This guide expands the databases, print and e-books that are available for Biomedical Engineering
[Proxy Server] Provides access to citations from biomedical literature and also access and links to the other Entrez molecular biology resources. Journal articles will link to Purdue Libraries holdings. Also called Medline.
- PubMed - NCBI Account
Is the best PubMed weblink for using your own NCBI Account. This link permit you to save searches and create your own collections. Also called Medline. Off-campus, this PubMed version will not link to Purdue holdings
- PubMed Clinical Search
Is a subset of PubMed which limits results to the clinical setting.
- Clinical Trials.gov
"is a registry and results database of publicly and privately supported clinical studies of human participants conducted around the world."
- Cochrane Library
This database provides evidence-based articles (Systematic Reviews, Randomized Controlled Trials, Economic Evaluations, etc.). At Purdue Libraries Databases tab, at the "Select a database" pull-down menu, choose "Cochrane Library" and click "Go".
- Purdue University Librarie Links to All Medicine and Health Databases
Contains a list of 98 databases that vary from collections of journal articles and conference papers to a single significant e-book.
These databases cover a hugh number of journal articles in many disciplines. All have keyword searches with Web of Science and Scopus indexes title/abstracts/keywords while Google Scholar indexes full-text. There is some overlap but also unique titles in each.
- Web of Science (also known as Science Citation Index Expanded)
Covers references to a variety of in-depth journals and selected conference publications, including author abstracts, cited references, and related references covering the sciences, social sciences, and arts & humanities.
Indexes peer reviewed journals from 5,000 international publishers. It supports research needs of many disciplines including engineering, science, technology, and medicine. This is a new source in 2012 and permits downloads of many records. It does not cover as many years as Web of Science.
- Google Scholar
Is a free service to many online journals and books. Since Purdue pays subscriptions to many online journals, you may setup links to full-text sources using the OpenURL Referer
- OpenURL Referrer
Helps you set up links to Purdue Library holdings from Google Scholar. The OpenURL referrer put the Find It @ Purdue icon in your Google Scholar search results, allowing for quick, easy determination if you can get an electronic copy of an article.
- EI Engineering Village 2
Contains two comprehensive historical engineering databases: INSPEC and COMPENDEX which index journal articles and conference publications back to the 1890s
- BIOSIS Previews
Contains the best collection of references to journals in biological and and biomedical research covering pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and more.
- SciFinder Scholar (Chemical Abstracts)
Indexes a comprehensive collection of chemistry journals, conference proceedings, and patents. It contains many historical materials.
- Materials Research Database with METADEX
Brings together the majority of the leading materials science databases, with specialist content on materials science, metallurgy, ceramics, polymers, and composites used in engineering application.
For a more complete description of the topic, review this Purdue Library Guide on Dissertations.
This section describes two indices that cover many subject areas. Some dissertations are full-text.
- Dissertations and Theses (PQDT)
Indexes theses and dissertations from U.S. and international universities. There are more dissertations than master's theses. Most are full-text
- NDLTD Union Catalog
Provides access 4 million electronic theses and dissertations. Multiple interfaces are available. VTLS Thesis Search interface appears best.
Office Hours in Biomedical Engineering
10 am to Noon - Fall Semester
Table near South Windows