Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What is PLM?
Glossary of Terms
Computer Aided Design
CAD and Rapid Prototyping for Product Design by Computer-aided design (CAD) and rapid prototyping (RP) are now a fundamental part of the professional practice of product design and are therefore essential skills for product design undergraduate students. This book provides students with all the tools needed to get to grips with the range of both CAD software and RP processes used in the industry. Presented in a visually engaging format, this book is packed with case study examples from contemporary product designers, as well as screen shots, CAD models, and images of rapid prototypes highlighting the design process. This book shows how CAD and RP software is used in product design and explains, in clear language, the similarities and differences between the different software packages and processes.
Publication Date: 2014-06-17
Product Design Modelling Using CAD/CAE by Product Design Modeling using CAD/CAE is the third part of a four-part series. It is the first book to integrate discussion of computer design tools throughout the design process. Through this book, you will: Understand basic design principles and all digital design paradigms Understand computer-aided design, engineering, and manufacturing (CAD/CAE/CAM) tools available for various design-related tasks Understand how to put an integrated system together to conduct all-digital design (ADD) Provides a comprehensive and thorough coverage of essential elements for product modeling using the virtual engineering paradigm Covers CAD/CAE in product design, including solid modeling, mechanical assembly, parameterization, product data management, and data exchange in CAD Case studies and tutorial examples at the end of each chapter provide hands-on practice in implementing off-the-shelf computer design tools Provides two projects showing the use of Pro/ENGINEER and SolidWorks to implement concepts discussed in the book
Publication Date: 2014-02-07
Product Manufacturing and Cost Estimates Using CAD/CAE by This is the second part of a four part series that covers discussion of computer design tools throughout the design process. Through this book, the reader will... ...understand basic design principles and all digital design paradigms. ...understand CAD/CAE/CAM tools available for various design related tasks. ...understand how to put an integrated system together to conduct All Digital Design (ADD). ...understand industrial practices in employing ADD and tools for product development. Provides a comprehensive and thorough coverage of essential elements for product manufacturing and cost estimating using the computer aided engineering paradigm Covers CAD/CAE in virtual manufacturing, tool path generation, rapid prototyping, and cost estimating; each chapter includes both analytical methods and computer-aided design methods, reflecting the use of modern computational tools in engineering design and practice A case study and tutorial example at the end of each chapter provides hands-on practice in implementing off-the-shelf computer design tools Provides two projects at the end of the book showing the use of Pro/ENGINEER#65533; and SolidWorks#65533; to implement concepts discussed in the book
Publication Date: 2013-07-19
Product Data Management
Implementing and Integrating Product Data Management and Software Configuration Management by Because today's products rely on tightly integrated hardware and software components, system and software engineers, and project and product managers need to have an understanding of both product data management (PDM) and software configuration management (SCM). This manual is designed to offer the reader that essential knowledge. It points out the similarities and differences of these two processes, showing how they can be combined to ensure effective and efficient product and system development, production and maintenance.
Publication Date: 2003-07-01
Product Information Management by Product Information Management is the latest topic that companies across the world are deliberating upon. As companies sell online, they are confronted with the fact that not all information necessary to sell their products is available. Where marketing, sales and finance have been core processes of the corporate world for a long time, PIM is a new business process with its own unique implementation and management challenges. The book describes the core PIM processes; their strategic, tactical and operational benefits and implementation challenges. The book has been written for managers, business users as well as students, and illustrates the different concepts with practical cases from companies like Coca Cola, Nikon and Thomas Cook.
Publication Date: 2014-05-19
Adaptive Supply Chain Management by Adaptive Supply Chain Management develops new viewpoints on the SCM goal paradigm, problem semantics, and decision-making support. Drawing upon years of research and practical experience, and using numerous examples, the authors unite conceptual considerations of supply chains with a constructive level of engineering and solutions to real-world problems. Adaptive Supply Chain Management provides advanced insights into dynamics, complexity, and uncertainty in supply chains from the perspectives of systems analysis, control theory, and operations research. It also considers supply chain adaptability, stability, and crisis-resistance. Providing readers with a comprehensive view of advanced SCM concepts, constructive mathematical techniques and models, Adaptive Supply Chain Management is an invaluable text for practitioners and researchers who specialize in SCM and operations.
