Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Scholarly Societies and Associations
Art History on the Web
- Art History: A thorough guide to Interent Resources from the University of Delaware Library.
- Art History Resources on the Web: By Chris Witcombe of Sweet Briar College, this site contains a variety of information from Prehistoric Art through the 20th-Century.
- Art Links on the World Wide Web: Maintained by Jeffery Howe of Boston College, this is a comprehensive well organized collection of links.
- Artcyclopedia.Com:Created by John Malyon, this project has as its mission to become the definitive and most effective guide to museum-quality fine art on the Internet. The project has compiled a comprehensive index of every artist represented at hundreds of museum sites, image archives, and other online resources.
- Daguerreotypes at Harvard: The Weissman Preservation Center, Harvard University Library. Since the invention of photography in 1839, libraries, museums, research institutes, and academic departments at Harvard and Radcliffe have created and collected photographs for use in research and instruction. Among these millions of images are more than 3,500 daguerreotypes, the first publicly-announced photographic process. COPYRIGHT and FAIR USE
- Dictionary of Art Historians: From the Lilly Library of Duke University comes this sound selection for general art topics and definitions..
- Research Library of the Getty Research Institute for the History of Art and the Humanities: collects and assembles primary and secondary materials to stimulate and support advanced research. Records for all Research Library materials are available online via the Library Catalog. Two resources that supplement information contained in the catalog are the Special Collections Finding Aids and the Photo Study Collection Database.
- Timeline of Art History: Metropolitan Museum of Art presents a multifacetted full text history timeline for the world of art.
- Warwick Art History Web: From the University of Warwick this site links to large resource listings in a wide range of areas, to online encyclopedias and databases, and to organizations and libraries.
Art and Design on the Web