Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search Like a Pro
Check out this 3-minute video for search tips.
Is it "scholarly?"
Watch this brief video to review ways you can determine whether or not an article is "scholarly."
More Organizing & Citing
Check out this free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources.
Find Articles - Databases
Use the databases below to find articles. Each has a different focus, so read the brief descriptions before searching.
ScienceDirect Leading scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 journals and almost 20,000 books.
Applied Science & Technology Full Text & Index Retrospective Indexes over 400 English-language periodicals in a wide variety of industrial and mechanical arts, including aeronautics and space science, chemistry, computer technology, construction, engineering, and physics. Partial full-text coverage is available.
Newspaper Source Plus This database provides selected full text coverage for 245 newspapers, newswires and other sources. This collection includes cover-to-cover full text for The Christian Science Monitor and The Los Angeles Times as well as selected full text from hundreds of regional newspapers. International newspaper coverage includes cover-to-cover full text for The Times (London), The Toronto Star, The Australian, and more. Newswire coverage includes AP Online (Associated Press), Asia Pulse, Canadian Press Wire, World Stream Newswires and more.
Proquest Research Library Use to find articles (including journal, newspaper, and magazine articles) on a wide range of topics. Use the search options to limit by type of article and publication date.
Find Articles - Google Scholar
Google Scholar looks a lot like "regular Google," but it only contains scholarly publications, mainly articles. It includes some (not all) of the articles you may find using the Libraries research databases, so use it in addition to databases.
Full-text access to many materials in Google Scholar is not available to everyone, so click here for instructions for setting your Scholar preference, so that full-text links from Purdue Libraries will show up in your Google Scholar results.