Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
How to Read a Research Article
Anatomy of a Research Article
60 Second Science on YouTube
Find Articles - Databases
Use the databases below to find an article. Each has a different focus, so read the brief descriptions before searching.
ScienceDirect Leading scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 journals and almost 20,000 books.
Applied Science & Technology Full Text & Index Retrospective Indexes over 400 English-language periodicals in a wide variety of industrial and mechanical arts, including aeronautics and space science, chemistry, computer technology, construction, engineering, and physics. Partial full-text coverage is available.
Newspaper Source Plus Content from newspapers and newswires.
Proquest Research Library Use to find articles (including journal, newspaper, and magazine articles) on a wide range of topics. Use the search options to limit by type of article and publication date.
Find Articles - Google Scholar
Google Scholar looks a lot like "regular Google," but it only includes scholarly publications, mainly articles. It includes some (not all) of the articles you may find using the Libraries research databases, so use it in addition to databases.
Full-text access to many materials in Google Scholar is not available to everyone, so click here for instructions for setting your Scholar preference, so that full-text links from Purdue Libraries will show up in your Google Scholar results.
60 Second Science Podcasts
Check out the links below for practical tips to avoid plagiarism: