Research Guides: HTM 212: Management and Leadership in Hospitality and Tourism: Home

Article Databases

ABI/Inform Collection
- This link opens in a new window
An all-purpose, vast business database with thousands of full-text academic journals and mainstream publications, dissertations, and working papers, including sources like The Economist, Financial Times, and Wall Street Journal.
Business Source Complete
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An all-purpose, vast business database with thousands of full-text academic journals and mainstream publications. Also includes thousands of case studies, SWOT analyses, industry reports, and a selection of brief company profiles.
CAB Abstracts
Provides authoritative research information on agriculture, environment and related applied life sciences.

Sources scanned selectively for records are: professional and trade journals (over 9,000), reports, bulletins, conference proceedings, symposia, workshops, scientific texts, technical and popular books, theses, annual reports and a few categories of patents and standards.
DiversityInc.com
DiversityInc is the leading publication on diversity and business. Founded in 1998 as a web-based publication, our monthly print magazine was launched in 2002. DiversityInc.com has the largest dedicated career center for diverse professionals, and a core part of our business is benchmarking companies against our DiversityInc Top 50 Companies for Diversity data
Factiva
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to top national and international newspapers including the Wall Street Journal, newswires, business journals, and a limited number of market research reports. Updated daily.
Hospitality and Tourism Complete
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. Contains more than 828,000 records, with coverage dating as far back as 1965. There is full text for more than 490 publications, including periodicals, company & country reports, and books.
OmniFile Full Text Mega
Provides invaluable support for research in all core undergraduate subjects and for cross-disciplinary work.
Proquest Research Library
This database provides one-stop access to more than 4,000 periodicals from one of the broadest, most inclusive general reference databases ProQuest has to offer. Search from a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications and magazines covering over 150 academic disciplines.
PsycINFO
This database contains more than one million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports, all in the field of psychology. It also includes information about the psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law. Journal coverage, which spans from 1887 to present, includes international material selected from more than 1,700 periodicals in over 35 languages.
Regional Business News
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications, incorporating 75 business news magazines, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.

Prezis

Types of Documents - HTM

Citing Sources APA

Business Sources Examples Cited in APA 2007 Format

Journal, Magazine, and Newspaper Articles from Full-Text Electronic Databases (e.g., Business Source Premier, and newspapers such as the New York Times and the Wall Street Journal)

Article Format: Author's Last name, Initials. (year). Title of article. Name of journal/magazine, volume number(issue number), page number(s). Retrieved from Name of database.

Article Example: Heighes, M. L. (2002). Develop an effective e-commerce policy. Credit Union Magazine, 68 (3), 87-88. Retrieved from Business Source Premier database.

Newspaper Format: Author. (year, month day). Title. Name of newspaper, page number(s). Retrieved from Name of database.
Newspaper Example:Paletta, D. (2007, May 9). Home Depot seeks a bank. Wall Street Journal, B3. Retrieved from ProQuest Newspapers database.

Journal and Newspaper articles (print )
Article Format: Author (Last name, Initials). (year). Title of article. Name of journal/ newspaper/magazine, (volume number)(issue number), page number(s).
Article Example: Abelle, B. E. (1975). CLU profile. CLU Journal, 29(1), 60-63.

Newspaper Article Format : Author. (year, month day). Title. Name of newspaper, page number(s).
Newspaper Article Example: Paletta, D. (2007, May 9). Home Depot seeks a bank. Wall Street Journal, p. B3.

Print Business Reference Sources
Lifestyle Market Analyst Format: Name of profile. (Year). Lifestyle Market Analyst (page no.). Wilmette, IL: Standard Rate & Data Service.
Lifestyle Market Analyst Example: Home workshop. (2006). Lifestyle Market Analyst (p. 839). Wilmette, IL: Standard Rate & Data Service.

Full-Text Reports from Databases
Choices 3 Format:Title of file. (year, season). Simmons Choices 3.
Choices 3 Example:Regular cola. (2004, Spring). Simmons Choices 3

Datamonitor Format: Datamonitor. (date). Name of Report. Retrieved from Business Source Premier database.
Datamonitor Example: Datamonitor. (2007). Home Depot: Company profile. Retrieved from Business Source Premier database.

Datastream Format: Author. (date of file). Name of file. Retrieved from Datastream Advance 4.0 database.
Datastream Example: Conference Board. (2007, April). Consumer confidence. Retrieved, from Datastream Advance 4.0 database.

Industry Market Research Format: Title of Report. (year, month day). Retrieved from Industry Market Research database.
Industry Market Research Example: 44211-Furniture Stores in the U. S. (2007, March 23). Retrieved from Industry Market Research database.

Morningstar Investment Research Center Format: Title of section. (date). Name of Company. Retrieved from Morningstar Research Center database.
Morningstar Investment Research Center Example: Key ratios. (2008). Eastman Kodak Company.
Retrieved from Morningstar Research Center database.
Morningstar Research Center database.

Mergent Online Format:Name of Company. (n.d.) Retrieved from Mergent database.
Mergent Example:Nike Inc. (n.d.) Retrieved from Mergent database.

World Wide Web Sources
Format: Author. (Date, if no date: n.d.). Title. Name of file. Date retrieved, from http://---------------------Example: U. S. Department of State. (2006). Background note: Argentina. Background Notes. Retrieved March 6, 2007, from: http://www.state.gov/r/pa/ei/bgn/ 26516.htm

HTM 212: Management and Leadership in Hospitality and Tourism

Business Information Specialist

Parrish Library Contact Info

Other Guides

Article Databases

Prezis

Citing Sources APA