the Arkansas Gazette, one of the first papers west of the Mississippi. Highlights of Series 7 include New Orleans' Times-Picayune, established in 1837, and The Oregonian, founded in 1850 in Portland and still the state's largest daily.
  • Gale Primary Sources - Gale Primary Sources is an integrated research environment that allows scholars to search across more than 30 Gale primary source collections, including Eighteenth Century Collections Online, Nineteenth Century Collections Online, Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers, Archives of Human Sexuality and Identity, The Making of the Modern World, and other collections.
  • Digital Public Library of America - Large open access collection providing digital access to images, texts, videos, and sounds that may serve as primary or secondary sources in historical research
  • HathiTrust - A growing collection of several million scanned books, journals, and other digital resources, comparable to Google Books. Benefits include full-text and advanced bibliographic search capabilities, and full PDF downloading of works in the public domain (26% of the collection). HathiTrust is a partnership of more than 50 major research libraries working to ensure that the cultural record is preserved and accessible long into the future. It ingests digital content from its partner institutions as well as from Google, the Internet Archive, and Microsoft. In some cases, books that are only available in snippet view through Google Books are full text at HathiTrust, which is actively investigating the copyright status of works published up to 1964. Hathi (pronounced HAH-tee) is the Hindi word for elephant, a symbol of memory, wisdom, and strength.