Research Guides: Biomedical Engineering: Journal Articles

Medical Databases

PubMed
Provides access to citations from biomedical literature indexed by the National Library of Medicine. It also access and links to the other Entrez molecular biology resources. Journal articles will link to Purdue Libraries holdings. Also called Medline.

PubMed - NCBI Account
Enables you to search PubMed and set up a NCBI Account. You may customize your preferences, save searches, and create your own collections. You may set preferences for Outside Tool (Purdue University Libaries) and customize Results Display as needed..
PubMed Clinical Search
Limits PubMed to clinical results.
Clinical Trials.gov
Shows the results of "publicly and privately supported clinical studies of human participants conducted around the world."

Web of Science: All Databases
Provides access to the most cited journal articles and some conference papers. Also includes special analysis and citation reports.
Scopus
Indexes peer reviewed journals from 5,000 international publishers. It supports research needs of many disciplines including engineering, science, technology, and medicine. This is a new source in 2012 and permits downloads of many records. It does not cover as many years as Web of Science.
Google Scholar
Is a free service to many online journals and books. Since Purdue pays subscriptions to many online journals, setup your Library Links for Purdue University and Open World Cat - Library Search.

BrowZine
Uses an app to browse thousands of journals on an Ipad or Andoid Tablet. The linked URL goes to a library guide which gets you started. BrowZine is organized by topic and title. It permits you to save titles on "My Bookshelf" and download journal articles to your device or Drop Box. Most journals have issues back to 2005. A video is attached to this record. Some society publishers are not well represented.

CAB Abstracts
Provides comprehensive coverage of research in agriculture, biology, veterinary medicine and related fields. Contains a subsection of biomedical engineering.
Engineering Village (Compendex & INSPEC Combined)
Engineering and related disciplines.
BIOSIS Previews
Contains the best collection of references to journals in biological and and biomedical research covering pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and more.
Engineered Materials Abstracts
Brings together the majority of the leading materials science databases, with specialist content on materials science, metallurgy, ceramics, polymers, and composites used in engineering application.