Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Purdue University Purdue Logo Purdue Libraries

Film Studies: Databases

Resources on the Web for Film Studies

Primary Databases

  • MLA International Bibliography. Scholarly coverage of the modern languages and literatures, including film. Indexes journal articles and book chapters in all languages. Includes the Directory of Periodicals, providing submission information for all journals indexed.

Other Databases

  • America: History and Life . Abstracts of selected journal articles, citations of book and media reviews, and dissertations covering the history of what is now the United States and Canada for all time periods.
  • Contemporary Authors. Bio-bibliographical guide to current writers including those in motion pictures, television, and other fields.
  • Current Contents A current-awareness tool, providing access to the bibliographic information and tables of contents from current issues of more than 7500 journals and several hundred books.
  • Historical Abstracts Abstracts of selected journal articles, citations of books, book reviews and dissertations on the history of all parts of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to present.
  • Worldwide Political Science Abstracts: Up-to-date indexing, abstracts, and research links in political science and related fields, including international relations, law, sociology, economics, and public administration/policy. Good background for documentary film.

Subject Guide