Research Guides: Scientific News Literacy: Environmental science and conservation news sources

Overview

This guide will help you navigate your Current Events assignments for AGRY/EAPS/FNR/NRES 12500. It's important not only to find current news events, but also to dig a little deeper to determine whether a news story is reliable and accurate. This page provides links to some reputable general and environmental conservation focused news sources. The Fake News tab explains a little bit about what 'fake news' is and some sources that try to identify fake news stories. The Spot Fake News tab gives you your own tools for evaluating the quality of information sources, and Manage News Sources tab offers some tips on how to seek and organize your information so you can find it again when you need it!

APA Help

Your assignments require citations in APA format. Here are some guides to help:

APA Formatting and Style Guide
From Purdue's OWL.
APA Style Help
Overviews, tutorials, and FAQs

Purdue Libraries Newspaper Search

News Sources

PressReader
Provides instant online access to today's newspapers from around the world in full-color, full-page format. The ever-expanding collection currently includes more than 4,000 U.S. and international titles—from 100 countries in 60 languages.

Coverage: Current editions with up to a 60-day backfile
NexisUni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis -- including US Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
Newswires This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
EBSCO's Newswires provides near real-time access to top world-wide news from Associated Press, United Press International, PR Newswire, Xinhua, CNN Wire, and Business Wire on a continuous basis. This content is monitored by EBSCO and relevant results are provided when users enter searches in EBSCOhost. This collection includes AP Financial News, AP Top News, AP WorldStream, AP U.S. Politics & Government, AP 50 State Reports, UPI Security Industry, UPI Emerging Threats, UPI Business, UPI Entertainment, UPI Sports, UPI Top News, Arabia 2000, and more. End users can immediately access the full text of the web content, by following the link in the record. The index to the full text content in EBSCO Newswires is held for a rolling 30-day archive by EBSCO.

Specialized Topics

ClimateWire
Comprehensive coverage of the debate over climate policy and its effects on business, the environment and society. Updated daily at 8:00am, ClimateWire covers in-depth the key issues that surround the debate over climate change.
Environment and Energy News
E&E Publishing is the leading source for comprehensive, daily coverage of environmental and energy policy and markets. The publications available from Environment and Energy News are:
EnergyWire: The Politics and Business of Unconventional Energy.
ClimateWire: The Politics and Business of Climate Change.
E&E Daily: The Best Way to Track Congress.
Greenwire: The Leader in Energy and Environmental Policy News.
E&ENews PM: Late-Breaking Energy and Environmental Policy News.
E&ETV's OnPoint: Compelling Interviews with Key Policy Leaders.
Greenwire This link opens in a new window
Greenwire is the leading information source for comprehensive, objective, daily coverage of environmental and energy policy, politics and markets.

UN Global Issues Website
Offers in depth analysis of a variety of topics including:
Climate Change
Food
Oceans and Laws of the Sea
Population
Water

Scientific News Literacy

Associate Professor

Professor

Overview

APA Help

Purdue Libraries Newspaper Search

News Sources

Specialized Topics