Skip to main content
Purdue University Purdue Logo Purdue Libraries

EAPS 301 Oil!: Step 3: Choose a database

Term Paper Resources for EAPS 301

Purdue AllSearch

Start at http://www.lib.purdue.edu. Click Search All.  (Link opens a new window.)

  • Google type search interface with facets to narrow search. 
  • Provides extensive, broad searching across disciplines.
  • Includes everything owned by Purdue plus many things we do not.
  • Serendipitous searching.
  • A good first place to start.
  • The place to find books.
  • The place to find print editions of magazine articles. 
  • Retrieve anything we don't own by clicking on the FInd It@Purdue Libraries button. Check Purdue Alma for full text availability

Other Business Energy Databases

Plunkett's Research 

         Contains an Energy & Utilities Industry Research Center

that contains market overview and relevant companies.

 

OECDLibrary

         Contains numerous reports on global petroleum initiatives. 

How to Use Databases

  • Google type search interface with facets to narrow search. 
  • Provides in-depth, efficient, subject specific searching.
  • Includes academic, scholarly journals, some of which Purdue does not subscribe to.
  • Results are highly targeted to discipline.
  • A good place to continue a search after you have figured out useful keywords.
  • A good place to go when you want a quick, accurate search.
  • Retrieve anything we don't own by clicking on the FInd It@Purdue Libraries button. Check Purdue Alma for full text availability

Good Databases to Use for Your Term Paper

  • Academic Search Premier - General search with newspapers and magazines, and fulltext of scholarly journal articles
  • GeoRef - GeoRef is a comprehensive database in the geosciences and grows by more than 70,000 references a year.The database includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey, and US Canadian theses in the geosciences.
  • GreenFile - Subject specific search with magazines and newspapers, as well as scholarly articles
  • Greenr - Subject specific search with magazines and newspapers, as well as scholarly articles
  • Web of Science - Abstracts of interdisciplinary and subject specific scholarly journal articles with links to full text or interlibrary loan

Business Databases

ABI/Inform Global 

         Major business article database – contains research,

         trade, and general business articles.

 

ABI/Inform Trade & Industry 

         Deep collection of industry & trade magazine articles.

 

EconLit 

         Economics research articles

 

For Help

Contact Megan Sapp Nelson

msn{at}purdue.edu