Skip to main content
Purdue University Purdue Logo Purdue Libraries

Geology: Databases

The scientific study of the origin, history, and structure of the earth.

GeoRef

GeoRef - Indexes references and selected abstracts to the world's literature in geology. Areas covered include North America since 1785 and other areas since 1933.

Web of Science

Web of Science (ISI Web of Knowledge) - provides researchers, administrators, faculty, and students with quick, powerful access to the world's leading citation databases.  Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 10,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings.  You'll find current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with coverage available to 1900. (from ISI homepage)

Academic Search Premier

Academic Search Premier - (Indexing begins 1984-; earliest Full Text from 1990-) Provides citations and abstracts to over 4,000 journals covering most academic areas of study including biological sciences, economics, communications, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, and women's studies. Approximately two-thirds of the articles are available as full text. Also contains images which can be accessed by clicking on the "image collections" icon. (from EbscoHost website)

ScienceDirect

ScienceDirect - Web database for scientific research that contains abstracts, articles and full text of Elsevier Science  journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences. Contains abstracts from the core journals in major scientific disciplines. The journals are arranged under subject areas for topical navigation. Date coverage varies with individual titles.

Subject Guide

Thomas Gerrish's picture
Thomas Gerrish
Contact:
3053R WALC
(765) 496-9620