Publication Date: 2009-12-15
Green and Lean Management by This book focusses on the challenges and changes organizational management faces in an era when the need to develop environmentally aware processes meets high levels of competition. It covers the synergetic effects, how re-use, recycling, waste reduction, and other sustainable production strategies can add value, low costs and time of production. Sustainable business behavior is not only an environmental perspective on management, but more and more contains an organizational perspective. Taking into account these issues, green and lean management appears as the way managers can drive their employees to continuously improve the management processes that add value to the organization and costumers. This book provides information on principles, strategies, models, and applications of green and lean management, and at the same time communicates the latest research activity relating to this scientific field world-wide.
Publication Date: 2016-10-24
Reverse Supply Chains: Issues and Analysis by Winner of IIE Book of the Month, December 2013 The introduction of reverse supply chains has created many challenges in network design, transportation, selection of used products, selection and evaluation of suppliers, performance measurement, marketing-related issues, end-of-life (EOL) alternative selection, remanufacturing, disassembly, and product acquisition management, to name a few. Under the guidance of an expert editor and with contributions from pioneers in the field, Reverse Supply Chains: Issues and Analysisaddresses several important issues faced by strategic, tactical, and operation planners of reverse supply chains, using efficient models in a variety of decision-making situations providing easy-to-use mathematical and/or simulation modeling-based solution methodologies for a majority of the issues. The book introduces the basic concepts of reverse logistics and systematically analyzes the literature by classifying more than 400 published references into five major types of product returns. It then identifies the basic activities and scope of reverse logistics, examining its drivers and barriers as well as major issues and challenges. The chapters cover metrics for quantitatively comparing competing new-product designs for end-of-life disassembly on a reverse production line, how to use the theory of constraints thinking processes to determine the core problems in reverse logistics, and an integrated multi-criteria decision-making methodology using Taguchi loss functions AHP (Analytic Hierarchy Process) and fuzzy programming. They explore issues associated with remanufacturing and green and resilient supply chain management and propose system modeling based on graph theory and network flows application to analyze material resource flows in the life cycle of a product. Reverse supply chains is a new and fast growing area of research and only a handful of books are on the market, however those books discuss specific projects rather than provide a cohesive focus on the topics. This book will provide a foundation and understanding of the topic and also highlight how current issues can be approached in a decision-making situation--using the appropriate technique.
Publication Date: 2013-01-08
Supply Chain Management Best Practices by Learn what it takes to develop and have a "best-in-class" supply chain This new edition shows you how to build supply chains that work by illustrating how leading companies are doing it. Identifying world-class supply chains in more than a dozen different industries and explaining in detail how these companies got to where they are, this essential book reveals the proven strategies, solutions, and performance metrics used by leading companies to design their extended enterprises. Identifies proven strategies, solutions, and performance metrics for supply chain management best practice benchmarks Shows how to manage supply chains in a global marketplace and how to choose third-party providers New edition includes new chapters on green supply chains and lean supply chains, and expanded analysis of emerging technologies Includes coverage of supply chain metrics, planning and forecasting, procurement, manufacturing, transportation, globalization, customer service, collaboration, security, and workforce management Written by the Editorial Director of Penton Media's Supply Chain Group and a Contributing Editor to IndustryWeek magazine It also offers guidance on the latest technology, green supply chains, going lean, how to choose third-party logistics providers, and how to manage the supply chain in a global environment.
Publication Date: 2010-03-30
Supply Chain Risk Management by One of the many outcomes resulting from the explosion of international trade is access to lower cost production opportunities through outsourcing. This phenomenon has increased the importance of supply chains, the information technology needed to coordinate them and the need for this relatively complex enterprise to be exceptionally well-managed. There are obviously many cost benefits to be had from maintaining a strong and far-reaching supply chain. However, this opportunity to lower costs entails significant risks, such as tsunamis, earthquakes, political unrest, and economic turbulence. This book will introduce concepts and examples of risk in supply chain management, followed by an identification and discussion of an array of quantitative tools (selection methods, risk simulation modeling, and business scorecard analysis) to help manage these risks. Many books are appearing that address various aspects of supply chain risks. No other book known to the author addresses this set of modeling tools as a means of managing this risk.
Publication Date: 2011-11-21