Research Guides: Human Development and Family Studies: HDFS 313: Adolescent Development

Welcome!

This page has been tailored for HDFS 313: ADOLESCENT DEVELOPMENT.

Some Key HDFS Journals

Are your database search results too overwhelming or not really relevant to your topic? Try searching in one of the HDFS journals below. If you're off-campus, you may be prompted to log-in with your career account.

Find Articles -- Primary Databases

Use the databases below to find scholarly (journal) articles.

The most important database for this course is CHILD DEVELOPMENT & ADOLESCENT STUDIES.

The second choice is PSYCHINFO.

Use the family studies databases if your question has a more "family" related focus.

Child Development and Adolescent Studies Includes literature on the growth and development of children through the age of 21. Covers journal articles, book reviews, technical reports, book chapters, and dissertations.
PsycINFO Includes literature in psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, neuroscience, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, and linguistics.
Family and Society Studies Worldwide
anthology of four database files, providing access to more than 1.3 million records spanning from 1970 to the present. This resource indexes publications from a wide range of social science disciplines, including anthropology, sociology, psychology, demography, health sciences, education, economics, law, history and social work.
Family Studies Abstracts
This database includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to family studies, including marriage, divorce, family therapy and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.

Find Articles -- Using Comprehensive (All Subjects ) Databases

Use the databases below to expand your search into other disciplines. These databases have both scholarly (journal) and popular (magazine, newspaper) articles. Unlike the two databases above, which focus on child/adolescent, family studies, and psychology, they cover all subject areas.,

Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a general academic index that indexes more than 8,200 magazines and journals from every academic discipline and provides the full-text of more than 4,600.

In addition, Academic Search Complete offers access to more than 75,000 videos from the Associated Press. Videos relevant to the search terms will appear in a carousel in the result list.
Proquest Research Library
This database provides one-stop access to more than 4,000 periodicals from one of the broadest, most inclusive general reference databases ProQuest has to offer. Search from a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications and magazines covering over 150 academic disciplines.
Social Sciences Full Text
Social Sciences Full Text provides access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language journals published in the U.S. and elsewhere with full text and page images from scores of key publications, plus abstracting and indexing of hundreds of others.
Google Scholar
Searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. It includes a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.

Find Statistics

U.S. Census Data
Demographic data, by topic, from the U.S. Census Bureau.

Statistical Abstract of the U.S.
Annual compendium of statistics from government and nongovernmental sources produced by the Census Bureau from 1878-2012 and ProQuest from 2013-present.
Proquest Statistical Insight
Provides access to statistical information produced by U.S. Federal agencies, States, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations.

Human Development and Family Studies

Need help?

Search Google Scholar

Anatomy of a Research Article

Judy's Tricks of the Trade tutorial

Citing & Writing Help

Google Scholar Search Demo

Search Like a Pro

Welcome!

Some Key HDFS Journals

Find Articles -- Primary Databases

Find Articles -- Using Comprehensive (All Subjects ) Databases

Find Statistics