Research Guides: HTM 231: Hospitality and Tourism Marketing: Home

Articles

ABI/INFORM Global
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive business database covering the broadest range of business topics for both academic researchers and professionals in the workplace. In addition to thousands of scholarly journals, includes full articles from The Economist, Financial Times, and Wall Street Journal. Can also be searched as part of the larger ABI/INFORM Collection.
ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry
Trade and industry-specific publications that cover trends, product launches, and other key contexts. Can also be searched as part of the larger ABI/INFORM Collection.
Business Source Complete
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An all-purpose, vast business database with thousands of full-text academic journals and mainstream publications. Also includes thousands of case studies, SWOT analyses, industry reports, and a selection of brief company profiles.
Hospitality and Tourism Complete
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. Contains more than 828,000 records, with coverage dating as far back as 1965. There is full text for more than 490 publications, including periodicals, company & country reports, and books.

Market Research

MarketResearch.com Academic
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Market research reports: a wide range of categories like food and beverage, technology and media, heavy industry, life science, consumer goods, and service industries.
Mintel
- This link opens in a new window
Market research reports and consumer data: primarily B2C (business-to-consumer) categories like food and drinks, travel, beauty and personal care, pets, household goods, and retail and apparel.
Plunkett Research
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Aggregates industry reports, company profiles, and job-seeker resources.

Quick MBA Marketing

Consumer Information

MRI-Simmons Catalyst
- This link opens in a new window
Demographic, lifestyle, product and brand usage, and advertising media preferences reported by a sample of over 25,000 US consumers.

World Development Indicators
An analysis and visualization tool that contains collections of time series data on a variety of topics. Create queries, generate tables, charts, and maps; and easily save, embed, and share them.

SimplyAnalytics
- This link opens in a new window
Web-based mapping, analytics and data visualization of demographic variables, psychographic variables, and business locations. Map any area down to the US census block level. Add map data data variables and create custom reports. Includes MRI-SimmonsLOCAL and EASI customer data.

Company/Industry

Bizminer
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Choose from two main categories. Industry Financial Analysis provides financial ratios and data for industry segments with sales class filters. Industry Market Profile offers demographics, competitors, market volume, and more for the entire US, states, counties, zip codes, cities, and customizable market radius.
IBISWorld Industry Reports
- This link opens in a new window
Data-driven reports on industries. Each report is approximately 30-40 pages in length, providing an authoritative overview of trends, competitive forces, statistics, top companies, and more.
Data Axle Reference Solutions
Basic directory data including 93 million US businesses, 379 million historical US businesses, and 261 million individual US consumers. Use it to build lists like these examples: all coffee shops in Indianapolis, all semiconductor machinery manufacturers in California and Indiana, or consumers in West Lafayette interested in cooking / wine with a household income between $125,000-$200,000.

Citing Sources APA

Business Sources Examples Cited in APA 2007 Format

Journal, Magazine, and Newspaper Articles from Full-Text Electronic Databases (e.g., Business Source Premier, and newspapers such as the New York Times and the Wall Street Journal)

Article Format: Author's Last name, Initials. (year). Title of article. Name of journal/magazine, volume number(issue number), page number(s). Retrieved from Name of database.

Article Example: Heighes, M. L. (2002). Develop an effective e-commerce policy. Credit Union Magazine, 68 (3), 87-88. Retrieved from Business Source Premier database.

Newspaper Format: Author. (year, month day). Title. Name of newspaper, page number(s). Retrieved from Name of database.
Newspaper Example:Paletta, D. (2007, May 9). Home Depot seeks a bank. Wall Street Journal, B3. Retrieved from ProQuest Newspapers database.

Journal and Newspaper articles (print )
Article Format: Author (Last name, Initials). (year). Title of article. Name of journal/ newspaper/magazine, (volume number)(issue number), page number(s).
Article Example: Abelle, B. E. (1975). CLU profile. CLU Journal, 29(1), 60-63.

Newspaper Article Format : Author. (year, month day). Title. Name of newspaper, page number(s).
Newspaper Article Example: Paletta, D. (2007, May 9). Home Depot seeks a bank. Wall Street Journal, p. B3.

Print Business Reference Sources
Lifestyle Market Analyst Format: Name of profile. (Year). Lifestyle Market Analyst (page no.). Wilmette, IL: Standard Rate & Data Service.
Lifestyle Market Analyst Example: Home workshop. (2006). Lifestyle Market Analyst (p. 839). Wilmette, IL: Standard Rate & Data Service.

Full-Text Reports from Databases
Choices 3 Format:Title of file. (year, season). Simmons Choices 3.
Choices 3 Example:Regular cola. (2004, Spring). Simmons Choices 3

Datamonitor Format: Datamonitor. (date). Name of Report. Retrieved from Business Source Premier database.
Datamonitor Example: Datamonitor. (2007). Home Depot: Company profile. Retrieved from Business Source Premier database.

Datastream Format: Author. (date of file). Name of file. Retrieved from Datastream Advance 4.0 database.
Datastream Example: Conference Board. (2007, April). Consumer confidence. Retrieved, from Datastream Advance 4.0 database.

Industry Market Research Format: Title of Report. (year, month day). Retrieved from Industry Market Research database.
Industry Market Research Example: 44211-Furniture Stores in the U. S. (2007, March 23). Retrieved from Industry Market Research database.

Morningstar Investment Research Center Format: Title of section. (date). Name of Company. Retrieved from Morningstar Research Center database.
Morningstar Investment Research Center Example: Key ratios. (2008). Eastman Kodak Company.
Retrieved from Morningstar Research Center database.
Morningstar Research Center database.

Mergent Online Format:Name of Company. (n.d.) Retrieved from Mergent database.
Mergent Example:Nike Inc. (n.d.) Retrieved from Mergent database.

World Wide Web Sources
Format: Author. (Date, if no date: n.d.). Title. Name of file. Date retrieved, from http://---------------------Example: U. S. Department of State. (2006). Background note: Argentina. Background Notes. Retrieved March 6, 2007, from: http://www.state.gov/r/pa/ei/bgn/ 26516.htm

HTM 231: Hospitality and Tourism Marketing

Business Information Specialist

Parrish Library Contact Info

Articles

Market Research

Consumer Information

Company/Industry

Citing Sources APA